We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nicest resort we have stayed in, possibly tied with the Atlantis in Bahamas.

Positives
1. Beautiful architecture, classy decor, first class building materials
2. Big and lots to do
3. Lazy river.
4. Water slide
5. Kiddies' pools
6. Parasailing
7. The rooms are very spacious
8. Good fitness centre
9. Nice golf course
10. Lots of available cabanas and lounging chairs
11. Friendly staff and nice sales people
12. Beautiful vegetation and well maintained grounds
13. Always expanding and improving
14. Lots of pools, pool bars
15. Nice clean beach, no rocks or seaweeds
16. 17 restaurants, especially liked Ola Mulato and Tramonto

Negatives
1. Wifi cost
2. Food and wine is a little more pricey than we wanted but the quality was great, especially the Catch of the Day and key lime pie at Ola Mulato
3. Far from stores, and supermarket
4. No bus service to downtown, had to take a taxi everywhere
5. Presentation took longer than we wanted but was interesting

TIp: avoid Christmas, New Year and Easter weeks - extremely busy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    854
    371
    163
    153
See reviews for
1,769
814
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I went to the Grand Mayan on a Getaway through Interval International. This is a huge resort. The accomodations were nice and up to date and the resort was clean. The pools and lazy river were great! We spent most of our time poolside or on the lazy river. The wait staff poolside were more attentive than other resorts we've been at. The food at the restaurants was above average with a good selection on the menus. The food at the Beach Party and Fiesta Night was more limited than other resorts we've been too but we still had a great time! We'd go back again. It is a great resort for families with kids since there is the lazy river, wave pool, water slide and kids water activity area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrudyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

After 3 weeks at Villa del Palmar, we came out here for our last week in PV March 3rd to try out Nuevo and also because our friends would be out here; then, at the last minute they decided to stay in town. We haven’t wanted to come out to Nuevo before since it was so isolated from the downtown area which we like so well.
But it’s not as far as we thought nor as isolated as the Mayan properties near Cancun (Maya Riviera). The bus stop is a short walk, although this is definitely a “destination resort” with lots of restaurants and not many cooking utensils. Of course, we eat almost all meals in the room, so it makes for creativity, and thus, the hardest part is the grocery situation: the on-site store is very expensive. A short walk, though, is an OXXO store (like a 7-11) which is much cheaper. To go to the new large Wal-Mart, you really need a taxi, which we decided not to do this time since we had brought so much food from last week. We can get milk from the OXXO.

But the wi-fi is too expensive so we found a couple of restaurants at the local marina offering free- wi-fi, so we may use those every other day or so. Our AC only blows COLD air ALL the time, so we turned it off and wear sweaters.

Unfortunately, our room (3254) overlooks the parking garage so it is quite noisy and also cold since it is the shady side. We’ll call this view the RCI view, but across the hall and upstairs is beautiful. (Be sure to ask for an odd-numbered room if you can.)

Room Tip: ask for an odd numbered room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RonandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's been five years since we've been here and it's only gotten better. I don't think they have ever stopped expanding, and they continue to do it beautifully. We took our whole family there, our daughter, her husband and their two small children, ages 4 and ten months, and our son and his wife. Everybody of every age loved it, especially our 4 year old grandson. The pools, lazy river, and water slides were fantastic. Our Grand Master Suite was more then spacious for four of us, and my daughter's family had a Master Suite which was well suited for them. They provided a high chair and a crib for the baby too. We were able to go on exchange points from our Hilton Timeshare exchanging them for this RCI property. While they did try to talk us into a timeshare presentation when we first checked in we firmly told then no and they never bothered us again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Short and Sweet:
#1 Don't worry about the water. it's filtered (in the kitchen); Ice is OK too.
#2 Check in was easy-we came in on Friday around 3:30 PM. At the pool by 4:15
#3 The GM staff-maids, bartenders, servers, etc are wonderful!
#4 Choice of the pools-so many to try out
#5 Lazy river-lots of fun!
#6 Rooms were pretty comfortable. I'm not picky about beds, but my husband said it was a little harder than he'd like. Maid service EVERY DAY
#7 2 for 1 drinks from 12 PM on in varying locations--pool bars, cafes, and restaurants. We paid 85 pesos for 2 drinks during happy hours.

The bad:
#1 LOCATION Husband can't walk very far (back surgery) which made using a taxi to go ANYWHERE a must. Walmart for groceries was about $12 (US) round trip. Going anywhere to eat outside the resort was $7-10 (US) RT. We would normally have taken the bus, but just walking to the front of the resort was out of his ability.
#2 Charges to the room was subject to an additional 16% tax.
#3 Restaurants plentiful but I felt a bit on the high side. $13 US for a burger and fries?

THE UGLY:
#1 The lies the time share people tell you to get you to go to the presentation. We were PROMISED 90 minutes. 5 hours later, we were 'released.' AND we did not get what they promised us. The timeshare guy was 'shocked' when I told him I was livid about the time we wasted telling him over and over and over "NO." My advice. Don't go, just keep saying no and don't believe what they say they'll give you. It won't happen.

If you're like us, we don't get to vacation all that often. Spending 5 of those precious hours on the presentation just to get some stuff wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: The only ones who get an ocean view are actual owners. So if you're doing a Groupon, timeshare e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retiredbarnqueen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
7.4 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.1 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,064 reviews
7.4 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,425 - ₹ 16,769
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing