We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kelowna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“5 Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Was here for a wedding mid April 2012. Great food, service and rooms. Best all inclusive food I have had at a resort in Mexico.

Will return!

Room Tip: Stayed in room # 122 , was quiet and good location/ access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We really appreciate your comments. We will be looking forward to your returning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,535
    220
    69
    25
    29
See reviews for
721
600
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Marival Residences in March 2012 in a one-bedroom suite with ocean view. Room was amazing with 2 flat-screen TVs, dining room, living room, huge balcony, full kitchen. The location of the hotel in Nuevo Vallarta is only a 10 minute ride from downtown. I loved that room service is included - when they say "All Inclusive" they really mean it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveler555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I travel a lot and enjoy better food and drinks. We also are very active, so we look for a good gym, and other things to do. Marival Residences filled all these needs very well. We did an all-inclusive package that included activities such as golf, sea lions, dolphins, catamaran tours, etc. and it was well worth it. We rented a penthouse that was huge - bigger than our regular home!

The food was great. We really liked Insu, the tapas bar at the top of the resort. They serve about 40 different tapas, with a huge variety from excellent "seared tuna sliders" to good burger sliders to lamp chops. My wife really liked the seafood, especially the tuna "sliders' and the scallops. I thought the duck taquitos were great too.

For full dining options, Lemmon Grass is better than Omaggio. Lemmon Grass only has 3-4 entree options each night but they are very high quality. They also offer a pasta, curry or risotto station where you can create your own concoction. That was very good. For dessert, they put out 3-4 different options at the Wine Bar off the lobby each night. Also, my wife ordered the chocolate cake from room service and said it was amazing.

Breakfast was great. We ate at Omaggio each morning and ordered off the menu, while also getting fresh fruit and some other things from the buffet. The waitstaff was excellent. In fact, the wait staff was excellent throughout the resort. The guys on the beach, especially Paco, were very attentive. So were the waiters around the pool and the Insu and Lemmon Grass wait staff. Basically, the people bend over backwards to help you no matter what.

As for drinks, we stuck to mixed drinks mostly. We had read that the wine was not great and I did try it a couple of time. It was not good. So, stick to margaritas, as the resort stocks some awesome tequilas. I was drinking Cazadores Anejo all week and it was great. My wife stuck to flavored vodkas mostly.

The health club is good for a resort. Basic cardio equipment such as ellipticals and treadmills along with some dumbbells and some basic cable machines. Definitely enough to get a sweat and pump some iron. There's also a Pilates studio, but that was locked every time I went to the gym. It looked like nice equipment though. My wife used the spa, getting a Mexican treatment of Agave rub, an facial, massage, etc. She said it was good. (We had a $100 coupon, so it made it more attractive).

We loved that the activities were included. My wife went zip lining (I went for the ride and had a nice couple of hours at the bar while they zip lined). The zip lining consists of 13 different zip lines, ranging from very short to about a quarter mile. The highest one is about 95 feet above the river, which scared me off but it is super safe. The ride to/from the jungle was a bit hairy, so if driving on winding roads with a cliff next to you is not your thing, you might want to skip it. The pictures are a bit pricey, but we bought the disk with the video on it for $110. Hey, how often will you be videoed zip lining through a jungle, right?

We also enjoyed the Sea Lion Encounter. I thought it would be goofy and touristy, but it actually was great. Short encounter in a pool with an adorable female sea lion. They hug you, kiss you and do tricks. It's a $5 cab ride from the hotel, which is all you pay for.

Other activities that were good were an all-day catamaran trip to Yelapa, where we snorkeled (with wetsuits as the water is cold) and kayaked. We bought Coronas on the beach at Yelapa and they were about $2 each. Cheap.

Things we'd improve:

First, the Internet works well at the resort but the fact that they charge for it, when everything else is free, seems ridiculous. Also, it's a convoluted process of getting a unique username and password that you need to obtain from the front desk. Stupid. Just charge a bit more and give it away.

Secondly, don't pay for any "private transfers" to/from the airport. It's a $17 cab ride each way if you just take a taxi. We booked a "private transfer" from a travel agent that charged us $158. Ridiculous. It was our first time there, so we didn't know any better.

Third, the activities are great but the process of booking them can be a bit of a pain in the neck. They won't book activities past 5 PM the day before, so we were disappointed when we arrived at the resort at 5:15 the first day and were told we couldn't do anything the next day. So, we stuck to the beach (not a bad alternative, by any means). Also, the concierge people were helpful but not nearly as helpful as the waiters and other people.

Fourth - the beds are pretty hard, so if you're used to comfortable, US-style beds, you should call housekeeping and have them install egg-crate foam mattress covers. It improved it a lot.

All in all, it is a great resort. Definitely take advantage of the activities and the private beach. Don't bother wasting your time going to the sister resort called "Marival Resort" (where the beach is). It's a lot cheesier and definitely down-market. Stay glued to the Marival Residences & World Spa.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid a room on the top floor as the music from Insu at night can keep you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boston_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver B. C. Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for a week in the end of March. The minimum size room is a one bedroom suite with over 1100 sq ft. 2 full bathrooms -- one with insuite laundry. Fully equipped kitchen and bedroom with loads of cupboard space. The nice hotel room we have ever stayed in !! Even though the bed was a bit firm. You can order a mattress pad if needed.
Although this hotel is not directly on the beach, there is a shuttle ride to the sister resort ( Grand Marival) which takes only 3 minutes. The beach there has a private section for you with food and beverage service available from around 10:30 a.m. Lots of beach chairs available with shade if needed.
Food: Restaurants have changing menus thru the week to offer a great variety.-- all except the roof-top Tapas eatery which keeps its lovely all appetizer menu constant. Some inside and some outside places to eat. --your choice. House wines were good -with the Chardonay being better than the Sav. Blanc. The reds were fine. All house wines from Chile or Argentina.
Service; mostly great although one night we had a waiter who forgot about us when it got busy.
One thing to note that is not advertised. When you book this hotel you get offered 7 ( seven )
FREE tours. Everything from Sea Lion encounters to Sunset sails. We did Sea Lion one and it was fantastic !!
I can see why this hotel was rated as the #1 All inclusive in Mexico ( #2 in the world ).
Try it -- you'll love it. !!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Go for a corner room -- bigger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our First Trip to a Marival Resort and we have Traveled to PVR Many Times Before. The Rooms are Spacious and Very Quite, we had a 2 Bedroom on the 4th Floor with a Great View of the Pool and Grounds. The Hotel Is Smaller than most Resorts and is not located on the Beach, but still has a nice Breeze from the Ocean.

The Good:

Food is Excellent, Make Sure to get Tapas at INSU and Watch the Sunset with a Top Shelf Cocktail
The Pool is Clean and there is no hassle with Towel Cards, all the Chairs are Cushioned
Cocktail and Food Service at the Pool is Very Good
The Beach Club is a Great Way to Spend the Afternoon, There is Food and Cocktails Available and no Hassle for Towels or Cushioned Chairs.

The Okay:

The Beds are Hard, but you get used to this traveling to Mexico (Unless you stay at the Grand Velas).
There is a Charge for Wireless Internet at the Resort (Should be Free)
Making You Sign a Zero Balance Bill, just to try and Milk an Extra Tip out of you, every time you Eat
It's Not on the Beach

The Bad:

The Spa Services were not World Class, My Wife had a Seaweed Wrap that had no Seaweed, Just Soaked Ace Bandages, We were Told that we would get a 50% Discount on the Service, but ended up getting 15% when we checked out, of course no one was available to correct it and we had to leave for the Airport
The Coffee Shop and Sushi Bar are not included in the All Inclusive Package

Overall we would Travel Back to this Resort Again, Due to the Fact that the Pool, Beach and Food Were Excellent and Rooms were New and Very Clean.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redtailnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your insights with other travelers, and we look forward to having the oportunity to serve you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
1.2 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
0.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#16 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
3.2 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,902 reviews
7.5 km away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
21.3 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av. Paseo Cocoteros | Lote 53 Villa 8 11, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,134 - ₹ 55,327
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Beyond rooms or suites… the only luxury all-inclusive resort featuring modern Residences and Villas- so spacious from 1400 to 3940 sq ft! TripAdvisor Awards in Best Luxury, Best Family and Excellence. Award winning chefs offer a la carte international gourmet dining. Guests enjoy free tours, unlimited golf, VIP full service beach club and 5 star service, plus exchange privileges at sister hotel Marival Resort and Suites. Experience Melange World Spa with unique treatment rooms from 9 countries around the world. Special Kids and Teens programs too. Spacious all-inclusive Residences for couples and families are in the perfect locations. Demi-Pool Residences feature a “walk out” full service garden patio and secluded infinity pool. Ocean View Residences surround you with breathtaking views of the Pacific from sunrise to sunset. Rooftop Penthouses have private rooftop plunge pool and sundeck. For couples- renew your vows or get married for FREE with our FREE Wedding package! For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! High-end Residences, indulgent services…nothing compares! Marival Residences Luxury Resort® is a 4 Diamond Award winner. A World Apart in a Class by Itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing