We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Service Team Commendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The food service team of Fernando, Ricardo and Manuel was excellent!! When we found out that the three specialty restaurants were part of the All-Inclusive deal, we were thrilled. All three were visited and enjoyed. The food was all delicious.

Room Tip: Make sure room temperature is even and comfortable. Ours was either stuffy and hot or freezing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carol1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear carol1360

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel.
Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 3,335 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Our second visit and even more enjoyable. Beautiful facilities gorgeous setting and the friendliest most attentive staff you could ask for. We always stay at Occidental’s Royal Club area and this one is one of the best. Royal Club restaurant on top floor has great menu plus absolutely fantastic sunset views

Room Tip: One bedroom Royal Club suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank donaldlb479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear donaldlb479,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I feel compelled to write this review as I have been so bothered by our vacation experience here, that I cannot let it go.
I have been to many resorts, but have never been treated so,dismally as here.
We were supposed to have “Air Canada Privileges” at this resort as this is our package and we paid a higher price. I saw the price go down$250.00 per person for this trip, so I was hoping we would get extra.
Not in our dreams.
What would you think that 24 hour Wifi means? That was in our package. I would think that it would be 24 hours for the duration of our stay. Wrong. It is just for 24hours. You pay for the rest.
What do you think it means when it says “ preferred room location , based on resort layout. Areas of high aesthetic appeal and low disturbance or noise.” That was our contract.
What did we get? The most noisy room in the resort. Come 9 pm, the music would start and go til about 11. We complained to the reception, to our Air Canada rep and even to Air Canada(with our 24hour Wifi.Lol) No luck.
We were supposed to get Bath robes, twice turn down for beds etc but it was only after I emailed Air Canada did I get this . I have been to at least 30 resorts over the years and have never been treated like this.
Yes, the food was good, and the rest of the resort was nice( other than our room) but I will never go back.
Go to Royal Decameron, Neuvo Vallerta instead. They are so much nicer in customer service.
Never again, Occidental Nuevo Vallerta.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Annekara

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the Occidental it was our second time there. The 1st being 15 years prior. Julio at the pool was fantastic as well as Keila in the Lounge. We plan on going back next year mainly due to the service we received from Keila,Julio,Ourelio,Rene,Luige and Armando all top notch people. I do wish something could of been done to let us have a smoking room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank michaelbO1003YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear michaelbO1003YN,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed here from Oct. 1 to Oct. 9
Our check-in was smooth and fast. Next day we requested a room change and without any problem we were given a new room (room 444).
Food in the buffet is very good. Within couple of days everybody should be able to figure out what they like most.
We tried all three a la carte restaurants. The service was very good at all three of them. Food was excellent in Los Olivos and La Hacienda. I can't say the same thing about Tokyo Restaurant. The food was okay, but not nearly as good as in the other two restaurants.
The beach was clean and maintained well. So was the pool and its area.
The whole resort including rooms were well maintained and kept very clean.

Staff:
Occidental has done a great job in training their staff on how to provide a great service. We were greeted with a smile every time we ran into a staff member, from all of them, no matter what their jobs and positions were. I would like to mention three staff who were exceptionally GREAT:
Julio (beach waiter)
Rene (bartender)
Carlos (bartender)

Room for improvement:
As mentioned earlier, Tokyo restaurant could be improved a little bit, or maybe change it to Mediterranean? Spanish?
There were two weddings on the weekend (Friday and Saturday), and the staff and management seemed quite overwhelmed with the amount of people there. I think it could be handled better for a resort of such class.

Check-out was just as smooth and fast as check-in.
Whenever we decide to visit the area again, we will definitely return to this resort. Also, this resort gives Occidental and Barcelo a good name, therefore, we will look for one whenever our next destination will be.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank yukonalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear yukonalb,

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental hotel; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We also appreciate your comments regarding our Tokyo restaurant and special events.

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
5.8 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.5 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,829 reviews
2.0 km away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,951 reviews
5.3 km away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 10,718 - ₹ 29,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing