We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,200)
Filter reviews
4,200 results
Traveller rating
2,180
1,315
409
166
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,180
1,315
409
166
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first club royal club la hacienda le buffet italian restaurant adult pool lounge bar smaller resort time share vacation club the general manager special thanks ocean view recommend this resort all inclusive resort the wait staff nightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 4,200 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the Occidental it was our second time there. The 1st being 15 years prior. Julio at the pool was fantastic as well as Keila in the Lounge. We plan on going back next year mainly due to the service we received from Keila,Julio,Ourelio,Rene,Luige and Armando all top notch people. I do wish something could of been done to let us have a smoking room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank michaelbO1003YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear michaelbO1003YN,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed here from Oct. 1 to Oct. 9
Our check-in was smooth and fast. Next day we requested a room change and without any problem we were given a new room (room 444).
Food in the buffet is very good. Within couple of days everybody should be able to figure out what they like most.
We tried all three a la carte restaurants. The service was very good at all three of them. Food was excellent in Los Olivos and La Hacienda. I can't say the same thing about Tokyo Restaurant. The food was okay, but not nearly as good as in the other two restaurants.
The beach was clean and maintained well. So was the pool and its area.
The whole resort including rooms were well maintained and kept very clean.

Staff:
Occidental has done a great job in training their staff on how to provide a great service. We were greeted with a smile every time we ran into a staff member, from all of them, no matter what their jobs and positions were. I would like to mention three staff who were exceptionally GREAT:
Julio (beach waiter)
Rene (bartender)
Carlos (bartender)

Room for improvement:
As mentioned earlier, Tokyo restaurant could be improved a little bit, or maybe change it to Mediterranean? Spanish?
There were two weddings on the weekend (Friday and Saturday), and the staff and management seemed quite overwhelmed with the amount of people there. I think it could be handled better for a resort of such class.

Check-out was just as smooth and fast as check-in.
Whenever we decide to visit the area again, we will definitely return to this resort. Also, this resort gives Occidental and Barcelo a good name, therefore, we will look for one whenever our next destination will be.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank yukonalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear yukonalb,

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental hotel; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We also appreciate your comments regarding our Tokyo restaurant and special events.

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This was my husband and my fifth trip to this resort. We come to Mexico twice a year. We love this resort, it is perfect for us. It is not too big, and not too small, Great food, best service by far of any resort we have ever stayed at.
This is obviously due to good management. Rodolfo the general manager; Nelly the assistant general manager and Felix the food and beverage manager all do an outstanding job! We are amazed at the "team spirit" and can do attitude of everyone at this resort.
We have traveled all over Mexico and the tropics over the years, including 4 other resorts in Nuevo Vallarta. This is our favorite by far! We get a lot of "bang for our buck" here. There are upgrades and changes being made, and we can't wait to see everything in May.
You can spend more money, but you won't find a better overall resort than here!
Can't wait to come back to our "home away from home" in May.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chelbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear chelbig,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. We are delighted to read that this is your fifth time staying with us. This tells us that we have been able and continue to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your sixth visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We just returned from a wonderful fall vacation. Everything at Occidental (food, staff, rooms, hotels, etc) surpassed my expectations. The entire staff (if I could name them all, I would, but a few that I remember are Gonzalo, Lilibeth, Gabriela, Jesus) were so willing to do anything for you. The food at the buffet, snack bar, and specialty restaurant was always delicious. We even splurged and purchased bottles of wine to try at the specialty restaurants. These bottles were very good and reasonably priced. We participated in several of their poolside activities and always enjoyed ourselves. We especially enjoyed the water aerobics (taught by Armando, Monsarat, and Luigi). Alexandra and a couple other staff members taught us how to merengue. Vincent is a very entertaining emcee. We also enjoyed listening to the violinist and saxophonist in the lounge after dinner. We traveled with our 5 year old who absolutely loved it, too. We were in the pool or at the beach everyday. We were 100% satisfied with ALL aspects of this resort, and will recommend this place to everyone we know. We will be back next year, and we will be staying at the Occidental.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Anna C,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Also, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I just needed to decompress, and every need was addressed. When I had a concern, the manager was found to meet with me, even though I did not specifically require it. I return over and over. It’s my yearly go-to destination, even if just for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Z8761DCralphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Z8761DCralphs,

Thank you for choosing Occidental Nuevo Vallarta once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your stay with us. We are happy to know that you have chosen us as your yearly getaway.

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews