We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Really nice, renovated resort and still some work going on (but not intrusive or annoying). Beach is fine and swimming pool excellent. Service and staff all fine and friendly. Some activities daily but mainly a great place to chill out and kick back.

Food I will give a 7 - 8. Buffets were ok (breakfast best). Pass on the sushi but the teppanyaki and Mexican restaurant were very good. Didn't try the Italian restaurant.

Rooms quite nice. Pretty good wifi and cable tv channel selection.

Location very good - decent mall just a few minutes walk away although we didn't go there this time.

Got an amazing deal through Trip Advisor link to Hotels.com

Room Tip: Our Ocean View was only a partial ocean view but we're not big on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cgin2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear cgin2200,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience with us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 243 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

The staff was amazing. My family of 6 will return because of our waiters Luis Alberto Gil Fregoso and Esmeralda Garcia. The food was amazing and the drinks were also delicious! We enjoyed the Michael Jackson show!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank iriscarmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear iriscarmens,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the amazing review you shared of your recent visit to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from Luis Alberto, Gil and Esmeralda, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Some reviews had this rated at 5 stars. I have stayed at many 5 stars and I would rate this at a 3 star.
People were friendly and service was very good. Food in Los Olivos and Tokyo was excellent. If you are looking for crystal clean water on the beach Puerto Vallarta is not the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank billyleem2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear billyleem2017,

Thank you for sharing your comment on your recent stay with us. We would like to hear more from you since we are a bit confuse as to the 3 star rating given from what your review says about our service and property.

We look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Great hotel for the price. Staff were polite. Not much of a party hotel as there was not much to do past 11 pm. Daytime entertainment staff were great especially Sergio and Armando. Pleasant stay. The Tokyo restaurant was amazing

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank soniaz840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear soniaz840,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience with us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process. Thank you for highlighting the serve from Sergio and Armando.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Check in and out were ok. No great service . When we checked in we booked through Costco and got a room that smelled so bad of mold and beware there is construction at this facility. Not only were we put in a smelly room but one right above the construction . Asked to be moved had to keep going back to front desk nobody could make a decision without mgt.
finally got moved to 7 floor to still be above the construction!!!
There was one waiter in restaurant and outside at pool that were amazing otherwise service was just ok...just ok for all inclusive is not good!
Breakfast ok dinner ok not very good ...one night a lady carving the meat literally put one bite of food on my plate my husband laughed ...like r u for real then he asked for a little more and was not well received...
Enternment at night not bad but don't have repeat shows for people staying more than a week. Popcorn for shows was nice
Arcade was nice but never told about it found on our own.
Never experienced other restaurants seemed liked too big of an ordeal.
When we were moved to 7 floor we still had ugly bracelets and no perks of the 7floor.
Room did smell much better but never got snacks we received on 5 floor ...not very accommodating.
Unfortunately this could be a nice hotel but staff do not make guests very welcome. I've stayed at other all inclusive and this is not a great property.
Also be careful there are stingrays in bay in front of hotel . We thought we were seeing things but everyday we saw stingrays in the water.
I liked the hotel but nothing was great so just got 2.5 stars
Improve food service and daily entertainment and may go to a 3-3.5
Hotel really pushed comments on trip advisor so here u go

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank jtbushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo P, Director General at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear jtbushman,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Checking with guest service, we have that you requested a room change due to the view, which was arranged as soon as possible. Regarding your feedback about the service, discussions involving the respective team members have taken place to avoid it happening again. We would like to assure you that all of your concerns are greatly important to us and will be addressed and attended to.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
5.8 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.9 km away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
32 reviews
0.5 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,838 reviews
1.8 km away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: ₹ 10,990 - ₹ 24,614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing