We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
113
34
26
3
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
34
26
3
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise villageunitpoolsresortvrbocondominiumtigrecanadianpvcanada
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Ok. I just loved this place! I was really nervous that it would not be "as advertised", but the minute we walked in, it met and exceeded every expectation, plus some. The big plus was the staff! My daughter lost her passport before we ever checked in and the staff there made it their personal mission to help us find it...and they did. The concierge(s) went above and beyond and were so sweet about it!. The food was unbelievable! A different menu each night, the meals were healthy and delicious, but dessert was always the best part! The room was exactly as pictured, clean, comfortable. Nothing over the top, which was indicative of Taheima in general. Because Taheima is small, we felt more like VIP's than typical tourists. The beach is a short shuttle (free) ride away and we had complete access to all of the beach amenities. We stayed at the resort most days - yoga in the morning. reading by the pool (not crowded at all) during the day, massages before dinner, and peace and quiet at night. Heaven! I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our room looked exactly like the on-line pictures. I don't think you can go wrong here!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

March 2012. We were very lucky that we went during a slow week and the place was less than half full. We found out that if the number of guests was over 100, they served breakfast and lunch buffet style. Being a la carte, the food was top quality in terms of freshness, presentation, taste and efficiency. The drinks were made to your liking and when you wanted a strong drink, it was "Strong Like Bull". Dinner was exceptionally good, even for an upscale pricey restaurant. For the level of service, quality of food & beverage, and service we were worried if everything was in fact All Inclusive.

As of now, they only have one restaurant openned at any one time plus the pool side food and beverage service. The breakfast and lunch restaurant is open for breakfast from 7 to 11:30 am and lunch from 11:30 am to 6 pm. Dinner is in the restaurant next to it and is open from 6 pm to10:30 pm. A bar is open from 6 pm till 1 am.

They are slightly understaffed as tourism is slow and the high season March break stretches their services thin but the try their best and stay very pleasant throughout. Tipping is not mandatory but they deserve to be tipped well since their salaries are low and very hard working. I suggest at least 20 pesos for the room cleaning lady per day, 5 - 10% for food and beverages. They have a system where they give you a bill of the food and beverages ordered to sign (if All inclusive) or pay. So you can use the bill to judge how much tip to pay. Most guests do leave a tip.

Taheima is a Timeshare, Full ownership and Hotel resort mix. As a hotel they offer the option of All inclusive which is well worth every penny. I haven't had so much good food and drinks ever.

So if anyone wants to go to a safe quiet place to lounge and pig out, this is it. Well worth every penny.

Final note on the safety of Puerto Vallarta. The place is safer than the place you are coming from for sure. I'm from Vancouver BC and for sure PV is safer and friendlier. All the negative news is hyped for the purpose of retaining tourist dollars within US. We went just about anywhere and everywhere. Safe and friendly rings throughout the place. We went to Walmart and shopped. Great place to get Tequila. It's about 1/3 the price compared to Canada. 750 ml Don Julio Anejo for about 38 cad.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My family and I just got home from a five-night stay at Taheima. My entire family loved this place, including my three teenage daughters. The highlight of the trip was our morning yoga class and afternoon relaxation class with Mariano! A truly wonderful and inspirational teacher! The food was outstanding and we appreciated having such a wonderful wait staff, especially the ever-pleasant Carlos! Temazcal was an experience not to be missed, but not for the faint-hearted! Marciano was a wonderful Temazcal guide as well. And, of course, we can't forget the mascot of this resort, the grey cat named Taheima. Don't forget to offer him a little snack when you see him! The Beach Club was beautiful, the food there was great, and the shuttle was timely and took only a few short minutes to get there. Not a hassle at all. The rooms were clean, the pool was lovely, and the massages were heavenly. The only thing that we can really say could be improved would be to have a larger variety of classes, and faster service time for food at pool and at dinner... but we were in Mexico, and so we took it with a grain of salt, the same way we took our delicious margaritas!! The staff all worked very hard! I did not enjoy having to sign a receipt every time we ate, and it seemed to be unclear whether gratuities were included in the all-inclusive or not. I would prefer having gratuities included for certain and not have to worry about that at all. We tipped a bit extra just in case, as the staff was so helpful and friendly. It is indeed a very relaxing and healthy vacation... it is not a place to be if you want the loud, nightlife/party atmosphere. For us, it was different than the usual vacation -- It was real, wholesome, quality family time! It is a welcome change for a family to all do yoga, temazcal, massages, and relaxation class together rather than the same old vacation stuff. We met many interesting and friendly people there, and we would love to go back there someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2thbeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just writing in to tell you what a nice relaxing time we had at the resort. We were there the week of February 25-March 3. There were 6 of us travelling together and each couple had our own rooms with outdoor pools. We would have liked the pools to be a little warmer so we could utilize them more but other then that Taheima was a great spot to stay and just relax. Food was very good.. and coffee was the best that I had ever tried!! Service could have been a little quicker but that's expected when you're there to relax...not being rushed by any means. Elaina was very gracious and took care of our needs..keeping our group close together with our rooms. David our bartender in the bar was the best!! Carlos did a great job in the dinner restuarant and Francisco in the breakfast restuarant....we loved it. I'd really like to get some of that coffee sent back to me!! Missing that and all the great employees!! I would enjoy returning at some time! Marla L.(Fort Wayne, IN)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Was at Taheima with my girlfriend between February 25 and March 3. We chose this hotel because it looked absolutely beautiful and luxurious, we figured the food would be of very good quality, and it seemed like a good place for a relaxing, peaceful vacation. Well, that's exactly what we got.

We had a suite on the ground floor facing the El Tigre golf course. The view was beautiful with the mountains in the background. We also had a plunge pool which we didn't end up using since it was a bit cold. Perhaps in the summer months the plunge pool could be an interesting option but I never saw anyone using theirs during our stay. The suite was spacious and comfortable with a very comfortable king size bed. We tipped the maid at the beginning of our stay and had very good service (not sure though if it would have been less if we hadn't tipped).

There were two restaurants open. Café Maria for breakfast and lunch, and Bistro Silhouette for dinner. All meals were à la carte and we were not disappointed with the food. Everything was delicious and the wine was decent for an all-inclusive (we've always been disappointed with the wine at other all-inclusives). The hotel offers room service, but for some reason it isn't included in the all-inclusive deal.

The Agave bar which overlooks the pool area was only open as of 6 pm. You can get drinks by the 2 pools as there is a waiter or two that go around asking if you would like something. It would have been nice to have a bar open all day at the pool since we were kind of at the mercy of waiting after a waiter to come around to get a drink and then when you leave you have to find the waiter to sign the tab (you have to sign for everything at Taheima, even if you're on the all-inclusive plan). This was a little annoying but not that big of a problem.

If you like resorts with entertainment and partying, don't go here. This place is quiet and has a zen kind of feeling to it.

We did a couple of yoga classes which are offered on most days. It was my first time and I actually enjoyed.

We hesitated about going to Taheima since it isn't located right on the beach. You can walk to their beach club, which is shared with the Bahia Del Sol condominiums. It's about a 15-20 minute walk. There is a lso a shuttle that takes 3-4 minutes to get to the beach. At the beach club there is a pool and also, of course, the beach. Towels, chairs and palapas are provided at the beach. There is a restaurant/snack bar that you can use and is part of the all-inclusive that was actually quite good. Alcoholic drinks however were not included at the beach club.

The beach in Riviera Nayarit is really beautiful. Perfect for walking long distances if you want. We loved it. There was also a small massage kiosk with 4 massage tables right on the beach. We had a one hour couples massage for 70$. It was amazing with the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves. Highly recommend it.

All in all, this was a great resort. We are beach people and we realized that it would have been a perfect resort if it had been located on the beach. It is also near the airport and Puerto Vallarta (18$ cab ride). We enjoyed our stay, recommend Taheima but would not go back. Too many places to see!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micheld101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews