We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at Taheima from March 4 to March 9. Taheima Wellness Resort and Spa is located off the beaten path in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico approximately 25 minutes via cab ride ($20) from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It is a quiet place to relax and get away from the commotion of daily life. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, nightclubs, late-night dining or a wild time, look elsewhere. Taheima is a place of rejuvenation and relaxation. We purchased the package on Living Social and were not approached about participating in any timeshare presentations.
When we made the reservation we did not elect to purchase the $50 VIP service from the Airport to the resort. When you arrive at the airport you will see people dressed in white that are harrassing the tourists and offering rides to the resorts. Most of these people are timeshare salesman and will try to get you to sign up for a timeshare presentation. We opted to take a yellow national cab from the airport to the resort. There is a booth when you pass all of the timeshare people on the left that says taxi and that is where you pay for your cab. This service was approximately $22 and was quite the experience. The cab that we took was not very nice lacked air conditioning, a radio and seatbelts but it got us to the resort in one piece. Some of the guests at Taheima mentioned that they took the timeshare rides to the resort and were asked to show up for a presentation on the following day and later chose not to go.
As far as the food, the breakfast on the first two days was buffett style as the resort was full. This was nice as you could eat as much as you wanted and included, mexican dishes, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs and pancakes. On the third day the breakfast switched to a menu which included, breakfast quesadillas, burritos, steak and eggs, french toast, fresh fruit and yogurt. The lunch menu at the restaurant is the same as the lunch menu by the pool although the service is faster in the restaurant. It includes, hamburgers, ceviche, quesadillas, nachos and guacamole. Most of the days we ate at the beach club as the food was of better quality although it was a similar menu. The dinner menu has 2 choices for Salads, 1 choice for Soup, 4 main entrees and 6 dessert options. The salads, soups, and entree were different each night. There was usually a fish, beef/pork or chicken choice and a vegetarian option.
Although the food was tasty, the portion sizes were small.
The service at the restaurants and pool side was extremely slow which is typical for the culture as they expect meals to be a slow moving experience. The dinners took approximately 1.5 hours from start to finish. I would suggest ordering your dinner and drinks at the same time in order to speed up dining.
The pool side service was also extremely slow requiring us to order multiple drinks at a time. I would suggest bringing a thermos that will keep your drinks cold so that the margaritas don't melt in the sun.
The late night bar that is open from 6 PM to 1 AM and is the only public place to smoke was our favorite part of the trip. David (the bartender) makes the most wonderful margaritas, pina coladas, Miami Vices and Daquiris that we have ever tasted. All of the blended drinks are made with fresh fruit right in front of you. The service in the late night bar was the best at the resort as he keeps your drinks full and is an excellent bartender. The rest of the staff at Taheima could really learn from his style and his service. A pool table or other entertainment at the late night bar would help the guests enjoy the time spent in the bar.
One thing that was nice about the resort was that each unit contains a mini fridge, stove, microwave and blender. Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort but is very choppy and difficult to connect to. We had the best luck connecting in the lobby area but the connection in the rest of the resort was terrible. In the back of the resort is a business center which includes three computers that are all connected to the internet.
There is a shopping center 20 minutes walking distance from the resort called Paradise Village where you can purchase beer and groceries for late night cravings and faster pool side drinks.
One of the days we took a cab to downtown Puerto Vallarta which is where all the action is. I would recommend going at least one day for a few hours as this is where the shopping, nightlife and restaurants are. It is very safe and the crime is minimal. I would even trust taking a cab late at night to the nightclubs as the area is extremely safe. Although the American media states that the cruises are no longer stopping in Mexico, we witnessed three cruise ships docked at the port during the day. The Canadians and U.S. citizens that live in the area will tell you that they feel safer in the area than they do in the larger cities in North America.

Overall we had a wonderful, relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omar-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Ok. I just loved this place! I was really nervous that it would not be "as advertised", but the minute we walked in, it met and exceeded every expectation, plus some. The big plus was the staff! My daughter lost her passport before we ever checked in and the staff there made it their personal mission to help us find it...and they did. The concierge(s) went above and beyond and were so sweet about it!. The food was unbelievable! A different menu each night, the meals were healthy and delicious, but dessert was always the best part! The room was exactly as pictured, clean, comfortable. Nothing over the top, which was indicative of Taheima in general. Because Taheima is small, we felt more like VIP's than typical tourists. The beach is a short shuttle (free) ride away and we had complete access to all of the beach amenities. We stayed at the resort most days - yoga in the morning. reading by the pool (not crowded at all) during the day, massages before dinner, and peace and quiet at night. Heaven! I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our room looked exactly like the on-line pictures. I don't think you can go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

March 2012. We were very lucky that we went during a slow week and the place was less than half full. We found out that if the number of guests was over 100, they served breakfast and lunch buffet style. Being a la carte, the food was top quality in terms of freshness, presentation, taste and efficiency. The drinks were made to your liking and when you wanted a strong drink, it was "Strong Like Bull". Dinner was exceptionally good, even for an upscale pricey restaurant. For the level of service, quality of food & beverage, and service we were worried if everything was in fact All Inclusive.

As of now, they only have one restaurant openned at any one time plus the pool side food and beverage service. The breakfast and lunch restaurant is open for breakfast from 7 to 11:30 am and lunch from 11:30 am to 6 pm. Dinner is in the restaurant next to it and is open from 6 pm to10:30 pm. A bar is open from 6 pm till 1 am.

They are slightly understaffed as tourism is slow and the high season March break stretches their services thin but the try their best and stay very pleasant throughout. Tipping is not mandatory but they deserve to be tipped well since their salaries are low and very hard working. I suggest at least 20 pesos for the room cleaning lady per day, 5 - 10% for food and beverages. They have a system where they give you a bill of the food and beverages ordered to sign (if All inclusive) or pay. So you can use the bill to judge how much tip to pay. Most guests do leave a tip.

Taheima is a Timeshare, Full ownership and Hotel resort mix. As a hotel they offer the option of All inclusive which is well worth every penny. I haven't had so much good food and drinks ever.

So if anyone wants to go to a safe quiet place to lounge and pig out, this is it. Well worth every penny.

Final note on the safety of Puerto Vallarta. The place is safer than the place you are coming from for sure. I'm from Vancouver BC and for sure PV is safer and friendlier. All the negative news is hyped for the purpose of retaining tourist dollars within US. We went just about anywhere and everywhere. Safe and friendly rings throughout the place. We went to Walmart and shopped. Great place to get Tequila. It's about 1/3 the price compared to Canada. 750 ml Don Julio Anejo for about 38 cad.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My family and I just got home from a five-night stay at Taheima. My entire family loved this place, including my three teenage daughters. The highlight of the trip was our morning yoga class and afternoon relaxation class with Mariano! A truly wonderful and inspirational teacher! The food was outstanding and we appreciated having such a wonderful wait staff, especially the ever-pleasant Carlos! Temazcal was an experience not to be missed, but not for the faint-hearted! Marciano was a wonderful Temazcal guide as well. And, of course, we can't forget the mascot of this resort, the grey cat named Taheima. Don't forget to offer him a little snack when you see him! The Beach Club was beautiful, the food there was great, and the shuttle was timely and took only a few short minutes to get there. Not a hassle at all. The rooms were clean, the pool was lovely, and the massages were heavenly. The only thing that we can really say could be improved would be to have a larger variety of classes, and faster service time for food at pool and at dinner... but we were in Mexico, and so we took it with a grain of salt, the same way we took our delicious margaritas!! The staff all worked very hard! I did not enjoy having to sign a receipt every time we ate, and it seemed to be unclear whether gratuities were included in the all-inclusive or not. I would prefer having gratuities included for certain and not have to worry about that at all. We tipped a bit extra just in case, as the staff was so helpful and friendly. It is indeed a very relaxing and healthy vacation... it is not a place to be if you want the loud, nightlife/party atmosphere. For us, it was different than the usual vacation -- It was real, wholesome, quality family time! It is a welcome change for a family to all do yoga, temazcal, massages, and relaxation class together rather than the same old vacation stuff. We met many interesting and friendly people there, and we would love to go back there someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2thbeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just writing in to tell you what a nice relaxing time we had at the resort. We were there the week of February 25-March 3. There were 6 of us travelling together and each couple had our own rooms with outdoor pools. We would have liked the pools to be a little warmer so we could utilize them more but other then that Taheima was a great spot to stay and just relax. Food was very good.. and coffee was the best that I had ever tried!! Service could have been a little quicker but that's expected when you're there to relax...not being rushed by any means. Elaina was very gracious and took care of our needs..keeping our group close together with our rooms. David our bartender in the bar was the best!! Carlos did a great job in the dinner restuarant and Francisco in the breakfast restuarant....we loved it. I'd really like to get some of that coffee sent back to me!! Missing that and all the great employees!! I would enjoy returning at some time! Marla L.(Fort Wayne, IN)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
1.2 km away
Bahia del Sol Resort
Bahia del Sol Resort
#27 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
59 reviews
2.5 km away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
29 reviews
4.6 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,624 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Virgilios
Casa Virgilios
#1 of 8 in Nuevo Vallarta
123 reviews
2.3 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa

Address: Near El Tigre Golf Course, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:5 star — Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa Hideaway Retreat Defines a Holiday Experience With a Meaning and Purpose for Body, Mind and Soul. Taheima, located within 10 minutes of Puerto Vallarta International Airport, offers convenience and ease-of-access, all within its own tropical oasis. Taheima offers its own landscaped lagoons and Infinity swimming pools, beach club, Taheima artfully unites shelter with nature within a tropical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taheima Wellness Resort And Spa
Taheima Wellness Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing