We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Church of St. Francis of Assissi
from US$ 18.00
More Info
from US$ 45.00
More Info
from US$ 96.00
More Info
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
103
91
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
91
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews se cathedral bom jesus archaeological museum st francis beautiful altar cross section small fee place feels goan history spiritual place the main tourist architectural beauty on display portuguese rule restoration work must visit place closed on fridays
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016

entering the church made me feel as if I was walking through history. Felt as if I was blessed walking in and could feel the great energy of so many saintly souls who might have graced this place. I am not a christian, but more of an universal-hindu, so this is a feeling I normally get when entering some of the greatest Hindu temples of south India. An amazing spiritual experience worth your time.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Siva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The church is located within the ASI administered Museum of Goa.

They're tried to build it in the style of St. Peter's Basilica. We have been to Rome and i can say sincerely that they've succeeded !

The two long corridors leading up to the altar, the central arched nave where the black and gold structure stands in St. Peter's is faithfully reproduced. The various arched doorways etched in marble with different saints' stories and figurines are also reproduced to a certain extent. Only the large concrete dome in the center is missing, due to lack of space, i think...

Also some tapestries adorn the walls like in the Sistine Chapel. Don't miss it if you have the time !

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Uthradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Old church is in south goa,
Great old architecture to be viewed if you are in goa located around 10-12 km from panaji.
If you have time u can visit it , mueseum is also there .
Overall a good place to be visited.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Pranjal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Beautiful church which displays a Barque and Corinthan architecture. There is a museum inside which displays artefacts, paintings and stunning sculptures.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank amars777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This church takes us back to the fond memories of the ancient times .. huge walls with beautiful carving ..stone build structure that morethan 200 years old

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Ami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews