We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

El Charco de la Higuera
Ranked #5 of 209 Restaurants in Colima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Come and enjoy the ambiance and the gastronomy from Colima. We are located at the Provincial garden of the San Jose church in Colima city.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

When you walk into an interestingly decorated, busy restaurant that has a violinist playing before noon, you know it's going to be good.

To start, they serve the local craft beer I've come to love here, Paramo. Then the basket relived to your table on arrival is not bread, but cookies, and muffins, very nice touch.

But the regional meals were different and delightful. I had the enchiladas del Dulles, stuffed with sweet minced meat and covered in a cinnamon flavoured mole. Superb. My girlfriend's dish was a chilli rellenos, stuffed with minced meat and covered in a thick cream sauce flavoured like a Waldron salad, or amnesia. Walnuts, cranberries, lovely, creative and different.

We've decided since its our last night in town to return here for dinner!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank whygoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Four of us enjoyed the food. The Mexican Steak was good. Fish average and the Tostada was bland. Great Guacamole and Tortilla Soup made up for the rest. The service was outstanding.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 404tees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Our hotel suggested El Charco for lunch on our first day in Colima. A few blocks from centro on the sight of a nice park and church. Started with margaritas and a local beer. The beer (Piedra Lisa) was great, served ice cold in a chilled beer mug. Extensive Mexican themed menu with an English version. Tried the Tuna Salad, Quesadillas (3) with corn an huitlacoche and the Torta de Pollo. All were nice sized and very tasty. Service was good (in English), single washroom clean. Nice atmosphere and a good start to our Colima visit.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

My first visit to Colima and the local host wanted me to try this restaurant first. The food was excellent featuring local cuisine, all the dishes were fresh and tasty. I tried the Palm juice which was a local drink, very interesting flavour. The restaurant was open on one side and with some fans it was still very comfortable, being open added to the ambience.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kwan_Nyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

It was good food,great prices, nice overall we enjoyed or day, I think it's a good place to visit if you go to Colima

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank JR Y Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Charco de la Higuera also viewed

 

Been to El Charco de la Higuera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing