We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
41
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small boat air hockey table breakfast is served collecting shells wonderful hosts rental car fish ping pong table the owner hot water bob generator motor marta isla energy bay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

A group of six of us stay here for five nights in February 2018. The thoughtful owners, Bob and Susan, and their adorable dog, made our stay incredibly enjoyable.
A special thank you to the staff, Bernard and Martha. They made fantastic breakfasts and were a joy to be around. There at least 10 different choices on the breakfast menu, I highly recommend juevos Mexicana and also the hotcakes.
Bernard and Martha kept the place spotless. They were especially helpful when we had problems with the rental car. Bernardo and Bob the owner, fixed our tire in no time. Thank you!
The setting is gorgeous, peaceful, safe and relaxing. Walking on the beach collecting shells was a highlight, along with kayaking and snorkeling. You can enjoy very good kayaking and snorkeling right in front of the resort. The water is calmest in the morning. One of the unexpected highlights was looking at the stars in the evening and early in the morning. We could see 4 planets plus the Milky Way. Each unit has a small refrigerator and a great assortment of reference books about the area. Downside is that there is no microwave so you’ll need to go out for meals other than breakfast.
The casitas are spacious however the walls, including those around the bathroom, are only about 8’ high and do not go all the way to the ceiling. You can hear everything.
I will definitely go back again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Juliebwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frambes, Owner at Playa Frambes Lighthouse Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Bob and Susan Frambes have managed to create a true retreat in the middle of Bahia Conception. It is only 1.5 hrs from Loreto and 25 min from Mulege (the closest cities with petrol, ATMs and convenience stores), which is far away to forget completely about the rest of the world (including the swarms of RVs that descend from Canada and USA during the holiday seasons).

The lighthouse resort is secluded enough to enjoy the perfect silence of the bay - there are no big waves and no air traffic and most importantly - no road traffic. Occasionally you will hear the sound of a boat engine passing by but that's about it. For us it was the ultimate experience of peace and relaxation.

The resort is self-powered with solar energy and as well as a supporting generator so availability of hot water, air conditioning (this is only necessary during the summer) and full power (for hair dryers, for instance) is limited.

As for the accommodations, we originally booked the lighthouse itself (not an original lighthouse but a tower in the shape of one with bedroom, bathroom and sitting areas). The bed area in the lighthouse was rather small and also you have to climb several sets of stairs to reach it, as well as the sitting area at the top. So if you are tall and/or not able to climb steps easily do not book this room. However the views from the top are worth a visit specially during sunset.

There are 4 'casitas' in the resort which have two large double bedrooms each and a bathroom. Note that the walls of the bedrooms and bathrooms do not reach the roof so there is plenty of sound communication between the rooms...be warned. The vast rooms have rattan furniture and comfy beds and chairs but there are no wardrobes or closets. There is no TV but there is a games room with a dart board and other options for killing boredom - having said that the best way to spend the time in Playa Frambes is to relax and discover the best of Bahia Concepcion, including Mulege town and the Mision.

There is satellite wifi available with limited coverage across the resort so the best spot is near the pool - which has its pros and cons. One one side it limits oneself from spending too much time online and on the other hand one must step outside the casitas to catch the signal. The satellite coverage means that the wifi is limited (up to 200MB per device) to basic functions as emails, web browsing and instant messaging but not video & music streaming or video calls. Please note that the hotel has no phone reception whatsoever which we found blissful so we remained uncontactable for the best part of 6 days.

Breakfast is served from 7am to 9am every day by the friendly local couple that have been helping the Frambes for more than a decade. Expect the usual Mexican style eggs plus some more international options. There is no kettle in the room due to energy restrictions so you will have to wait until 6am when Marta will have the coffee ready.

The resort has a small pool and a vast shell beach where you can relax or walk along the water (it will not be very deep unless you go further in).

There is no dining room in the hotel and guests have to explore the local surrounding fishing villages for fresh fish and soft/alcoholic drinks. The closest village is Playa Santispack, about 6 min drive from the hotel. Most of the surrounding beaches and fishing villages will be packed with RVs from North America during the holiday seasons so expect obtrusive vehicles blocking the views to the sea.

If you plan to rent a car make sure it is conditioned to drive on dirt roads as some of the best beaches and remote areas around the bay will have no paved roads to these.

The remote location of the hotel means that there is very little light pollution at night, making the night scape a spectacle, specially when there is not full moon.

Bob and Susan have a small boat that can be lent to the guests for the day on the condition that you treat the motor with utmost respect and bring it intact. The boat ride is particularly pleasant and enjoyable if you plan to reach other spots along the bay such as playa Coyotes, playa Princesa (in Isla Coyote), playa Santa Barbara (where allegedly AMAN resorts were planning an project) or to simply follow the playful dolphins that you may encounter in the bay at anytime.

The best: the remote locations
The worst: no kettle in room!
In three words: peaceful, friendly, adventurous.

Room Tip: The casita closest to the beach for great views of the bay
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In_Three_Words
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frambes, Owner at Playa Frambes Lighthouse Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your review.
Bob and Susan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Our extended family of 14 stayed at the resort on our way back to California. Bob and Susan were wonderful hosts. This destination was a highlight of our trip and exceeded our expectations. The property is spotless, secure and scenic. There is something for everyone ........whether it is watching dolphins and turtles, collecting shells, playing games, swimming in the pool, relaxing in the lighthouse, walking on the beach or just enjoying the sunrise and sunset. We loved everything about it and highly recommend at least staying a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frambes, Owner at Playa Frambes Lighthouse Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you and your family.
Bob and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed here on the way down the Baja. Bob and Susan were awesome. They gave us great tips from the time we booked with them. While we were there, they also gave us some great advice on where to eat or where to fish. I caught some nice fish within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms were super clean and the breakfast that is included was excellent. The pool was always extremely clean as well. They also made a nice game room for kids with a ping pong table and air hockey table.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JBMW002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frambes, Owner at Playa Frambes Lighthouse Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

First, never mind the spot, which is absolutely breathtaking, Bob and Susan are incredibly nice and hospitable. The rooms are well suited for 4 people with everything in it and a lovely view. The breakfast is amazing and the people working there are kind and attentive. Out of his way Bob offer us for my son to stay at the lighthouse which was a unique experience for my son. The they lent us their boat and made the visit to mulege a unforgettable experience. Please visit them and have the opportunity to see the stars and the views from Playa Frambues

Stayed: April 2017
Thank anaegMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews