We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, cosy country pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Head at Middleton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleton
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm, cosy country pub.”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We got a warm welcome. It is set in a beautiful accessible location. The family room was ideal for our 2 kids too. We had a lovely meal and a fab breakfast.
We have stayed before and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a double bed and 2 singles with a dividing wall between. Ideal for children in a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed overnight at The Head on the way home from visition family in Cumbria. The welcome we (and our dog) received was very warm and friendly and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Great shower in Room 4 too! Evening meal was very nice - excellent Steak and Kidney Pie - and the breakfast was excellent. Friendly owners had plenty of time for us and couldn't have been more helpful. Would highly recommend The Head to others for a night or for a longer stay - they are offering three nights for £150 for bed and breakfast for two people which is great value!
Thanks again to the owners for their great hospitality. I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have stayed at the head many times over the last 8 years where we have used it as a stop-over on the way to scotland (it is located close to the M6) and for visiting the lakes. The rooms are large, ensuite and comfortable and the food is very tasty with plenty of options on the menu and large portion sizes. Lots of nice walks in the area and interesting wildlife in the garden. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Middleton Head. We felt the room was overpriced for what was offered. The gardens were overgrown with weeds and gave the whole place an uncared for look. We ate in the pub the first night, although we were the only people in the place we were told we would have to move from the table they had sat us at because they had some musicians coming in later, the second night of our stay when we returned from our day out the pub was already closed. The whole place was uncared for and unloved and not suprisingly under used.

Room Tip: Sedbergh and the surounding area has many nice B&B's and pubs - try another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markesmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmCumbria, Owner at The Head at Middleton, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Baffled by this review. Have no recollection of a disgruntled customer - any constructive criticism would have been appreciated in person and any dispute could have been rectified. The rooms are charged at £65 with £15 pppn for extra persons in the room - not extortionate by any means. In fact stay for three nights and the room becomes only £50 prpn for two with full breakfasts! The garden is planted to encourage our now multitude of wildlife.... most customers love it and do indeed comment positively. Everyone loves the birdlife - no need to visit RSPB when you can sit in your room and watch great spotted woodpeckers, nuthatch, chaffinch, sparrow, blackbird, thrush and lots more visiting the bird tables. Hedgehog, pheasants, grouse are all frequent visitors to the garden. We have owned The Head at Middleton for the past twelve years and is our home and is most certainly loved and cared for and we are happy to share it with our customers. We have a good restaurant trade, especially at weekends. During the week we are sometimes quiet and often close when restaurant session is complete and everyone has gone. It makes no sense to stay open after our diners have gone - we are not a "drinkers only" pub and get very few just calling in for drinks. This reviewer must have dined elsewhere and then returned after service expecting a drink. Apologies, but if we had been told they were coming back later we would have stayed open. Our midweek lunchtime opening policy is now "by appointment" - you tell us when you are coming and we are more than happy to provide a service. We now operate this service for any time of the day, all it takes is a phonecall or email. I hope this response has clarified the points made by the reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our second stay, having really enjoyed our first stay back in 2010. The staff are friendly and helpfull, the food was fantastic and the accommodation is cosy and comfortable. We will are looking forward to coming back again in 2012.

We used the Head as a base to explore the Southern Lake District area, as it represents excellent value for money compared to the Lake District prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
11.3 km away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,103 reviews
22.7 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
524 reviews
5.3 km away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
10.7 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
4.9 km away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Head at Middleton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Head at Middleton

Property: The Head at Middleton
Address: Situated on the A683 | Between Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh, Middleton LA6 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,470 - ₹ 7,898
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Head at Middleton is a charming country inn and restaurant situated on the A683 between Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale. We provide Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering accommodation in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The Head is everything you'd expect an English country pub to be: excellent home-cooked pub food, open fires in winter, a rustic bar with a fine selection of wines, malts, soft drinks and ale, and extensive gardens with seating areas. Our aim is to give all our customers a traditional Cumbrian welcome. Whether passing through, enjoying our country inn and pub food, or enjoying a break in one of our en-suite hotel rooms, you are assured warm hospitality. Motorhome guests using our restaurant are welcome to stay overnight on our car park. We welcome walkers, cyclists and bikers and the Head at Middleton is a dog friendly pub and hotel. Our garden is a haven for bird watchers, and golfers can enjoy nearby courses at Kirkby Lonsdale, Casterton and Sedbergh. Visitors to nearby Sedbergh School are assured fine hospitality. Whatever your reason for visiting the Head at Middleton, you'll get a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Head at Middleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head At Middleton Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing