We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Seaside Sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Haven

The Haven on Barsalloch Shore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Haven on Barsalloch Shore
The view towards the Mull of Galloway The sun room and it's spectacular views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
The Haven on Barsalloch Shore
The view towards the Mull of Galloway
The sun room and it's spectacular views
Sit out and enjoy the view
Sitting room
Dining/Kitchen
Double bedroom with sea views
Twin bedroom with sea views
Bathroom with bath and separate shower
The Haven from the shore
Luce Bay
The gate to your very own beach
The Gavin Maxwell Memorial
The view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim H
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seaside Sanctuary”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

After a busy week spent in Edinburgh we were looking for a laid back second week for our holiday in Scotland. The Haven's location is exceptional, with the beach right outside the back door of the cottage. The Haven is not as modern as some of the places we have stayed and although it is advertised as having WiFi the signal strength is not great - fine for emails but not much more. However, for the price we paid and with the stunning sea views this was excellent value for money and we had a great time. The deposit was also repaid very promptly, which is always appreciated!

It's worth noting that the beach is quite rocky, so to get to the sand a little further out you need some sturdy footwear.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely little gem of a cottage,in a gorgeous location my kids apsolutley loved it will definitely be back next year xx brought all my own childhood memories back of what a summer holiday should be xx the owners are very keen to help if you need anything x Thankyou very much Jo xxx Heidi and family The Spencer's x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanhobb...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

this was perfect for my husband and I it was just our sort of place comfortable and functional, however his daughter, husband and 2 sons 11 & 7 found it just a bit too quiet. luckily it was carnival week in the port and they enjoyed crabbing and sand castle building.
the setting is just beautiful with an abundance of birds to spot

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magt82015
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at The Haven this fabulous cottage is just what we were looking for,very clean and very comfortable with everything you would need . The conservatory overlooking the beach and the sea was our favourite room, looking out over the sea waiting for the herons usual early morning and evening arrival and because the weather was so good it was clear enough to see to the isle of man . To go to bed and hear nothing but the sound of the waves gently lapping at the shore "Pure Bliss" This is a gem of a cottage , we will be back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenThoe...
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Haven was just Wonderful! We went as a family with 2 adults and 3 children and it was loved by all.
It was much bigger than I expected and very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was provided and much more! The Wifi was excellent and it was a lovely touch having the incoming calls only landline as neither of our mobiles had a signal. We had a small question so I emailed the owner and she called straight away and it was sorted out!
The area is lovely and we found lots to do with the kids (as well as making lots of sandcastles!) and they loved the little park just round the corner with views of the sea!
The views are AMAZING and it was so peaceful and relaxing but yet so exciting for the kids to be so close to the sea! We were blessed with lovely sunny weather for most of our stay.
We did find it quite difficult to find the property until I remembered a review I had read about it being accessed via the neighbours garden. We had a food delivery from Asda which was the only supermarket that would deliver to the postcode.
We would recommend and I am sure we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, clean and comfortable.
Liked least: Trying to find the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing