We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Family Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Haven

The Haven on Barsalloch Shore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Haven on Barsalloch Shore
The view towards the Mull of Galloway The sun room and it's spectacular views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Haven on Barsalloch Shore
The view towards the Mull of Galloway
The sun room and it's spectacular views
Sit out and enjoy the view
Sitting room
Dining/Kitchen
Double bedroom with sea views
Twin bedroom with sea views
Bathroom with bath and separate shower
The Haven from the shore
Luce Bay
The gate to your very own beach
The Gavin Maxwell Memorial
The view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port William, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Baird_Fam...
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Getaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Rented the cottage 28th June - 4th July 2014 for 2 adults and 3 children aged 7, 6 and 1. Booking was easy and straightforward. Reading the reviews and online description we were very excited, and were not disappointed.

Cottage was much bigger than anticipated, well equipped and clean. Kids were over the moon with the bunk beds, the beach and the very large enclosed garden.

Husband spent most nights (in between world cup games) out trying to catch a sea bass (as the garden gate is directly onto the beach). This suited me brilliantly. Young baby put to bed after an exhausting day of fresh air, older 2 kids watching their DVDs (tv is a dvd combi - but bring your own DVDs) and I worked my way through book after book (loads of book within the cottage for you to borrow which was excellent). Hubby did catch dogfish, bleny and flouder.

Great wildlife around: gannets and terns diving into the sea, ravens, buzzards and kestrels along the hillsides and swallows & blackbirds nesting in the grounds, along with Curlews, oyster catchers and ring plovers on the beach. Rabbits also in the garden, which the kids loved.

During our visit we went to Isle of Whithorn and ate in the Steam Packet Inn (ok pub grub), The Ryan Centre in Stranraer for the swimming/flumes, Agnew Park (stranraer), park beside kings green caravan park and The Clansman in Port William (brilliant food - early bird menu for us - booking a must as we seen plenty of people turned away - lasagne delicious! and great portions). We also tried the StrEatery retro caravan restaurant which was okay. Kids didn't like the cheese or the tomato sauce so they didn't eat much, and was quite expensive at £14 for 2 burgers & 1 chips, however service and views were great. We didn't make it to the Monreith Animal Park which is only 5 minutes along the road.

All-in-all a fabulous time had in and around the cottage. This is a perfect location for a stress-free time out.

Any recommendations? Hmmm a hairdryer would be a welcome addition as I forgot mine, and a better tin opener - really struggled and had to use hubby's army knife.

Bonus? All amenities provided are great. The washing machine meant all washings could be done before heading home. Also, buckets, spades, badminton rackets & kite for the kids to play with.

Would we return? Absolutely - no question of a doubt!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, garden. beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s4awx10
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just as discribed but even better”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed June 8th -June 15th, even better than the description, views and location fantastic (don't think it could be beaten for location and views), if you want to visit this area this is the cottage to be located in, can't say anymore other than fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: more frying pans and baking trays
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacquelin...
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have been to a few places in my lifetime but nothing can compare to the peace and tranquility of THE HAVEN. I went with my daughter and my grand daughter and grand son, who suffers with autism and adhd. We all had a wonderful time from start to finish. The Haven offers great base for seeing the wonders of Galloway.You will find yourself watching the sea and the changes.The birds will capture you and you will be forever searching the view from the conservatory to find something new.For those who seek peace and calm, this has it all.Thanks to Jo and her family. J Smith x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing