We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST TRIP EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST TRIP EVER!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

honestly this has been the best vacation ever. At first i was a little scared to go to Mexico there has been many theft incidents but this hotel has top notch security. The hotel is located in a private complex around it is another hotel and the rest are private residents. these people are millionaires coming down to there villas from Canada or America to beat the winter blues. The resort was really beautiful service was excellent food is amazing Mikados is a must !!! The beach was not the best ive been to but great for snorkeling and if you are going to swim in the ocean make sure you buy water shoes the beach is pretty rocky. the rooms are nice. the workers there are great you dont see them asking you for tips (like in cuba) they are real hard workers. over all i am definetly coming back. i also met a lady on the resort with her husband she said they were here for the 6TH time !!! CATALONIA YUCATAN IS A MUST !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondie_2oo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    787
    263
    88
    49
See reviews for
548
945
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorrie ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this trip on a whim as we had been to the Dominican to Dreams Punta Cana Feb 17th to the 21st with 20 people to get married and were having a reception back home on the 31st of March. We decided to treat ourselves to a honeymoon. We booked off the Scotia travel site and got an amazing deal with Nolitours for the Cameleon gold and we flew Air Transat from T.O. We had read many poor reviews and were aprehensive, but did plan on upgrading to the privilaged room. When we got there we actually upgraded to the honeymoon package for 30.00 per night and this was still excellent value for us (925 each) with the upgade included. The a la cartes are open on staggered evenings but there is a book in your room with all the information as to which is open when, and the style of food each serves. The a la cartes served us good meals and the buffets had good breakfast variety and lunch was good also. We had five a la carts and a private honeymoon dinner on the tappas terrace so we only had the buffet once at supper which was mexican night and it was tasty but nothing wowing. Our room was in building 6 and on the first floor (6105) nice room cleaned amazingly, cute towel art, soaker tub on the terrace, mini fridge, safe, beautiful bathroom. The only thing that I was very dissapointed with was the king size bed in the honeymoon package it is to have a canopy and I asked the concierge in both lobbies and both front desks and the canopy never showed up the whole 7 days we were there. The beach is nice and water shoes are necessary and the lagoon is great for snorkelling as there is coral and alot of fish. There are pools on each side yucatan and riviera both have swim up bars and there are several other bars all of which had great service and drinks were enjoyable from all of them. The entertainment team work really hard around the pool and beach and then at 9:30pm they put on an evening show. They work hard and really deserve a round of applause! All the staff from housekeeping to food service to desk etc were professional and cheerful and always willing to help. The creperie is to die for! The tappas terrace served us an amazing private honeymoon dinner of steak and shrimp and the manager Jorges was incredible. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. We always were able to find lounges on the beach or by the pool each day but not always under a palpa unless we were down by 7:00am to get one. We did take a collectivo into Playa Del Carmen and it was great! Also did the Coba Mayan Ruins (climbed them) and Mayan village and snorkelled in a cenotes and zip lined these were both half day activities done in the same day. We felt safe at all times in Mexico and our posessions were safe at all times also even when the ipod was left in the bathroom plugged in to charge it was never bothered but we were pretty careful to keep things locked or in our suitcases no need to invite grief into your holiday. The hotel is trying to upgrade their star level to a five but right now I would say they are appropriately rated at a four star. I have been to a five and a three and a half and this does fall right in the middle. The ammenities for the privilaged are not really upgraded there is no conditioner for hair so be sure to bring your own and no bubble bath for the soaker tub just the body wash. A nice touch is the scale in the room so you can weigh your luggage before you get to the airport and have any surprises. We had a bottle of rum, vodka, and gin in our room as part of the nolitours camelion club perk so those came home with us as the resort is all inclusive so why crack them open. We had a nice holiday and would be able to give a thumbs up to anyone asking about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Yucatan this April. We were very pleased with the resort and found it too be very consistent with the feedback we found on this site. A couple of things that have already been said, water shoes make all the difference on this beach, it is rocky getting into it but once you are in it is great. We brought water shoes and tried it without them at first and it was tricky to even get into the water. The water shoes made all the difference!! The Japanese restaurant was really great. We also went for Mexican and Italian which were good. We didn't wait in any line ups for the al a cartes maybe in part because we went early, between 6 and 7 every night. The tapas was also an interesting experience even better because of the beautiful patio we ate at. Crepes were great. Buffets were pretty standard fare, I do wish there was more authentic Mexican food. One of the dislikes was the large amount of birds in the Brisas buffet, they were pretty bold and would clear a table as soon you got up from it. We ate breakfast and lunch at the Mercado once we realized it was open for these meals but we wished it was open for dinner as well.

Our room was very nice, when we first arrived we were in a room with 2 double beds, but we had requested a king. The front desk was very accommodating and moved us right away when we mentioned this, to a beautiful, looked recently renovated room with a rain shower and flat screen (which we never watched).

I would highly recommend going on the Coba adventure tour. We rented bikes and got to ride through the ruins, then climb up them. We also kayaked through the jungle, hiked and swam in a cenote. Followed by zip lining and propelling. This was the highlight of our trip.

We also on our last day borrowed bikes from the resort and rode around Puerto Adventuras, wish we had of done this earlier as there was lots to see, some cute little shops and some nice looking restaurants with live music that we would have spent some time in, if we had a couple more days.

The staff were really great everyone said hello as they walked by you and they were very welcoming. The entertainment staff were fun, friendly and multi talented!!

The only things I wished for was room service and more waiters around the pools and beach, we got served this way a couple of times but it was inconsistent at best even with what we thought was generous tipping. Next time I would bring a travel mug, as I enjoy a big cup of tea in the morning and it would have saved a couple trips to the bar during the day and in the evening.

Overall we were very pleased and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

March 23 - 30 2012. Yes this was our first trip south and I am extremely glad we chose Mexico. It was Beautiful! I read alot of reviews before we went and was a bit nervous on what we would find on our arrival. We were extremely pleased. We travelled with a couple of friends that had been to both Cuba and DR. They told us to take the reviews with a grain of salt. We also felt very safe for our whole trip, even when we went into Playa del Carmen.
Catolina Yucatan was beautiful, along with the Catalonia Riveria Maya. The Yucatan side was a little more quiet than the other side, but spent equal time at both. The food was good and we did not have to wait for a table at any of the restaruants. The Crepe bar had the most wonderful desserts. Breakfast was amazing and you could get what ever you wanted to eat. The staff were excellant. We had a standard room but requested a fridge as I am a diabetic. It was in the room when we arrived. Everything was extremely clean, from the rooms, restaurants and the public bathrooms. We met alot of people from all parts of the world and none of them had anything bad to say about the staff, resort or the food. The entertainment staff were awesome, and deserve a big round of applause, that for a great week. I think some people would not be happy no matter where they went. They have to remember they are quests in this country and not everyone lives the same.
We did the Tulum Ruins tour and the Jungle Maya Expedition. This tour was amazing, with an amazing tour guide, SERVANDO, he was great, and he deserves to be praised. I know our group crossed a few things off our bucket list, such as repelling, zip lining, and authentic Mayan meal. The Mayan people were very gracious and friendly. We just wish that Servando had told us to take some money along with us to tip. We left everything in the van and felt bad that we didnt carry any money with us to tip. This tour is a must do! If you are physically able.
To all the complainers out there, you ave got to be kidding. Are you looking for a palace at a Motel 6 price. It will not happen no matter where you go. So suck it up!
I want to close with that we will definately be going back in the near future, and would definately stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: We had room 1142 and 1142, they were great rooms and we never heard any noise outside our rooms at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The resort is was more than we expected and we did tons of investigating, review watching, videos ...etc. It is true you need water shoes to into the water but the snorkelling is great. The ala cartes were good as well. Spectacular view at the Tapas grill!! The room was clean and slept like a baby on the king size bed. Had to love the stocked fridge. Sorry have to mention you have to upgrade to a priveledged room which wasn't that much extra. If I had to complain about anything I guess the buffets were a little below what I had expected compared to others we have had in the past resorts we have visited. The hot foods were cold by the time we went back to our table and the breakfast scrambelled eggs were like soup. Other than the buffet food I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Must upgrade to a privelidged room as it gives you stocked fridge and a few other perks....discounts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmactavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,742 reviews
37.0 km away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#4 of 5 in Playa Maroma
7,255 reviews
19.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,781 reviews
4.4 km away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
29.1 km away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#101 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Property: Catalonia Yucatan Beach
Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,793 - ₹ 33,823
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing