We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We went in January for a friend's 40th birthday and we had such an amazing time! The rooms were phenomenal. Other reviewers commented about the far walk, but the only really "far" walking that we did was when we walked to the other parts of the resort. A couple of minutes to get to the restaurant really isn't that bad!
The food - the sit-down restaurants were amazing. Our favorite, by far, was the French restaurant. The buffets were decent. They had some pretty amazing food, if you were willing to wait a couple of minutes to have it freshly prepared (a rib-eye at lunch.. only on vacation!). Otherwise, the buffet food was hit-or-miss. If it was just put out, then it was great, but often times you had to ask yourself "Would I enjoy this if it was only luke-warm?"
The drinks were good - best part about staying at the Palace was the top shelf liquor. I don't think I would've lasted the whole trip on well liquor. Their house wine was absolutely terrible, though, so we did rack up quite a tab on that, but really, what can you expect from an all-inclusive.
The service was amazing. Everyone was so friendly!
All in all we had a wonderful trip. The grounds were perfectly manicured, the adult pool was great (there were LOTS of kids everywhere else). I would reccomend springing the extra cash to stay at the Palace, because we went to every other part of the resort, and it just wasn't nearly as nice!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laceysikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,506
    1,354
    537
    185
    160
See reviews for
3,150
1,346
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Absolutely amazing resort, food and service. Friendly staff. Well worth the money. We went down there with 20 people for our wedding. Gabriela our wedding coordinator was fantastic. Both our ceremony & reception were on the beach. It was it was all closed off so people couldn't just walk into the celebration. We're so happy with the staff's service and food. They listened to exactly what I wanted and delivered beyond our expectations!
The only down side to the rooms is that the beds aren't terribly comfortable. The spa completely screwed up our booking for my entire wedding party. We were all supposed to get hair & makeup together, but ended up only having room for me so the others had could only get an appointment in the afternoon just before the wedding (which is when we had booked our group photos for). This did not impress me.

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite deluxe ocean view club premium room. It is worth having a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiantraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My family and I went at the end of April and LOVED it, we have a 15 year old son who brought a friend. We had no problems making reservations, we made them as soon as we checked in. We ate at the Brazilian, Japanese, Italian (at Colonial), and Steak House (at Colonial). The service and food were outstanding!! The buffet was good. The room is beautiful, housekeeping wasn't great, I had to call everyday to get washcloths, as they never replaced them, but no biggie. The pool and beach were AWESOME!! The water-sports were awesome too!! The bar service was great!! We loved Rosa!! We never had trouble finding chairs. We will definitely be back next April!! The only complaint is the beds and pillows are truly uncomfortable, but didn't ruin my vacation!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Michoacan building (8434) it was a walk, but we like to walk, so didn't mind. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We arrived on April 16th- Air Transat representatives were everywhere waiting for us to help us find our bus ( around 8 of them!) Bus ride was great- about an hour and a half from Cancun Airport ot the Hotel. We have 2 kids ( ages 4 and 1)
Check in was in fact very slow, however I think the service was very good. They had around 8 people working at the same time and a group of around 50 people arrived together with us. Do make your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you check-in, the ladies that were doing this were all ver helpful and nice ( Cynthia was her name if I am not mistaken)
The room as very big! it was cleaned every day and we had no issues with that. The pillows are indeed very, very bad. I used the decoration pillows as well. It helped! Bathrooms are amazing! it was great to have all that space and double shower/bath tub as we have 2 small kids.
We stayed at the Oaxaca building. It was far from the lobby and pools, but at least we had a ground floor room. We actually didnt mind the walk that much, all areas are so beautiful it felt like we were just going out for walks. If you have small kids and are far from the pools/lobby area, just take everything with you every morning when you leave- it worked well for us. Also take your stroller/s! ;)
The pools were amazing- 1 for kids, 1 for adults and 1 general pool....they were very well maintained, my kids loooved the waterpark- this is the reason why we picked this hotel.
The food.....wow! it was great everywhere! buffets had great options every day, and the 4 restaurants were all GREAT! I liked the brazilian best but they were all really good- if you travel with Air Transat you get 5 dinners! at least we did.....I have no complains at all about the food, we all felt it was great! ( the kids buffet was specially liked by my daughter lol)
The service was great!!! I was very impressed at how hard these people work everyday...everwhere you look there are ALWAYS people cleaning, fixing, organizing, etc. They were all very friendly and they all spoke decent english, this was very important for those people that don't speak spanish ( we do). We specially liked CLAY ( he animated the pool games) and the girls from the kids club ( Luisa, Samantha and another pretty thin girl, dont remember her name) they work REALLY hard...and they were always so friendly and happy! My daughter adored going to the kids club every day! they had plenty of great activities for the kids :)
We left our son twice with a babysitter during the day ( 2 hours) they were both great and he had a great time. The sitters will always ask you were you wanted them to stay with the babies ( I asked for him to stay at the kids club with his big sister, and so they did)
We only got to see 1 show ( Disney show) it was good- the have really good singers! my daughter loved it as they had most of the Disney princesses :)
All in all, we will definitely go back to this resort! there are so many other things you can do around this area! ( mayan ruins, swim with the dolphins, Xcaret, playa del carmen, cozumel, etc) we just didnt have great weather so we barely made it to playa del carmen 1 day ( and it was a really nice town, worth the 20 min cab ride). The resort was truly beautiful, very well kept, food was great and service was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSToronto12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I am going to keep this brief as I would like people to read it and not get bored.

We have emailed the hotel with our concerns to give them a chance to respond, but no reply, so here goes.

Having just returned from the Barcelo Palace we are very disappointed. We got married at Maya Beach in 2002 and emailed ahead to advise them, this was not mentioned at all we thought we may get an email back, flowers, or even an upgrade but nothing.
We waited 1 hour to check in after a 10 hour flight and then about another hour wait to make restaurant reservations, everyone had the same problem, reception staff looked miserable, only 2 staff on the desk. No welcome drink was offered to us, as mentioned in their literature either.
There were large groups of spring breakers causing chaos throughout hotel, we were kept awake almost every night by noise, had to call security to break up party one night, bars full of drunk kids, (18 year olds not used to drinking) and very rude to the staff. British guests (although very few) will recognise the term 18-30’s holiday, it was like being transported back there.

The food other than French restaurant was only average. The other al a carte restaurants are not worth bothering with. We loved the Maya Beach in 2002 and booked this as a 10th anniversary treat but upgrading to the Palace, this was a complete disappointment.

The reserving sun bed situation was ridiculous, unless you get up at 6 no sun beds where available, they seem to have been reserved and stayed empty until guests wandered down after lunch.

Good points - room very nice, although the bed was not made up for our child, the safe didn’t work, one light was out in the bathroom. The bed and safe got sorted after 4 phone calls to guest services !! Apart from reception, the staff were amazing, we felt really sorry for them, clearly short staffed but doing they’re very best. The beach is good, but not as good at the Palace end. The pools are amazing but crowded, although the lifeguard sat with his back to the pool, on his phone or laptop most of the time.
All in all not bad if it was a 4 star hotel, but nowhere near worthy of calling itself 5 star. We will not be going back to this hotel, we love Mexico and have been several times there are better hotels for the money. A leading all inclusive british tour operator has just started offering this hotel please think on before you book it.

Room Tip: Dont bother they will ignore you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dribblesbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your feedback , we wanted to apologize about the delay on the reply but rest assured that this valuable comments have been shared with all our leaders of each department of the hotel in order to continue providing the positives and avoid the negatives to achieve our main goal which is Guest satisfaction.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back !!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
30.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,617 reviews
2.9 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,178 reviews
8.7 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,146 - ₹ 34,157
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing