We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrific Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our second time at Barcelo. We were at the Tropical area in 2011 and the Palace in April 2012. Both times it was me, my wife and our teenage son. Service was very good. Food was very good. Unfortunalety we were not able to get reservations in the Kyoto restaurant in 2012 (where the chef cooks at your table). This was a 2011 highlight. The other disapointment was our 17-year old son not being allowed into the disco. Must be 18 plus. We were there with other families with high school seniors - some 17 and some 18. I may be wrong, but it looked like anyone under 18 got a black wristband. This made it easy for the bartenders to spot underage kids. We tried to get the hotel manager to allow our son into the disco with his friends with no luck. We suggested an "admission only" wristband, allowing him to go into the disco but not to drink - no luck. I actually enjoyed playing the "reserve your pool chair" game. Most of the pool chairs were "reserved" by 7AM with towells, books, etc. I set my alarm for 5AM every day to win the game - and got great chair locations. A great vacation. Wonderful beach. We would go back.

Room Tip: Our room was advertized as "ocean view" but we could not see the ocean, Our room faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_in_Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,498
    1,354
    537
    184
    160
See reviews for
3,143
1,346
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rosetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Maya Palace Deluxe for Easter week for a wedding. Food was really good, and incredible amenities. Really good snorkelling right off the beach. My major complaint is that we were staying in a room which had a door to an adjoining room. It may as well have been made of paper. We had neighbors who were obviously down for Spring Break.... and were woken up at all hours by their shouting, drunken philosophical arguments (very unintelligent ones), and vomiting. We complained almost every night to staff about this, and nothing was done. The last night they suggested we move (why the HELL can't they move??? we were in the same wing as the rest of our family!) I don't mind people having a good time, but not at the expense of everyone else who is spending a LOT of money to stay there.... ESPECIALLY when there are 24 hour bars... go _THERE_ and party!!!

Moral of the story: worthwhile views and food... DO NOT stay over spring break, and ask if your room is adjoining another room and what they will do about unruly guests

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerrysizzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Twp. MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed April 14-21 2012 with a group of adult friends. Thank goodness the springbreakers were gone, but the families came in force! The resort is beautiful and large. We had room 8433 in the very end building. Thought it would be nice & quiet, but not so much.
First, Immediately after check in- you must make dinner reservations or you won't get any time before 9pm. Next, you have to be up & out before 6:30 am to "save" your seats at the pools!! We did not get to use the adult pool area as all the seats were saved before any of us could get out there. The beach was the best with plenty of chairs. We found that going to the next one or 2 resorts, Colonial or Tropical, there was more availability at the pools and the beach was less congested. The Palace has a giant water park area for the little ones and there were more children than I have ever seen at a resort taking advantage. And children are not quiet, all day and all night. Not really what I went on vacation for.
There is plenty of food, you won't go hungry. We preferred the French restaurant for dinner. The breakfast buffet got old by the end of the week.
It rained 5 of the 7 days, some downpours that lasted hours. We tried to veg in the room by watching TV- found only 3 English speaking channels and when the rain got really bad, the cable, or dish went out!
We found the staff mostly unfriendly. Even when speaking first, most would not acknowledge us. We began to wonder if the lower staff was told not to speak to guests. All of the managers/supervisors would completely look the other way when passing. We have one favorite person, Ulyses, bartender at the adult pool bar. Although just about every time we made our way over, there were at least 2 supervisors/managers watching his every move. Hmmmm.
Overall, Barcelo Palace is beautiful and clean. It took over an hour to get there from the Cancun airport. We won't be going back - will look for more adult orientated resorts in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tooti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just spent a week at the Barcelo Maya Palace, which was my 4th Barcelo trip and 3rd time at the Palace section. Love it and can't say enough good things about it!

Check-in was smooth, only 4 of us were checking in at the time we arrived.

Was able to book 5 nights at a la carte restaurants for dinners, which we enjoyed. Favourite is still the French one located in the Palace (french onion soup and excellent desserts) and the El Agave mexican restaurant at the Maya Beach section - make sure you order the special coffee!

Beach was fantastic with excellent snorkeling. Swam with turtles and various kinds of fish every day.

Grounds were beautiful and service was excellent everywhere we went.

Will be booking my 5th stay soon!

Room Tip: I like the Oaxaca building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaqthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went to the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe for Easter week (Senior trip). Beautiful room. Excellent service. Great food. The adult pool was perfect for a relaxing getaway from the main pool and beach areas. For $10 a day you can reserve a cabana in the adult pool area, ask if you can do it for the week.

Activities were plentiful for all age groups. You need to book reservations for the restaurants when you first check in (if a busy week) - the French restaurant was the best but they were all great, even the buffets if you could not get into a restaurant.

Room Tip: If you can get one over looking the ocean in the Oxacala building, the view is great. If you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girlmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and evaluation. We are sharing all this with our staff in order to motivate them to keep up the good work .

We also want to offer you an apology due to the time it took for the reply as this feedback is of great importance to our hotel.

We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
30.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,612 reviews
2.9 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,169 reviews
8.7 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace

Property: Barcelo Maya Palace
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Xpu Ha, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,225 - ₹ 34,324
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing