We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$ 311
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$ 311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$ 445
US$ 406
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 311
US$ 303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 360
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coral Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$ 165
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 366
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Mom's House(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 357
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,605)
Filter reviews
5,605 results
Traveller rating
3,430
1,337
457
226
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,430
1,337
457
226
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyucatan buildingseafoodmaya tropicalspecialty restaurantssanta feother resortsgreat resortmini golfspring breakersbeach grillsclub premiumplaya del carmenpalm treeskids water parka la cartesjapanese restauranttequila bar
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 5,605 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I had an issue which I addressed with the hotel and received no response from the management after being told twice that I would hear back from them. I have gone into detail on my survey with them so no need to rehash here. It would not prevent my family from visiting this resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank greer5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

"We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management.
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The beauty of this magnificent complex is only surpassed by the warmth of its staff! They work tirelessly to make your vacation special and they do it with a smile! The food
is very good, of the A-la-carte restaurants, the Tokyo and Capri were our favorites, the buffet is varied and no one will starve here even if you might not like everything on the
menu! We went as a couple but I have to say that this is by far the best family resort we’ve ever been too, children of all ages will want for nothing here and the ‘dolphinarium’ will melt your heart,..wether you attend the free show or pay for the experience, it’s right there, no need to go anywhere! The beach is made for snorkelers as it is very rocky and you need water shoes, the 2 kms of shoreline is unfortunately overrun by seaweed like we’ve never seen,..the staff tries to pile it up but its a daunting task, so dont come here expecting flawless white sand and clear water..palm trees on the beach are your only shade, but there are many,..no huts..the pools are beautiful, this resort is great for walking under the stars after supper with a warm tropical breeze always blowing..the grounds are well kept and lush and a boardwalk traverses all 5 resorts...I would recommend The Tropical or Colonial , they are more centralized. The fitness center and the Spa are very impressive, just a lovely place..

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jo444111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

"We thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Tropical to spend your vacations and for the feedback of your recent holiday experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future,

The Mangement."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We originally switched from the Hyatt Ziba to come here so we could add an extra day and get our monies worth. That being said.... the grounds were BEAUTIFUL!!! Downfall, the resort was HUGE!! If your don’t mind walking and walking and more walking then this is not your resort! Dining is all over! And for dining.... ugh MEN HAVE TO WEAR PANTS!! No where while booking did it say that or at least I missed it. Furthermore, why would you force men to wear long pants when 1. We come to get out of the cold and travel with mostly comfort beach clothes and casual dining shorts. 2. It’s 86 degree in the Caribbean, who thinks of long pants while packing? My husband has a very nice wardrobe of vineyard fine dress shorts and polos and that’s far better to look at then ripped jeans and cargo pants. So, Men bring pants for dinner. Some of the areas on the beach you can’t access water so stay closer to Caribe and Beach if you don’t want an additional walk upon the already long walk to the beach. The buffet has great choices and ambiance is nice. Staff is very friendly we loved them all! Check in is slow and rooms weren’t ready till 4:44 but eh, who wants a hot shower after traveling all day anyways.... overall I would come back since the price is right, but we most likely will stick to the Hyatt Ziva which has proved to really have the best of the best in every aspect for us!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank dawnoneil2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

"We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management.
"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Just returned from 8 days at the Barcelo Maya Tropical. At first the resort seems huge but once you find your around you can visit all parts very quickly, if you wish there are very frequent open top double decker buses which ferry you from one hotel to the other which we did not find necessary. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the gardens. The room was well cleaned everyday and as we were all inclusive the mini-bar within the room was free and re-stocked everyday!! The food was very good but do please book the speciality restaurants as soon as you arrive!! as they get full very quickly.
Poolside entertainment was excellent and the animation team were excellent.
The nightly shows were very good!!
All in all an excellent holiday

Thank You!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dibblehampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

"We thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Tropical to spend your vacations and for the feedback of your recent holiday experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future,

The Mangement."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We have visited the Barcelo 4 times and it's been a great experience each time. The buffets are large and have a variety of food. The staff has been friendly and attentive to our needs. Lots of activities in the club so you can spend your entire vacation without the leaving the property or they have several excursions that are reasonably priced. Our favorite excursions have been the Mayan ruins followed by the water parks. Our kids love the Barcy Club daycare - this is their favorite part of the vacation. The teachers are very friendly and make each kid feel at home. A big thank you to Cinthia, Zully and Sarahi for taking such good care of our kids (Tristan and Victoria). We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank claudia2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

"We thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Tropical to spend your vacations and for the feedback of your recent holiday experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future,

The Mangement."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews