We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,991)
Filter reviews
5,991 results
Traveller rating
3,645
1,408
495
259
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,645
1,408
495
259
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yucatan building seafood santa fe family vacation specialty restaurants other resorts mini golf great resort spring breakers barcelo maya club premium playa del carmen palm trees a la cartes tequila bar japanese restaurant beach grill
Filter
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 5,991 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The only disappointment about our recent family holiday was not being advised by virgin when booking about the spring breakers.

The good.

Hotel is exceptionally well maintained the grounds, pools and beach exceeded expectations.

2 rooms in tropical we’re excellent, maid service everyday was very good.

Food met expectations not expecting great food due to size of resorts but buffets for breakfast and lunch were ok with a vast selection of food, the beach grills were good we eat here most lunch times. The al a carte restaurants were ok nothing great but not bad, though we really enjoyed Tokyo very entertaining meal.

Nightly entertainment was good in the theatres, some shows better than others but all were watchable.

Snorkelling by the Palace hotel was excellent lots of variety of things to see including sting rays, barracuda and a turtle though we did not see the turtle.

The dive centre offers a variety of things to do, we did parasailing and afternoon snorkelling trip, both were excellent.

Bars were ok and drinks were fine though cocktails seem mass produced.

The bad!

Spring breakers very rowdy around pool though there is plenty of room and pools for you to stay away from them. I found them rude to staff and the parents which were also in attendance had no control (or self respect).

They left the toilets a real mess and one of the beach grills a no go area if you have small children, there are other places to eat which are free of these people so not to much of an issue.

The main issue is their lack of respect for other guests when returning to their rooms at night, shouting and banging on doors. The hotel could provide a staff presence in the accommodation blocks once the nightclub closes which would I feel quash this issue.

Overall would return to hotel again but not during spring break.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank ianw493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success
We have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Barceló welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday. 

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Room #4748 had a horrible smell and the lights would turn off and after 10 minutes they would turn back on. I would not stay at The Tropical but I would give the Barceló one more change and stay at one of the other Hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Director General at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018


Dear Trisha M,

We have received your comments regarding your recent stay at the Barceló Maya Grand Resort. Feedback from our guests is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.

In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning and maintenance issues in your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies. Our housekeeping and maintenance issues work to provide a comfortable and clean to all our guests. Had the reception team known about this they would have acted swiftly to correct the situation.

We truly hope you will give Barceló Hotels & Resorts a second chance to provide you with the vacations your deserve.

Kind regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Barcelo hotel has been pretty good to my family and this is our third time here. We arrived to find we had a one king bed room instead of two doubles. I asked if this would be changed and was told,no there was policy to honor the room type. They said they would try if I came back each day to check. The room had a strong mold smell, a broken fridge and broken coffee machine. They replaced the fridge and coffee machine but said they really couldn’t fix the mold. I came back each day and was told ‘probably tomorrow’ for the room change but it was never done. What a waste of time.
The food is pretty bad too unless you stay in the Palace, which we stayed in last year. It costs about 25% more but the food is much better. My Dad got sick this year at the Tropical. Pay for the Palace if you can afford it. Or find a place with better management and food. The Riviera Maya is beautiful but find a different place!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Javad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Director General at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Javad K,

We have received your comments regarding your recent stay at the Barceló Maya Grand Resort. Feedback from our guests is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.

We are sorry to hear that such loyal guests as yourselves who have visited Barceló Hotels & Resorts on different occasions have gotten to feel that they are not completely satisfied with this current stay.

It is with great concern that we have read your comments on our reception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the reception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned.

In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning and maintenance issues in your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams work to provide a comfortable and clean room to all our guests. We are sorry to hear they were not performing up to their regular standards.

We truly hope the room change provided to you was of great help and that will still consider us for your next vacations.

Kind regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We would never stay here again! Not clean, horrible food, over priced and too many rules for 17 year olds!! They can't even workout at the gym! Don't take your 17 year olds there! Rooms had no ventilation and were sticky and moist!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Director General at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Stacey S,

We have received your comments regarding your recent stay at the Barceló Maya Grand Resort. Feedback from our guests is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.

In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning and maintenance issues in your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies. Our housekeeping and maintenance issues work to provide a comfortable and clean to all our guests. Had the reception team known about this they would have acted swiftly to correct the situation.

We are sorry to read that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

As for the age restriction we have at the spa in general which includes the gym it is due to safety reasons.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

He are here now and usually love this place. This is our 10th time and got married here last year. That being said, I will never come here again on highschool spring break. We got here on Wednesday and everything was great and then on Saturday “grad city” showed up with all of the spring breakers. Grad city is a company that promotes itself as a travel agency that helps put together spring break trips and has all these rules of conducts they must obey and there are chaperones on site at all time. In reality, they first day grad city put up a tent, dj booth and kegs and had a drunken dance party in the pool in front of the tropical. They were heard saying “if you get out of the pool and stop drinking we will pack up”. They kids were screaming “mas tequila, mas mas tequila”. At points the high schoolers would come over to the kids water slide park and try to use it, sometimes being kicked out sometime being loud and crazy, splashing little kids and pushing them over as the races down the slides. We have a 4 year old with us and I would never willingly put him in this situation. We regularly have swearing, fighting, throwing up and disrespectful behavior. We have seen a couple girls passed out in their own vomit (Barcelo staff was attending to them) and a couple groups of guys being escorted away for theft. Once trying for liquor bottles and once for trying to get something for the Mexican plaza. As for sleeping, we haven’t much. Kids screaming in the hallways and around 1 the party must end because at 1:15 they all come past our door. This is completely unacceptable and Barceló should notify guest before coming that it is a party and not family friendly. I would have spent my money elsewhere

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank jamie0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Director General at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear jamie0120,

First of all I would like to say thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Tropical for your stay. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities from the time they are booking until they are checking out.
We are sorry to hear that such loyal guests as yourselves who have visited Barceló Hotels & Resorts on different occasions have gotten to feel that they are not completely satisfied with this current stay. As a hotel we cater to all kinds of markets and strive to satisfy all of them unfortunately we cannot educate guests when it comes to a matter of etiquette and proper behavior. Rest asured we have taken note of your comments to keep improviging the service we provide.

Kind regards,

The Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews