We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family experience at Barcelo Maya Tropical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our family experience at Barcelo Maya Tropical”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

First, let me say that we were looking for a Resort where our Kids from 7 to 12 years could have fun at our stay in the hotel. That was the main reason why we chose Barcelo Maya Tropical and it was achieved. There are great pools, children's area, a water park for kids under 12 and more.

Let me begin with the positive or neutral and leave the negative at the end.

The beach in front of the Maya Beach and Caribe is gorgeous. There is white sand, turquoise water, no big waves. It’s Beautiful.

The grounds are very well maintained. There are some buffets and a la carte restaurants. We always choose the buffets restaurants because you can eat immediately and chose what you want of the buffet. The food is good, not the best one, but is good. Once you arrive to the buffet you are accommodated on a table and a waiter always asked if you wanted water or something to drink, sometimes we had to wait longer than others. The servers need to be a little bit faster on the service.

In general the employees are gentile and friendly. I want to recognize Dioscori at the buffet restaurant and Nora Escobedo at the Guest Service. Dioscori always gave us a great service at the buffet. On the other hand, Nora Escobedo helped us greatly when we forgot a package in the hotel's taxi on our way to the airport, when we called the hotel, she said that we didn't have to worry, that they found the package and as soon we arrived to our home we could contact her to coordinate the delivery of the package via FedEx. The package arrived safely to our home. Of course, we paid the FedEx cost.

Let me talk about the negatives. We reported a problem with the A/C that after 3 days calling to the Guest Services was fixed in 5 minutes, but it only worked fine for two hours and was damage again. One of the telephones on the room was broken and never fixed. And for last we asked for down pillows and they said that at that time they didn't have any available. Excuse me, but for a resort like that this was unreasonable. For these reasons I gave 3 stars instead of five.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
Dear Guest,

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your impressions regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical, we are glad to know you were satisfied with the Service of our staff and most of all you were pleased with the Resort. We cannot thank you enough for the great description of the hotel facilities you have made. Thank you very much! Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving,
we regret the inconvenience with A / A in your room, now we are doing some work to improve the rooms.
We really hope to host you again.
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones,tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,779
    1,086
    356
    174
    102
See reviews for
2,090
1,294
43
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel is located on beautiful location. Its on the beach and the beach is very long and beautiful. The water is amazing . Pools are very large and beautiful. Food is good. Make sure y'all go to stake house resturant its a must. Hotel is made for families with kids and its perfect for them. Over all its amazing place to go and get ur mind cleared.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellysenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Dear

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation to your friends, Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Stewart, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This resort is gorgeous. We had such a relaxing trip & amazing food!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylesgirl328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear:

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In an effort to celebrate my granddaughter's high school graduation, a family vacation in Mexico with my son and daughter and their families was planned. The family group totaled 12 people (7 adults and 5 children). With the assistance of a travel agent, Barcelo Tropical was selected for the week of June 21 - 26.

As we walked about the property, "Wow!" seemed to be the common word used by the family to express their surprise and pleasure over the beauty of the resort and the hospitality of the Barcelo Tropical staff. I wish for this review, I was a writer for a travel magazine in order that I could use the best words to describe the awesomeness of this resort. There is an open structural floor plan that allows you to enjoy the beauty of the gardens or the beach throughout the resort. The water park was perfect for my three grandsons, ages 10, 9, and 16 months old. The pool areas, the beach and the shows truly impressed everyone else. Additionally, the food in the restaurants and the buffet were excellent. We are talking now about returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Select a room with close proximity to the beach. You will spend a great amount of time at the pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 16 May 2016
Dear

We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed a the Barcelo Tropical from 6/29/12-7/5/12. This was actually our second time at the Barcelo and this trip was definitely as memorable as the first. The entire property was beautiful and clean; the restaurants were good, the beaches and the pools were amazing and the staff was very friendly. One of the few annoying aspects of this trip was upon our arrival we found out that they had already scheduled our dinner reservations for us at the specialty restaurants. I asked what that was about and they informed me that was their process. I asked how do i change my 5:30pm dinner appt. I am from NYC we eat much later and they informed me that I would have to see the concierge between 3-4pm. I thought this was a bit restrictive especially since my spouse is allergic to sea food and that was our first reservation.What happened to my "Choice" of specialty restaurants? The first concierge was not very friendly and told me that there were no other options available. So, i took my reservations and came back later and asked again when another more friendly face was available and was able to get what i needed. Another annoyance was getting maintenance and housekeeping to come to the room. My telephone did not work for 3 days(which made calling the front desk or housekeeping impossible!!). If we needed something we had to walk to the front desk. We asked to have the phone repaired at least 5 times before demanding that the manager address the problem. Only then did someone come to the room to replace the entire unit and fix the connection in the wall which he shared was bad. We needed extra pillows and that also took 2 days of cajoling and requesting before finally having them delivered. As previously mentioned the beds are not the most comfortable in the world but the sun, the food, the beach and the overall ambience of the property made everything OK. I would definitely return to the Barcelo. Have been to Rivera Maya numerous times and this is one of my favorite places. PS if you are a drinker, ask for the top shelf items being shown. If not they will use the cheapy stuff that is not very good.

Room Tip: definitely stay on the second floor (lots of walking and stairs to climb).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shangoodjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 16 May 2016
Dear:

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,303 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,501 reviews
2.6 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,820 reviews
26.3 km away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,099 reviews
2.8 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Property: Barcelo Maya Tropical
Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,103 - ₹ 31,031
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing