We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Fort Stewart, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This resort is gorgeous. We had such a relaxing trip & amazing food!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylesgirl328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
Dear:

We have read your opinion and really appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your comments regarding your stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,611
    1,001
    320
    157
    93
See reviews for
1,937
1,199
40
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

In an effort to celebrate my granddaughter's high school graduation, a family vacation in Mexico with my son and daughter and their families was planned. The family group totaled 12 people (7 adults and 5 children). With the assistance of a travel agent, Barcelo Tropical was selected for the week of June 21 - 26.

As we walked about the property, "Wow!" seemed to be the common word used by the family to express their surprise and pleasure over the beauty of the resort and the hospitality of the Barcelo Tropical staff. I wish for this review, I was a writer for a travel magazine in order that I could use the best words to describe the awesomeness of this resort. There is an open structural floor plan that allows you to enjoy the beauty of the gardens or the beach throughout the resort. The water park was perfect for my three grandsons, ages 10, 9, and 16 months old. The pool areas, the beach and the shows truly impressed everyone else. Additionally, the food in the restaurants and the buffet were excellent. We are talking now about returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Select a room with close proximity to the beach. You will spend a great amount of time at the pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 16 May 2016
Dear

We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed a the Barcelo Tropical from 6/29/12-7/5/12. This was actually our second time at the Barcelo and this trip was definitely as memorable as the first. The entire property was beautiful and clean; the restaurants were good, the beaches and the pools were amazing and the staff was very friendly. One of the few annoying aspects of this trip was upon our arrival we found out that they had already scheduled our dinner reservations for us at the specialty restaurants. I asked what that was about and they informed me that was their process. I asked how do i change my 5:30pm dinner appt. I am from NYC we eat much later and they informed me that I would have to see the concierge between 3-4pm. I thought this was a bit restrictive especially since my spouse is allergic to sea food and that was our first reservation.What happened to my "Choice" of specialty restaurants? The first concierge was not very friendly and told me that there were no other options available. So, i took my reservations and came back later and asked again when another more friendly face was available and was able to get what i needed. Another annoyance was getting maintenance and housekeeping to come to the room. My telephone did not work for 3 days(which made calling the front desk or housekeeping impossible!!). If we needed something we had to walk to the front desk. We asked to have the phone repaired at least 5 times before demanding that the manager address the problem. Only then did someone come to the room to replace the entire unit and fix the connection in the wall which he shared was bad. We needed extra pillows and that also took 2 days of cajoling and requesting before finally having them delivered. As previously mentioned the beds are not the most comfortable in the world but the sun, the food, the beach and the overall ambience of the property made everything OK. I would definitely return to the Barcelo. Have been to Rivera Maya numerous times and this is one of my favorite places. PS if you are a drinker, ask for the top shelf items being shown. If not they will use the cheapy stuff that is not very good.

Room Tip: definitely stay on the second floor (lots of walking and stairs to climb).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shangoodjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 16 May 2016
Dear:

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This facility is nothing short of gorgeous. The landscaping, architecture, and common areas are breathtaking and immaculate. The beach is clean and gorgeous, and the pool set-up can keep you busy all day. My daughter fell in love with the kids waterpark!

The rooms are very nice and clean. The beds are a little on the hard side, but I did not find them to be uncomfortable. Housekeeping was excellent, and the minibars are restocked daily. We had plenty of wildlife and nature right outside our door.

There were lots of activities for my daughter and I, and the resort was very kid friendly. We did enjoy the shows, which are not Broadway quality of course, but were lots of fun and performed by some pretty talented people nonetheless. At the end of a couple of them, they pull the kids up from the audience onto the stage, which was a special memory for her.

We also enjoyed the other activities near the pool area, such as giant chess, bowling, ping pong, and they also have an assortment of board games you can check out.

There were a couple of minor negatives. The food is pretty average, and it gets a little old by the end of the week. It's not bad and you will never go hungry, but don't expect 5 star quality from every dish in the buffet line. The restaurant staff was great for the most part though.

Don't get a room on the ground floor if you can avoid it. The floor is tile, and carries a lot of sound into your room. Walls between rooms are a little thin too- I'd recommend bringing earplugs if you need silence to sleep.

Despite the imperfections, we had a fantastic week at a phenomenal value. Love Mexico and the Barcelo!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faith12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 22 May 2016
DEAR

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtdani2
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Tropical from 6/26-7/1. Check in was smooth and we had no problems. Our rooms were not ready for another hour so we grabbed our bathing suits and headed for the pool.
ROOMS: Our room was a junior suite facing the tropical pool/ocean. I dont believe any rooms have a true ocean view as the hotel is set back too far. We could only see a glimpse of the ocean throught the palm trees...but no complaints. This hotel is HUGE....too big. It could take about 10-15 minutes to walk to the front lobby. Some of the rooms are very very far away from the pools/beach. We requested via email a 2nd floor room closest to the ocean/pool and recieved exactly what we asked for! We had a oversized balcony which was great. When the door is open A/C shuts off and the room becomes wet and slippery in minutes. Floors are very slippery when wet!
POOLS: The Colonial and Tropical have ajoining pools. The Tropical pool is the active pool, music, games, contests, water aerobics. This is where we spent most of our time. The entertainment staff did a great job. The Colonial pool is where the water playground is located and our kids enjoyed it very much. The Colonial side was much more quiet...no music,games.....Too Quiet for us!!! If you want a good spot poolside, be prepared to get your towels out there by 8am. The towel game sucks but you have no choice if you want a good spot.
BEACH: Beautiful:) I would recommend water shoes. There are some unexpected rocks and you could get cut. Take a walk out to the pier and feed the fish. You can also snorkel here. The water is beautiful and so many fish!!! Bring some bread from the buffet and feed them.
FOOD: Worst part of the trip. The Buffets are terrible. We are not picky eaters at all but some of the food they served was inedible!! We recieved 4 dinner reservations upon arrival. They were all for 5:30 which was very inconvienent but we didnt even attempt to change them because we heard what a hassle it was to try to change. Seafood was okay. Japanese was EXCELLENT!! Steak house was decent (dessert was the best!!!) Mexican was very good...get the mayan coffee, they put on a fire show when serving it. I recommend keeping all your dinner reservations because it's the only good meals you will get. The Beach grill and Indoor buffet are really bad! Breakfast was decent but the lunch/dinner needs major improvements!!!!!
NIGHT ENTERTAINMENT: The have a different theatre show every night @9:30. We went every night...nothing else to do. The shows were great and we truly enjoyed them (except for karoke night - too depressing and too serious).
LOCATION: About an hour travel from the airport. From what I have read/heard you can find a hotel much closer and the hotel will be just as beautiful with better food.

We would not return to this hotel as we feel there are too many other places to explore but we did have a great trip with great friends. We just prefer smaller resorts with more personalized service. We felt safe and were treated well by the staff.

Room Tip: make sure to get a jr. suite premium room...closest to the beach/pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
Dear Guest:
We really appreciate your kind comments regarding your past stay, We regret any inconvenience at the time of check in. Thanks for the description made about the facilities , I woud like to inform you that the hotel suffered some changes , we hope you can give us the opportunity to stay with us again .

Sincerely
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones,tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
0.4 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
30.7 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,978 reviews
20.0 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Property: Barcelo Maya Tropical
Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,876 - ₹ 28,734
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo and Prestigia so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing