We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,603)
Filter reviews
7,603 results
Traveller rating
4,751
1,793
617
265
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,751
1,793
617
265
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jalisco building seafood a la carte restaurants air transat mini golf other resorts great resort playa del carmen japanese restaurant bowling alley tropical pool santa fe kids water park barcelo maya family vacation palm trees water sports
Filter
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 7,603 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

I expected the same exaggerated promises and poor delivery of services I get from most hotels, no matter the price. Barcelo came through on every level and was a value. I will look for their name for my next travel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank V7850OUsofias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear V7850Ousofias:

Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon.

Best Regards.
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

I cannot say enough about this resort. I have been to many all inclusives before, but The Maya Barcelo by far exceeded my expectations. The resort was huge, and we had all the amenities of the Beach,Tropical, Caribe, and Palace, swimming in all the gorgeous pools, and the crystal clear waters of the ocean. The beach was stunning. A handler monitored the area with his falcon Bruhaha on his shoulder, making great friends of our boys! We ate at 7 alacarte restaurants, which was allowed I presume because we went early November in low season; and the resort was not very busy. Because there were at least 2 restaurants at each, we never paid the $20 extra to eat at the Palace. We didn't need to.The food was excellent for the most part. Our favourites were the Marenstrom, which was the seafood restaurant, and the Italian restaurant in the Mayan Mall. We also really enjoyed the show our chef presented in the Kyoto, the Japanese restaurant. Surprisingly the cocktails were not watered down. In fact they probably had too much alcohol in them. The wine both red and white was really good as well, and I am a fussy red wine drinker. We also frequented all the buffets open for lunch. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. 1 heard 1 review where a traveler thought there wasn't enough selection. I am not sure if he needed glasses, but it was the most extensive buffet I have seen anywhere, and I have traveled all over the world. The rooms were quite adequate, with a nicely stocked mini bar, welcome fruit tray, bottle of tequila, and liqueur, a lovely patio, and comfortable beds. We even had a crib upon request for our baby. We stayed in Jalisco on the first floor, so we were within close proximity to one of the pools which was nice. We always spent the afternoons there. We were 2 adults, a 9 month old, and 6 year old. Our 6 year old boy was kept busy searching for iguanas, and snorkeling with fish right from the beach. There were plenty of both to be found, to his delight. We did the dolphin experience in the Dolphinarium on the resort, and snorkeled in front of the Palace. This is where the sea turtles swam so close by we could touch them. It was the highlight of our week, because it was so unexpected. But please do not feed these creatures or the fish. They have plenty of food in their natural habitat. One woman tried to feed a sea turtle and it bit her finger drawing blood. We took a trip to Playa del Carmen, with stops at a tequila factory (shop) and a jewellery gift shop. They gave us gifts for stopping, but it was a gimmic to make us buy. We found Play del Carmen very touristy and not a great place for kids as our boy wanted to buy everything, running into every shop to locals delight. We far enjoyed the shopping at our resort, where the Mayan Mall is, and even more so the Mexican Plaza, where we could bargain somewhat and was much more relaxing. We managed to stay up late enough one night to watch The Diva show which was really good. This show had singers imitating famous people from Bruno Mars to Lady Gaga. Well done! I would have liked to watch the authentic Mexican review, and IL Divo (although I heard incredible voices on the way back to our room). Though it was all in Spanish, it was still lovely.The entire resort was well kept, clean, absolutely lush and green, and the staff was friendly. They were so helpful, especially during meal time. At breakfast Jose ran to get a high chair when he saw us coming into the restaurant. Hot coffee was immediately poured, and quite often he ran to get us juice to start our day. Of course all the staff always made a fuss over the baby! I would recommend this resort, and I want to go back to see the Mayan ruins in Tulum and the cenotes. Unfortunately, we were unable to go with the baby. But there will be a next time.

Room Tip: We requested Jalisco building when booking because it was away from the restaurants, and activities, so would be quiet
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Laurie:

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.
On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.
Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We have been coming to Barcelo for 10 years! We have been coming back for many reasons. The beach, the food, snorkeling, scuba diving are all wonderful but another reason is because of some of the outstanding employees. If you are going to go to the Colonial Breakfast Buffet ask for Francisco Caamal. He is absolutely excellent! He is always pleasant, works hard to accommodate any request, and just top notch! A great way to start out your day!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank _louanne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Louanne:

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.
Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

The Barcelo resorts at this location is exceptional. Guests are allowed to use all 5 resorts which are side by side with exceptional white powdery sand beaches. Facilities are clean, food is great and staff are friendly. I recommend this place too anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GuyC1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Guyc1067:

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Best Regards
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

second time better than first beautiful resort fantastic staff great professional service.Good food.
Thanks for very good vacation we will return 100%..Water park isnt includet you have to pay.Very good disco.
place to improve internet

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank czester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Czester:

Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon.

Best Regards.
La Gerencia
jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews