We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just go back after a 2 week stay at Barcelo Maya Beach. Incredible resort. Fabulous grounds with lots of walking which helped work off the great food at the buffets. Great family resort with lots to do for kids. The beach is gorgeous with snorkelling just off the beach, or at the pier. We did the upgrade and it was worth it for the 2 weeks we were there, with the 2 additional buffets and unlimited ala cartes. Of the several ala cartes, the Italian was most disappointing, but it could have been what we ordered. Rooms were exceptionally clean. Entertainment was good. This is a huge resort so it was quite impersonal with regards to getting to know the staff. Front desk staff were friendly but not overly welcoming.
I can't understand why anyone would have any complaints about this resort. It is beautiful, the food is awesome with incredible variety. We would go back anytime and probably will.

Room Tip: If you are booking Barcelo Beach, try for the Uxmal complex. It is a little more central and close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,018
    2,174
    731
    332
    234
See reviews for
2,544
2,704
69
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Travelled to the Barcelo Maya Beach my 2 Teenagers (14-16) and my wife. Fantastic place. I did a lot of research before booking and was looking for a place that had a great beach and lots of room to go with it. This was the place for us, 5 pools to choose from, good restaurants the Steak house being the best of them, 2 KM of white sand beach, pool bars everywhere, snorkeling right off the peer which seperates both beaches. Let me tell you the kids didn't want to leave. We walked around every night and felt very safe. Entertainment was OK the MIcheal Jackson show being the absolute best ( you would swear he was not dead but hiding in Mexico). The staff were always very pleasant and hard working, these people never stop. We had a room in the TULUM building on the 2 floor room #3215, very clean and close to the pool and beach (I booked this in advance by sending them an Email with my preferences), it was perfect. Breakfast, and lunch were at the buffet which was OK, in the morning I would go straight to the Omelet station and your choice of toppings "delicious" lots of fresh fruit and nobody got sick. This place was perfect. The Spa treatment right on the beach by the ocean was so relaxing. If you have kids and are looking for a place to take them in Mexico this is it, and if you really want to give the thrill of a lifetime make sure you do the Swim with the Dolphins at Delphinus at Xcaret. your children will love you forever. Kuddo's to the staff at the resort and all the locals who make visiting the Riviera Maya a pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: After booking and having your reference number send of an email requesting your preferences, IE clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, N-B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our family with two kids age 15 and 12 just returned home yesterday from a wonderful vacation at the Barcelo Maya BR. We absolutely loved it, the food was very good with lots of choice at the buffet. The two restaurants "A la carte" Mexican and Spanish also had delicious food... The only thing is you only had 3 choices of restaurants, the third one being the "Steak house". We couldn't go to that one because it was all booked even if we checked on our first morning there. The staff was very nice and the service was excellent. Our room was nice and clean with plenty of drink refills (water, juice, beer) every day. The landscape was well maintained and very rich with greens and flowers! There were wonderful little pathways to the beach and to other places on the resort. The pools were absolutely clean and beautiful with lots of animation all day.
And now, the BEACH. It was amazinly beautiful with nice sand and huge palm trees if you were looking for shade. There was plenty of chairs available at any time of day, no need to get up at 6:00 to reserve one! And NO, you don't need water shoes to swim in the ocean as the bottom is very smooth and sandy. If you like to snorkle, you can do so directly on the resort as they have a little wharf with very clear water and plenty of fish to see.... So don't forget your snorkle kit. Our kids just loved to swim there!
The grill bar on the beach was very good with lots of choices of foods.
The 18 holes mini-golf course was also lots of fun and beautiful in a little forest of palm trees!
And finally, if you like tennis, they have 4 courts which are very nice but I suggest you go early in the day as the sun is not as hot. You can also reserve a course in advance.
I would definately recommend this resort to a friend or anybody and would certainly return!

Room Tip: Rooms with smaller numbers are closer to the beach, example 2203 is close to the beach and 2263 is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our family of 3 travelled with 5 other families (all high school aged) the last week of March. All of us had the Jr Suite Seaview Premium, and we thought it was worth it - this allowed us dining/bar access to the Tropical/Colonial resort, and included internet, and access to a special concierge room behind the front desk. The grounds were beautiful and having mulitple resorts on the same complex allowed us to take nice walks. Great tennis courts. Beautiful pools. Grounds were really beautiful with lighting at night. Best beach of the whole complex is by the Beach & Caribe resorts. Nice (free) pool aerobics, yoga/stretching on the beach. Painted pottery (not free) but very enjoyable to make our own souvenirs. All staff was extremely friendly except the bartenders at the pool bars. Shows were nice but too repetitive. There are plenty of palm trees so even though we had to laugh about moving our chairs, we had no problem finding shade when we'd had too much sun. Did two specialty restaurants, French/Seafood (okay), Steak (pretty good).

Room Tip: Jr Suite Seaview Premium, Copa building - overlooks the pool (and beach beyond that), never had any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CedarRapidsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My son and I travelled in January of this year. We found checkin to be very quick despite being dropped off with a busload of others. We were offered fruity frozen drinks while waiting in line. Our room was fine and we had a nice view of the forrest where we could see all sorts of wildlife which was alot of fun. The grounds are amazing and very well kept, there were always gardeners looking after the grounds. The beach was outstanding and there were always chairs to be found. I like the sun and my son like the shade and we could always find a place that catered to both needs.
We only ever ate in the buffets and we quite enjoyed them. There was always something that we could find to eat. My only complaint is of the white wine it reminded me of soap.The waiters were always very attentive and helpful and were very patient with us when we tried out our spanish on them.
We had an issue with burnt out lighbulbd one evening and we called for maintenence and they came within about 10 minutes and took care of it for us.
The evening shows were also very interesting and we really enjoyed them almost every night. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and in fact we will try to be back there again next year if we can work it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elledub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,427 reviews
0.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
0.6 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#4 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
17.0 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,066 reviews
17.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach

Property: Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,474 - ₹ 36,964
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Mexico
Barcelo Maya Resort
Catalonia Rivera Maya
Maya Beach Resort
Barcelo Beach Maya Mayan Resort Riviera
Barcelo Maya Beach Resort Cancun
Hotel Barcelo Maya Beach Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing