We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Aventura Spa Palace Resort - LOVED” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Aventura Spa Palace Resort - LOVED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I'll make this one short and sweet :) I went to the Aventura Spa Palace Resort in January with a group of about 300 people for "The Great Escape." It's a group vacation that features country music stars each year that Fox World Travel plans. This year Neal McCoy, Phil Vassar and Jason Michael Carroll joined us and put on private concerts, autograph sessions, joined us in the pool, etc.. Talk about the trip of a lifetime! I'm still raving about it. The convention center in between the Aventura Spa Palace and the Cove Palace was just perfect for these concerts, although we would have loved to be outside had the weather cooperated! Overall the vacation was an ultimate blast. This resort was very well kept. It is very large and spread out, especially when you consider you can go to the Cove or the Spa side as adults, but overall I loved the layout. The pool areas was right in the middle and it was large enough, that you could be relaxing quietly in one area reading a book, but could still feel like you were a part of the activities going on across the way with the Entertainment staff (just in case you wanted to all of a sudden join in :).

While this resort is not in an area with beaches and doesn't have any strip of beach to casually walk along, you cannot beat the natural beauty of it. The palapas at sunrise, the bright blue lagoon, the natural landscaping, AH, simply breathtaking. The grounds were so well kept. I was impressed. Dining was very good. My favorites were the Italian Restaurant, Steak Restaurant on Cove side and the breakfast buffet. Made to order omelets every morning. It was slower service for the ala carte dining, but hey, you're on vacation. I went to the the buffet for dinner one night on the Cove side, and it was YUMMY! Steak and made to order pizza, shrimp, etc. Room service was quick.

The SPA services were very good, and the perks of the $1500 resort credit couldn't be beat. Talk about a great chance to pamper yourself! You could even use part of the credit for swimming with the dolphins, which is normally one of the most expensive excursions in the area. Sweet perk.

All in all I just LOVED this resort. It's turning into the Hard Rock Riviera Maya soon and I think it will provide a unique vacation experience in Riviera Maya. I would recommend this resort to my friends looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: It's so much more convenient if you can request a room with a pool/gardenview in the center area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
At Aventura Palace nothing is more important than being part of an unforgettable vacation experience to our guests and we are very glad to know you had an amazing time at our resort and that our facilities pleased you.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,827
    1,088
    345
    241
    178
See reviews for
614
2,466
31
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Adventura Spa Palace.  It was a fabulous vacation as usual with Palace resorts.  

We had a great view from our concierge room.  It was clean and well maintained.  The service at this hotel is really good and the staff works to make all guests happy!  

We were celebrating our 14th Anniversary while at the resort.  Maricela in Public Relations helped set up a special dinner at La Tratorria.  We arrived for our meal with flowers on the table and special decorations!  When we returned to our room, a flower-strewn jacuzzi was drawn and champagne and chocolate covered strawberries we're waiting for us!

We also experienced other areas of exceptional service that I wanted to point out.  We were lucky enough to have Jose Isabel Nahvat May as our waiter on 3 different occasions.  Once at the romantic lobster dinner at the beach and twice at El Grecco.  Jose was a fabulous server and made our dining experience exceptional!  We also really enjoyed our interactions with the entertainment staff each week.  I wanted to especially call out Victor, Eduardo, and Joquan  being truly special and able to engage the guests in a pleasant manner.

The one disappointment for us was that the Cove side was closed to us during our visit due to the rental to the Pesach group.  This limited access to only 4 restaurants which is one of the reasons why guests choose the larger resorts.  Luckily, we were aware before we arrived so weren't shocked, but understand that this was not the case for all guests!  They did do a good job of attempting to minimize this issue by placing the most popular items from the Coveside restaurants and providing those menus at the Spa restaurants for added options.

We always love the exceptional services at the Spa.  It is a gorgeous facility with lots of fabulous staff.  While visiting we took advantage of the Golden Suite for our treatments.  We always attempt to book at least one visit to the Golden Suite during visits to resorts with this offering.  The Golden Suites offer the sauna, steam rooms, and jacuzzis in a private environment for couples.  We were attended to by Monica and Guadeloupe while in this suite!  They were both excellent therapists!  My husband even attempted to book another massage with Monica later in the week due to her superb technique.  We also took advantage of several other services including massages, manicures, and spa deluxe pedicures!  

We truly enjoyed our time at the Adventura Spa visit and will definitely return to this beautifully landscaped property in the near future!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LivNXS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are really glad to know that you had a wonderful and enjoyable experience at our resort.

Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are very happy to know you enjoyed so much the Spa and your expectations were fulfilled.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again here at Aventura Palace.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I waited for a few weeks after our vacation before placing this review. We send an official complaint to the management of Palace Resorts and so far we have not received a response.

This was our second time visiting a resort from Palace Resorts. After experiencing an amazing time on our first visit in November 2011, we joined the membership. To our disappointment Aventura Spa was not near the expectation that we had at Sun Palace.

We understand that incidents may occur during a trip, and in any other circumstances we would have not complained, but after experiencing such an array of troubles we could not permit the incidents to go unnoticed.

As a member we were told that transportation from the airport to and from the hotel was being provided by Palace Resorts.

We booked the trip by the first week of February, and until March 16th (flying out on March 17th), we did not receive any confirmation for the transportation between Cancun airport and Aventura Spa, therefore we had to take initiative and called their 1800 number, and after being disconnected a couple of times we were able to talk to an agent which confirmed our transportation.

We arrived on March 17th at the Cancun airport at 4:20 PM and did not get to Aventura Spa until 7:50 PM. There were no signs or personal guiding us to where to take the transportation. After struggling with many sales people finally someone told us that for Palace Resorts we should look for "Traffic". After identifying Traffic and showing the attendant the paper work we stood in line for approximately 1 hour with the attendant telling us every 5 to 10 minutes that the van would be here in 5 minutes. Finally the van came and it was so packed that 2 passengers had to seat in front together with the driver, which made the long drive very uncomfortable.

Upon our arrival at the Aventura Spa, which was approximately 3 ½ hours later after we landed, we were told that we did not have a reservation at the Spa but at the Aventura Cove because the Aventura Spa was full. We told them that we would not book at the Cove because that particular resort includes kids and they kept insisting that the Aventura Spa was completely booked. After a long dialog they decided to accommodate us at the Spa.

On Sunday, March 18th, at 9:30 AM we went to the activities desk to meet Patricio, the person that was assigned to help us to plan the activities and book the spa services. We waited for 20 minutes for Patricio since he was coming from Aventura Cove. We were planning to use most if not all the 1500 credits in the spa, since this is the only resort that allows us to do that. Patricio instructed us to book the spas services at the Spa, which we immediately headed to. Our surprise at the Spa was there was only one desk and that attendant was busy with another guest. After waiting for almost 50 minutes we got called and were shocked to find out that there was no availability for any spa services until Wednesday. So without any other choice we booked various services at the spa from Wednesday to Friday, and two services on Friday.

We brought the dissatisfaction to Patricio who told us to talk to Elias, the manager at the time. Elias offered us an upgrade to the Concierge level. After checking the room at the Concierge level we decided to stay where we were since the rooms were exactly the same and we did not want to go through the hassle to pack and repack our belongings. We then requested that instead of moving if they could bring the amenities that were part of Concierge level to our room and we specifically told them not to bother with big items. Elias agreed with the request and he made a few calls. The clock with the iPod, the "beach bag", special menu and aromatherapy burner arrived. Throughout the day we kept requesting the other amenities and were constantly informed that we did not qualify and received messages on the telephone in the room that we needed to do paperwork for the concierge amenities. In meantime, staff kept bringing the concierge items one at a time. For example the shampoo arrives and we ask for the hair conditioner and to make matter worse they bring used items like the shampoo/conditioner that was half used.

One night we tried to order dessert from the Restaurant menu, it was 10PM and the employee on the other end kept complaining that it would take him a long time because he needed to stand in line in order to get the dessert for us and finally he succeed in talking us out of ordering from the room service. Knowing that time might be a factor the next day we decided to order earlier, when we ordered a bottle of sparkling wine and a dessert the employee told us that our menu was outdated.

We got so frustrated with the service that finally we went upstairs to the executive offices and talked to Karina Vega at the Member Service. After hearing our nightmare Ms. Vega agreed to transfer us to Sun Palace the next day.

Since we had to cancel all the spa services at the Aventura Spa we decided to attend the "update/sales" for the Palace Elite at the Beach Palace so we could have an extra 200 credits for the usage of the spa. We discussed our terrible experience to Jose Elias Zahoul and Diana Gomez, Administrative Supervisor and they suggested that we write this letter to Palace Resort Management.

Please note that during our stay at the Aventura Spa, the service was non-existent at the restaurants and pools. The spa was empty in spite of not having open time for the services. Obviously, the issue was not the resort being full, but the lack of personnel or qualified personnel.

In summary we observed and experienced the following:
• No confirmation for the whole vacation week including the transportation from the Cancun airport to the resort.
• Telephone call to the travel agency gets disconnected very often.
• Waiting time from the Cancun airport transportation was way too long, over 1 ½ hour.
• Uncomfortable transportation due to overload of passengers.
• Reservation was not in the correct resort.
• No spa services available.
• No services at the restaurants and by the pool.
• Mediocre food at the breakfast buffet and restaurants.
• Lack of room services.
• Housekeeping was very poor, used products and outdated room service menu in our room.
• Untrained employees throughout the resort.

We understand that the company is having some sort of rearrangement, and that during this period, the service, and/or personnel might experience difficulties as training needs to be implemented. However, we as a guest and member, which vacation time are planned carefully in advance and time away from work are so scarce and precious, we found it absolutely despicable that management knowing the issues that certain resorts were having did not, first, informed us about the situation and second, given the choice to opt out, and choose from others resorts during their transition. Thus, we felt that we were treated by the Palace Resort with dishonesty and were totally misled.

As a guest and member we had to literally ask for every service. And due to the lack of personnel and personnel's experience we wasted most of the time waiting when in need to make request or appointments such as concierge amenities, room services, service for drinks/coffee, tour and spa. Consequently most of the time that we were at Aventura Spa was lost. It was very unpleasant the whole experience, by having to "beg" for services that we were entitle to enjoy. Moreover, if our experience was what we had in Aventura Spa we would have never purchased the membership back in November 2011.
Sincerely,

S and J
Los Angeles

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We joined a group of our friends at the resort after they had been there for a couple of days. We were lucky to have been moved from the Cove side to the Spa side as it allowed for more credits to be used in the spa. It was a little confusing when we arrived as we were shuttled from lobby to lobby a couple of times until they provided us with our room. The staff was very friendly. This resort is huge and when we arrived at night and agreed to meet our friends in the lobby it took us a few minutes to figure out where we were going. I have been to many resorts over the years and I would have to say this one was a little complicated to figure out. We love walking around the resorts when on vacation so we like a large resort. I would warn people who have trouble getting around that although they have trolleys they don’t go by often as they do in other resorts so unless you call the lobby you could end up having to walk it.

The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. We were close to the pool which made claiming a good sunny spot easy in the mornings. The pool on the spa side isn’t that big but the Cove side is huge. We enjoyed the smaller pool as the service was excellent and a couple of times during the week they had a very good rock band that would play for a couple of hours during the afternoon. I also enjoyed the fact that they had plenty of brand name drinks….just ask for it. If you don’t they will give you the local stuff and if you are a gin drinker …..it will taste like bubble gum. We aren’t big drinkers but we did enjoy having a few drinks by the pool one day and with the excellent service I found I perhaps had one too many.

There is no beach and there is no way anyone would have had me swimming in the lagoon. They do have a bus that takes you to the Palace in Playa Del Carmen which is a very nice resort within walking distance of the main stripe. The beach there is excellent and you can eat and drink at this location as well. Just check in with the bell boy on your way into the hotel.

The food at the Palace was alright. Not the best I have had in Mexico but you can find something to eat no matter how picky you are. The steakhouse was my favorite. I think the rest weren’t that memorable. Everyone goes crazy for the Italian but we found our food was served cold but that was perhaps because we were a group of 10 that night.

The disco was the most lively I have seen on a resort. There was a conference for a local company for a couple of days while we were there so many were at the disco at night. We enjoyed watching them salsa.

We used many of our credits at the spa. We enjoyed our messages. My only suggestion is book early in the week to make sure you get what you want as it will fill up. We also used some credits for the dolphin swim which was fun. I did it because it cost me nothing out of pocket as it has never really been something I “had” to do but I would do it again for no cost.

Overall this hotel is good for the value. Yes they will try to sell you a time share. We just never returned the calls from the lobby and so we never had to hear the pitch. Are friends did and wasted about 2 hours of their time. They got a lobster dinner on the beach out of it but they didn’t feel it was worth the 2 hours they lost.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the middle of the resort. Because the hotel is so big if you are on one side or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mandy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are very glad to know you had an enjoyable experience at our resort. Our main goal at Aventura Palace is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know our service was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed using your resort credits in spa and dolphins swim.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you at any of our resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our second stay at Aventura Spa. Loved it just as much as the first time! Love the clean and beautiful property.

Our room was in a great location, overlooking the volleyball pool. The only down side was in the afternoon if you wanted a nap. We could clearly hear the band or music from the main pool even with the slider door closed. I think the rooms are big enough. We didn't spend much time in there anyway.

We enjoyed the martini bar out over the lagoon in the evening. Great place to meet up with new friends after dinner.

We visited in mid February and the weather wasn't up to what I prefer. It was a little chilly and mostly cloudy most days. The pools were too cold as well. Most vacations we spend all of our time in the pool but I only got in twice this week.

Activities and the activities staff are great. We played water volleyball, water polo, blackjack, bocce, sand volleyball, snorkel tours...lots of fun. Band by the pool was ok. They played the same songs each time they came. Snack bar by the pool has made to order sandwiches/hamburgers as well as nachos, guac etc.

The spa is awesome, our favorite part. We each had 3 massages and the quality was great for all but one of them.

Our fave restaurant was MoMo No Hana. We would have sushi and appetizers and then share a main dish followed by the vanilla fried ice cream. We also enjoyed La Hacienda.

Interested to return again in a few years to see how the Hard Rock name has changed it :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smch916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,151 reviews
3.9 km away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,323 reviews
37.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
26.9 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
35.9 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,278 - ₹ 50,231
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing