We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,091)
Filter reviews
2,091 results
Traveller rating
1,250
461
230
82
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,250
461
230
82
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset grill european plan ocean view upgrade facing the street swim up bar chili beans breakfast buffet over christmas all inclusive package coffee pot blue shrimp mexican families hotel zone ocean side large pool the beach is great water pressure
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,091 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2019

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. the staff is very friendly and courteous. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Bartenders like Hugo and Mejero Ambrosio go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied. This was my second year going and plan to go again. The town was safe as we ate in town twice even though we had all inclusive.

Room tip: higher rooms have less noise
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 51curtisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

This is our 1st trip to Ixtapa & it definitely will not be our lastt. We loved it all from day one. The hotel & it’s employees were just amazing-wonderful service. We loved being able to walk to a multitude of fun & great restaurants! The shopping was such fun at the markets.We
leave with beautiful memories of the friendly faces, beaches, pools & bars.

Room tip: Room with an ocean view ! The best
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

This was our first trip to Ixtapa and while we were a bit reluctant to travelhere,,, our stay was excellent. The Hotel Emporio and it’s staff were excellent. Rooms were great, pool was perfect, poolbar was fun and very attentive to our group and the staff were absolutely the best. Shopping the local shops across the street was perfect, safe and convenient. Never once felt threathened

Will definitely do this trip again!

Room tip: Ocean view rooms are great,,,,, beautiful sunsets
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019 via mobile

We spent another great January week at the Emporio Ixtapa. The staff works extremely hard to keep the hotel spotless and the guests happy. The hotel was full but the facilities are just large enough to acomodate the crowds. Most of the guests are middle class mexican families but most of the staff also speaks English. Although the food in the hotel is great we love eating at all the resteraunts across the street and in Zihuatanejo. Food and drink prices in the hotel are quite reasonable although most guests are all inclusive. The location is great right in the center of Palamar Beach. There is usually a good volleyball game anyone can play in, and there is always one next door at The Dorado you can join in. The same Americans come back to this hotel year after year and now there are more Canadians. The hotel provides entertainments almost every night geared to Mexicans. The pool always has the upbeat music played by the activity staff and the sound of children playing. In the ocean recliners the sound of the surf is always present. This is the first year I made my own reservations by Email and that worked out fine. I can't wait for next January.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

I think that my review will be like most others. The service here is outstanding. The people go out of their way to remember your names and what you like. The location is excellent, right across the street from the main area of Ixtapa. It is a really neat little town that really is geared towards tourists. I think the prices are a little inflated compared to Zihua. However, it’s a great place to take a stroll at night and enjoy some food and drink and not worry about safety walking back to the hotel.

Although we did have the all-inclusive plan at the hotel, we got a little bored of the food. They do have a grill restaurant but it is still a buffet of barbecued meats. Quite tasty though. Otherwise, most food selections were Mexican style food and, although yummy, I would have loved to see a pasta bar, a larger selection of fruits/veggies and more ice cream. Of course, I’m just being picky and speaking solely of my personal taste. But don’t come expecting a selection like you would find at the sprawling buffets of the Riu or Bahia chain of hotels, for example. The desserts, by the way, were all excellent!

The beach is a fabulous walking beach! The Emporio has tons of palapas by the beach which were never all occupied. There were also many shade umbrellas by the pool, however, the pool area gets extremely busy. There were many, many children here, especially over the weekend, and it was extremely noisy.

Speaking of noisy, nights are quite noisy at this resort. We like to sleep with our windows open to hear the waves on the shore but they were drowned out by music both from our hotel and the surrounding area. A few nights the noise went on till 4 AM. If you want a quiet vacation, you may not want to stay here.

All in all, I would probably stay here again if the price were right. We tend to choose the all inclusive option for convenience but will plan on eating a few more dinners around Zihua as they have some great options!

A special mention to Rosa, Rogelio y Ambrosio who were all great. However, there was no one who wasn’t great!

One small complaint...our charter got us into the hotel at 10:00 pm and our plane wasn’t departing Ixtapa until 8:00 pm the following week. Of course, we needed to check out at noon despite the fact that our transfer to the airport would not be coming to the hotel until 5 PM. This is not unusual. However, what IS unusual is that they wanted to cut off our all-inclusive bracelets at checkout time. This would mean we were not entitled to any more food or amenities at the hotel while we waited for our bus. We spoke to our Sunwing rep and got this remedied, but understand that this is still an issue across the board. The hotel should look into changing this policy as they do not feed us for the entire day of our arrival so it really should be allowed on the last day.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank familyof4Nkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews