We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
599
388
109
36
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
388
109
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelinfinity pooloyster bara la carteslobby barthe mexican restaurantjacuzzi tubwalk in closetplaya lindafloating dockreservation officewater taxisunwing repboard walkfamily poolbike tourspin class
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Traveled with my husband and we enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very nice and always there for you if you need anything. My favorite is our room..very clean, good size and the view is spectacular. Buffet food is ok, but the food at the restaurants are very good, if you're lucky to get a reservation. Overall, it was a great experience.

Stayed: September 2017
5  Thank qtp2t2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our first visit to Mexico, and our first experience at an all-inclusive. Somehow other people seemed to find things to complain about but we sure did not. This resort was amazing. The staff were wonderful, the views were outstanding, the food was excellent.

We came to Mexico hoping to eat Mexican food every day and we were not disappointed. With an endless supply of fresh fruit, fresh chips, and amazing guac and salsa, I don’t know how anyone ever could have wanted for more even if they weren’t that interested in the rest of the buffet offerings. Sure, there was a small dessert selection (we were usually too full to even consider it), but you could always ask for ice cream!

The beach is small but was fairly shady so it was a nice place to hang out if the pool was crowded, and there were multiple public beaches around that were easily accessible. We generally avoided the infinity pool in the morning and would go later in the day after some chairs opened up and the sun was not quite so “burny”. Took the bus into Ixtapa once which wasn’t much to write home about, but next time will definitely venture into Zihua which seemed like it has more to offer. The crocodile reserve a few blocks down the road at Playa Linda is definitely a must see. We purchased tickets to the Nexus Eco-Combo tour which was very well worth the money. We learned so much about the area and Mexico as a country from our awesome tour guide. Definitely a trip highlight.

The beach at Playa Quieta was a great place to walk at sunset, it’s about 3km round trip from the hotel to the Capella and back on the beach so a nice walk after a big meal. On our last night (Wednesday) we came across the Club Med turtle release on Playa Quieta which was kind of cool to watch.

We took the kayak/snorkeling trip from the Azul next door to Ixtapa Island. Bring water if you do this! It was worth doing. Next time we will take the water taxi over to the island and stay for longer and swim at the beaches. We unfortunately didn’t bring extra towels with us on this trip so couldn’t really use beaches off the resort as you can’t take the hotel towels off property. (In hindsight, we probably could have bought some cheap towels at the beach market, but didn't think to do so.)

As mentioned, we loved the food for the most part. It was actually a toss up for me whether I preferred the buffet or the Mexican (Flor de Agave and Oyster Bar) a la cartes. The buffet had a little taco bar area where you could always get Mexican food at breakfast and supper, even if the theme of the meal was not Mexican. We had some delicious chorizo and potato tostadas there one night, followed by a plate of fresh fruit and some coconut ice cream, somehow that simple meal was the culinary highlight of the trip for me. The Oyster Bar was probably our favourite a la carte, definitely go there for all three meals. We would classify ourselves as foodies and lovers of Mexican food and we were actually quite shocked when we heard other guests complain about the food because we were overall really impressed. We did skip the Asian a la carte, and weren't overly impressed with the Italian restaurant, but as mentioned, we did not go to Mexico to eat Asian/Italian food, which we can get in abundance at home.

We were so happy with our trip and our stay at this resort and have just been gushing about it to anyone who will listen after returning to Canada. We can’t wait to return to Mexico, to Guerrero, to the Azul Ixtapa Grand again. I am late in posting this review as it is already September, but my memories of this trip have not faded and if I'm looking forward to winter at all, it is so that we can take another beautiful trip to this lovely place.

Room Tip: My husband and I have different last names so they gave us two double beds instead of a king- next time will call ahead to ask for king
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
15  Thank welikeroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Overall we had a really great trip. I would have rated this at a 4.5 if I were able to but it was slightly closer to a 4 than a 5. We would definitely recommend this resort to others looking for a relaxing family get away.

The good: the grounds were immaculate and beautiful, the views from the room were spectacular, the rooms themselves were large and clean, the food was particularly delicious at the Mexican and Italian a la cartes, the guided kayak trip was fun, we had family photos taken by the resort photographer that turned out great

The not so good: the beds were really uncomfortable, the variety at the buffet was extremely limited (but the quality of the food was overall good), the beach was small and rocky with a grey water runoff stream right through the middle (even though there were other beautiful beach options close by it would have been nice to have one closer)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank citygirlyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017


Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Had a very pleasant week here - from the moment of check-in we were impressed with the service and friendliness of staff. We were actually greeted by an all-female mariachi band and offered a cold drink. The room was very spacious and nicely appointed, with a large indoor hot tub. All rooms are ocean-front, which was amazing for sunrises and sunsets.
As far as dining goes - the main buffet restaurant was perfect for all the meals, plenty to choose from, always fresh and served with a smiling face (THANK YOU CARLOS FOR MAKING OUR MORNINGS SO PLEASANT). At breakfast there was even live harp music! We checked the Japanese a la carte, which was excellent for supper. We also ate twice at the outdoor restaurant on the boardwalk, which again was splendid!
The resort grounds are well maintained and manicured, we enjoyed our walks through the property. Because there isn't much for beach access from this hotel, we went to a public beach nearby, and crossed over to the island on a banana boat, which was so much fun! Perfect snorkelling there in crystal-clear waters.
The absolutely best part for us was the adult-only pool with jacuzzi tubs and quiet hiding area from noisy younger crowds, but one had to go down early and claim a chair for the day, as the numbers were limited.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bogna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017


Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We spent our wedding anniversary here, knowing it was a suite... but the reception and personalized attention for our celebration was far beyond our expectations!
Petals, chocolates,etc.! And a bubble bath!! Coffee on our balcony in the mornings to listen to the waves and the birds waking up at sunrise... Priceless!!! It's the simple things in life!


Yes, the beach is different (a lot of minerals make it dark and dirty looking, but is actually a wonderful treat for your feet!), but the firmness of the sand makes it such a pleasure to walk around!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews