We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Out stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The whole hotel is super clean, staff very friendly. The food at the buffets have a very large variety of options of good quality food. They also have the restaurants which are quite nice. The infinity pool is nice with the beds to relax.

Stayed: September 2017
4  Thank jomis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially –

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Traveled with my husband and we enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very nice and always there for you if you need anything. My favorite is our room..very clean, good size and the view is spectacular. Buffet food is ok, but the food at the restaurants are very good, if you're lucky to get a reservation. Overall, it was a great experience.

Stayed: September 2017
5  Thank qtp2t2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our first visit to Mexico, and our first experience at an all-inclusive. Somehow other people seemed to find things to complain about but we sure did not. This resort was amazing. The staff were wonderful, the views were outstanding, the food was excellent.

We came to Mexico hoping to eat Mexican food every day and we were not disappointed. With an endless supply of fresh fruit, fresh chips, and amazing guac and salsa, I don’t know how anyone ever could have wanted for more even if they weren’t that interested in the rest of the buffet offerings. Sure, there was a small dessert selection (we were usually too full to even consider it), but you could always ask for ice cream!

The beach is small but was fairly shady so it was a nice place to hang out if the pool was crowded, and there were multiple public beaches around that were easily accessible. We generally avoided the infinity pool in the morning and would go later in the day after some chairs opened up and the sun was not quite so “burny”. Took the bus into Ixtapa once which wasn’t much to write home about, but next time will definitely venture into Zihua which seemed like it has more to offer. The crocodile reserve a few blocks down the road at Playa Linda is definitely a must see. We purchased tickets to the Nexus Eco-Combo tour which was very well worth the money. We learned so much about the area and Mexico as a country from our awesome tour guide. Definitely a trip highlight.

The beach at Playa Quieta was a great place to walk at sunset, it’s about 3km round trip from the hotel to the Capella and back on the beach so a nice walk after a big meal. On our last night (Wednesday) we came across the Club Med turtle release on Playa Quieta which was kind of cool to watch.

We took the kayak/snorkeling trip from the Azul next door to Ixtapa Island. Bring water if you do this! It was worth doing. Next time we will take the water taxi over to the island and stay for longer and swim at the beaches. We unfortunately didn’t bring extra towels with us on this trip so couldn’t really use beaches off the resort as you can’t take the hotel towels off property. (In hindsight, we probably could have bought some cheap towels at the beach market, but didn't think to do so.)

As mentioned, we loved the food for the most part. It was actually a toss up for me whether I preferred the buffet or the Mexican (Flor de Agave and Oyster Bar) a la cartes. The buffet had a little taco bar area where you could always get Mexican food at breakfast and supper, even if the theme of the meal was not Mexican. We had some delicious chorizo and potato tostadas there one night, followed by a plate of fresh fruit and some coconut ice cream, somehow that simple meal was the culinary highlight of the trip for me. The Oyster Bar was probably our favourite a la carte, definitely go there for all three meals. We would classify ourselves as foodies and lovers of Mexican food and we were actually quite shocked when we heard other guests complain about the food because we were overall really impressed. We did skip the Asian a la carte, and weren't overly impressed with the Italian restaurant, but as mentioned, we did not go to Mexico to eat Asian/Italian food, which we can get in abundance at home.

We were so happy with our trip and our stay at this resort and have just been gushing about it to anyone who will listen after returning to Canada. We can’t wait to return to Mexico, to Guerrero, to the Azul Ixtapa Grand again. I am late in posting this review as it is already September, but my memories of this trip have not faded and if I'm looking forward to winter at all, it is so that we can take another beautiful trip to this lovely place.

Room Tip: My husband and I have different last names so they gave us two double beds instead of a king- next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
15  Thank welikeroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Overall we had a really great trip. I would have rated this at a 4.5 if I were able to but it was slightly closer to a 4 than a 5. We would definitely recommend this resort to others looking for a relaxing family get away.

The good: the grounds were immaculate and beautiful, the views from the room were spectacular, the rooms themselves were large and clean, the food was particularly delicious at the Mexican and Italian a la cartes, the guided kayak trip was fun, we had family photos taken by the resort photographer that turned out great

The not so good: the beds were really uncomfortable, the variety at the buffet was extremely limited (but the quality of the food was overall good), the beach was small and rocky with a grey water runoff stream right through the middle (even though there were other beautiful beach options close by it would have been nice to have one closer)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank citygirlyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017


Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Had a very pleasant week here - from the moment of check-in we were impressed with the service and friendliness of staff. We were actually greeted by an all-female mariachi band and offered a cold drink. The room was very spacious and nicely appointed, with a large indoor hot tub. All rooms are ocean-front, which was amazing for sunrises and sunsets.
As far as dining goes - the main buffet restaurant was perfect for all the meals, plenty to choose from, always fresh and served with a smiling face (THANK YOU CARLOS FOR MAKING OUR MORNINGS SO PLEASANT). At breakfast there was even live harp music! We checked the Japanese a la carte, which was excellent for supper. We also ate twice at the outdoor restaurant on the boardwalk, which again was splendid!
The resort grounds are well maintained and manicured, we enjoyed our walks through the property. Because there isn't much for beach access from this hotel, we went to a public beach nearby, and crossed over to the island on a banana boat, which was so much fun! Perfect snorkelling there in crystal-clear waters.
The absolutely best part for us was the adult-only pool with jacuzzi tubs and quiet hiding area from noisy younger crowds, but one had to go down early and claim a chair for the day, as the numbers were limited.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bogna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017


Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
4.3 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.3 km away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.4 km away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
3,044 reviews
5.6 km away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,707 reviews
5.2 km away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center

Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa Lote 2, Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: ₹ 11,090 - ₹ 19,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with an eco-conscious environment, offers suites with spectacular views along with multiple dining options so you can pamper your palate throughout your stay. Relax in a tropical environment while enjoying captivating views of the Pacific Ocean. The details, the sophisticated architecture and the refined comfort of Azul Ixtapa Grand combine to make a resort like no other. The Resort is located in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo on the Pacific Coast of Mexico, southwest of Mexico City. Ixtapa is considered one of the “Jewels of the Mexican Riviera.” It is located 20 minutes from Zihuatanejo International Airport (Code: ZIH) and just minutes from the Marina. The Resort is close to shopping areas and golf courses in Ixtapa. The area has an average temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the year with about 255 sunny days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing