We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveller rating
378
343
153
49
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
343
153
49
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oyster bar eco gym water wings playa linda lobby bar waterpark area lower pool rifle shooting kids club italian buffet dark sand crocodile sanctuary a la carte restaurants water taxi seafood kids pool main building
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 979 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2019

Great hotel!! We were here for a family wedding. Resort is very clean! Had a pedicure in the spa, was great. Food in the buffet was okay, could always find something to eat. Desserts I found had no taste, husband loved the rice pudding thou. You can save lounge chairs at this resort, just leave your towel on them in the morning, then go for breakfast, they are still there when your done. Towels are a pain, they have numbers on them and you must return the same towel with the right number back to the towel room, otherwise you will be charged for the towel. We mixed up the towels from our room, then realized what happened. If your with a group, I’d suggest making a note of the towel number. You can’t eat food at the pools at this resort! Only in the restaurant areas. Lots of stairs at this resort, you will need to take 3 elevators to get to the beach, and bottom pool area. Sunwing has a garden party, at the other sister resort, it’s a little bit of a walk. Make sure you bring insect spray. Bugs are bad. Raccoons in the area also. We did not do any a la carts, unless you wanted to eat at 8:00 - 9:00 pm that’s too late for us! Biting fish at the island. And a very long walk to catch the boat from the hotel, it’s 100 pesos by taxi one way. There is also a market there as well.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DebC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2019

I went to my nephew's wedding and booked 5 months in advanced. My reservation was canceled, I did not have the promised upgrade, we could not get a day pass (paying it) because "The hotel was full" when it was not. My daughter had somebody else's reservation number which was confirmed by email. We all had problems at check in and at check out. We asked to see the Manager and never did. Terrible experience!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chapis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

We visited this resort for a week with a few friends. We enjoyed our time here, but there are a few things that will stop me from returning.

LOCATION: 10 minutes from town. Short little drive into town on the bus (12-14 pesos) or taxi (130 pesos). Short walk to Playa Linda and the pier to take a boat to the island. Perfect location in Ixtapa as far as I am concerned.

ROOMS: We had a gorgeous ocean view which all the rooms have. We were on the 18th floor which gave a perfect view of the ocean - room 1817. Really liked that. We did not have a balcony but we didn’t mind. It would have been nice to have but we weren’t willing to pay the extra $25 per person per day for this upgrade. Rooms had nice marble tile and were clean. Nice basic rooms. We did have a few problems with our lights and AC going out twice. Once in the afternoon and once in middle of the night. Without AC it made for a very hot and muggy sleep. The first time they were quick to send someone up to fix it, but the second time I had to call twice. That was a bit annoying. The water pressure and temperature were not consistent, but not a huge deal. Maid service was always great.

The room did come with a mini fridge but the fridge was never stocked. I found this odd for an all-inclusive. To not have the convenience of cold water, beer and pop was a little disappointing. We did call room service a few times for beer and water, but that means a tip. I don’t mind tipping but when I have to tip for something they should be providing in a room anyways (especially water) it’s a little annoying. We had two bottles of water in our room on the first day, then none after that. Even after I requested it on the maid’s card. Water should be placed in the room every day, this is Mexico. It’s a little important to have water in the room. I would try to remember to bring a few waters up every day, but sometimes you forget. That’s why I like AI’s - for the convenience and ease, not having to worry about anything. Having a few waters and pops in the fridge would come in handy, especially at check out. The lobby bar doesn’t open until later, so we had to go all the way down to a restaurant to get a water for our bus ride back to the airport. Trust me, it's a far walk.

STAFF: The saving grace for this hotel are the staff. I’ve never seen such amazing staff work so hard. Always have a smile on their faces, always willing to help, and quick service. Eddy at the swim-up bar and Hassan at the lounge bar were wonderful. We enjoyed getting to know them and they always kept us well hydrated :)

POOL: Great pool area but can get crowded. Was happy to see you don’t have to get up at 7am to reserve sun loungers. If you are by the pool by 8:30 / 9:00 there are still plenty, but usually gets pretty crowded soon after. We did have one family move our stuff one day – rude. So be careful. Even if you are in the pool they will still come along and try to take your loungers. Another thing we did notice, and this is not the resorts fault by any means, just a preference, there are a TON OF KIDS! We knew this was a family resort when we booked so that’s fine, but we’ve stayed at other family resorts and have never seen this many kids before. And hey, I am fine with a crying kid or kids having fun and running around. The only problem was in the pool. You couldn’t sit at the swim-up bar and enjoy a cocktail without getting splashed every two seconds. Or you’d be sitting with your group in the pool and they would canon ball right beside you. It was super annoying. But again, it was our choice to book at a family resort, so lesson learned!

FOOD: The food was average. I’ve visited a lot of AI’s and this would be my least favourite out of all of them. The buffets were basic but good – we didn’t go hungry but nothing to brag about. Our least favourite was the Mexican buffet. Only went there once and didn’t enjoy it. Colores was the main buffet and it was good for breakfast but would get super busy around 9am with long lineups at the omelette station. They also have Terraza which you could go to for breakfast and was less busy and less kids. Terraza was excellent for lunch – often visited their ‘create your own pasta’ station. Awesome. The pool snack bar was good – hamburgers, hotdogs, fries. The Oyster Bar and Las Velas were both good. Didn’t hit up Costa Azul as we chose to go into town to eat instead that night.

DISCO: We visited the Disco twice. It’s only open Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays which was fine. We had fun but left early the second night as they only play Spanish songs unless you beg them to play some other music. We didn’t mind so much the first night we went. There were 95% Spanish people in the disco that night so we totally get playing for the crowd and made the best of it and danced and had a good time. But the second night was mostly English speaking people, so it would have been nice if they played the crowd then too. We don’t mind different music, but it’s hard to get into it if you don’t recognize any of the songs. We made a request and they played four English songs but then went back to the Spanish music (with only one couple dancing to it). So that was odd. We ended up leaving early that night, which was too bad as we had a big crowd of people we had met at the resort getting together to have fun.

BEACH: The beach isn’t your typical sandy beach, which I didn’t mind. The sand is very packed so it’s easy to walk on. The water was safe and the waves were fun to swim in. I only felt bad for the kids playing in the ‘sand’. It was more like mud lol They were covered in it.

ENTERTAINMENT: Or lack there of. Unless you consider karaoke by the pool entertainment? We played our own music to drown out the screeching. Seriously, no one wants to listen to kids screaming into a microphone when you are hanging by the pool. They did have a band play in the lobby bar every evening – the same band every night, just different colored t-shirts lol. They were ok but we got tired of hearing the same songs night after night. The Spanish guests really enjoyed them and danced up a storm. Most of the entertainment is geared to the Spanish guests because the majority of guests are of Spanish descent. They also had a Spanish singer in the lower level some mornings. All the pool entertainment was in Spanish, so even if you and your kids wanted to participate, you couldn’t understand. There were no shows in the theatre, not that entertainment at AI’s is usually that good anyways. But if you are looking for a resort with entertainment, this isn’t the place for you.

SUNWING PARTY: This was a blast! A party for Sunwing guests from both the Azul and the Azul Grand. Great bar-b-q food. Fun to meet people and visit with other guests. Awesome dance floor and DJ. Was nice to finally dance to some great music as opposed to the Spanish music in the disco. Got to dance with the Sunwing reps – was a great time.

MEXICAN NIGHT: Both hotels hosted a Mexican night at the convention center. The outdoor set up was nice, but honestly don’t waste your time! The food was mediocre and the entertainment was not good. We ended up leaving five minutes into the show. Just a bunch of people dancing on the stage. Not worth your time.

All in all, it was a great holiday. We made the best of it. We went with a great group of friends, and honestly, you are in paradise so it’s still better than sitting at home. The staff were amazing, drinks were good (I recommend the Mud Slide and Chocolate Martini) but the little details matter. I will probably not return to this resort as there are other resorts for the same price that we would enjoy more.

Room tip: Ask for a higher floor for a better view.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank TOuellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
Our quality of service isn't what you unfortunately received during your stay for that we hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

The Azul Ixtapa was a great resort. The beach was sandy and beautiful. Food was very delicious and great variety. There was a dedicated kids pool with lots of slides, a large play structure and drop off area which both of my kids loved. Staff was very friendly. We will definitely go back again sometime.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank bellio897035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Dear Guest:
Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Even though we were here with just the two of us, we could see that this is a very family friendly/family fun kind of place. Lots of kids with lots of activities listed for kids. We had a magnificent view overlooking the pool area and the ocean facing west. Sunsets were absolutely gorgeous! We got the all inclusive for 4 of our 7 days there. It was definitely worth the price. The next time, we'll get it for the whole time we're here even if we eat outside the resort occasionally. There were nightly shows but we forgot to see any of them. The lobby bar had nightly entertainment. The beach is called Playa Linda. Years ago they called it Dirty Beach. We were told it was because it used to be polluted and was cleaned up when they started building hotels and resorts. It also was probably because the "sand" is dark brown with the consistency of silt/mud. That didn't stop families from having fun sloshing the mud around and building mud castles. It made for nice firm sand to walk along the water. We hope to be back!

Room tip: High floors (higher than 2nd or 3rd) have beautiful views of ocean.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Beckydog14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,
The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews