We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
158
42
0
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
42
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff overlooking playa laid back surf boards great beach town centre hotel restaurant read a book ocean view mexico city playa zicatela florencia sunset surfing puerto stairway hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

This place is awesome. Not fancy but spacious, clean, comfortable beds and a killer location. The view is amazing as is the hill top location. Maya who is running the front desk is incredibly nice and helpful. Whatever you need. If you are a surfing family this spot is particularly great. The beach right below is great for beginners. There are steps down. The hotel has five or six surf boards you can use. A bit worn but perfectly good. I went and bought a new leash. You can also rent boards on the beach for 100 pesos. The restaurant is super good. There have been some complaints on this site about the service at the restaurant. We didn’t experience it. Magdalena was particularly great. And you will be happy when you get the bill. Quite reasonable all things considered. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We stayed here in October 2017 with my wife and son. The room was great and the food at the hotel was excellent. Down a flight of steep stairs is a beautiful small intimate beach where you can have a drink, learn to surf, or just swim around.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank ThomasR3038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Very well located, clean, cozy and comfortable. Make sure to rent one of the villas with an ocean view. Just enough comfort while maintaining Puerto Escondido’s laid-back essence.
We had the stairway to Carrizalillo Beach right from our villa.
The pool is small. The restaurant is quite popular among local people.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Xavier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

The view from our villa was amazing and Playa Carrizalillo is a gem. The villa was big, comfy and well equipped. Unfortunately, the hotel is not very friendly with the environment: abandoned concrete stairs leading to the beach for new wooden ones, abandoned pipes on the cliff... We ate every day at the hotel restaurant (4x breakfast and dinner), good food but we got comments from staff if we left any tip under 15%. We did not get any 'thank you for your stay' or 'how was your stay' when leaving which you would expect not only from starred hotel but from any hospitality business. We do not need to be pampered at a hotel and did not come to a starred hotel for extra treatment but we always appreciate warm and simple exchanges which we did not get at Villas Carrizalillo.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Maartendj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We stayed in Villa Holanda in July 2017.

The hotel is located on a cliff above the best beach for swimming and beginner surfing.
There is a restaurant at the hotel which we felt was a little on the pricey side for the area, although the food was good. About 5 minutes away is a promenade of restaurants, including an excellent Italian restaurant, so there is plenty of choice.
We are vegetarians and had many option - we stayed a week.
Puerto Escondido "town centre" with a market and more restaurants and hotels is about 15 minutes walk away. Walking into town we notice how blessed the location of the hotel is, it would get noticeably hotter walking into town.

Our villa was comfortable and much like described on the website. The hotel has a charming little pool and several comfortable, shaded areas for lounging around and reading a book.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendybusbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews