We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
21
11
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
11
5
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Incredibly helpful management,as were all the staff
Top floor suite with ocean view
A great place to watch sunset
Needed to taxi or local transport into town but they were very cheap to use
The room was kept immaculately clean by housekeeping
They were very accommodating with luggage storage and showers on the last
day, as we had to wait to get a bus at 1800hrs
Stayed for 3 nights would highly recommend this place for either long stay or a few seconds days rest by the beach

Room Tip: Top floor corner room for ocean views
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jill3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Our room was on the second floor and we booked our reservation through Expedia. We had a wonderful visit and stayed 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always ready to assist. The rooms were very clean and colorfully painted walls and bedding. The beds were comfortable. We had a suite that only cost $6 more dollars than a regular room. It was well worth it with plenty of space, a kitchenette and fridge to hold drinks for hot days and nights! The pool was refreshing in the evenings. Needs a little more upkeep and more plants around the fountain area and the poolside loungers were old and need new cushions. However, we just swam and then went back to our rooms to relax so it didn't bother us. The restaurant on site was open for breakfast so we ate there every morning. They don't have an extensive menu, but the eggs are cooked fresh and the Oaxacan coffee is the best! The hotel is right down the road from the beach. It's not a popular swimming beach, but you can walk around there. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amydem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the hotel in a normal double bedroom. What we liked about the hotel was the room itself, which was spacious, comfortable and had an air conditioner. This is plus since it is a budget hotel. The hotel staff is also very friendly and the pool itself is nice. What we disliked is the location which is indeed far away from the centre of Puerto Escondido and nice beaches like Carizarillo. Furthermore we had a dead cockroach in our closet the cleaning lady never put away. We would also have liked two towels per person and more water coming out of the shower. A further big minus is the breakfast which was a joke since it was served very late from 9 am on and included one hard bread, jam and coffee. To little even for a budget hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 294helmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
una joya escond... e, Director General at Punta Esmeralda Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015
Google Translation

hola buen dia su opinion es muy importante para nosotros y nos motiva a reestructurar el proceso de trabajo interno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Stayed in both the suites and the hotel and found the experience to be great. Very clean, well equipped, functional rooms with great, friendly service. Wonderful pool and grounds only 3 blocks from the beach. The suites have a large kitchenette and huge balcony. I had an upper level floor and watched the sunset from my hammock nightly.

The hotel was slightly cheaper in price but just as functional.

The location at la Punta is really great for those that want to be a bit out of the way but still very close to Puerto and Zicatela. Extremely quiet and undeveloped area.

Only downside was the breakfast: hardly drinkable coffee and packaged Bimbo toast. Still found the price/quality ratio to be high overall. Will come back again when next visiting Puerto.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MX213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
una joya escond... e, Director General at Punta Esmeralda Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015
Google Translation

Agradecemos sus comentarios en suites & hotel punta esmeralda es muy importante tu opinion ya que nos alienta a seguir mejorando en todos los aspectos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks with our 3 year old child.

The location is ideal if you are looking for a quiet area off the main strip where music can keep you awake until the wee hours of the morning. Its a short 10 minute walk along the beach in either direction to the Zicatela drag or the more laid back surfer area of La Punta. Cabs will take you to Zicatela (where there are many restaurants) for 25 pesos (about $2.50) in about 5 minutes, slightly less for La Punta.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. Beds are reasonably comfortable. You can open the balcony and room doors for a nice breeze off the ocean during the day. We turned the AC on in the late afternoon when the sun was directly on the face of the main building. At night windows (with screens) can be left open to get the cool breeze coming down from the mountains. Our suite had a small kitchenette which included a table for 4 people, medium size fridge with freezer, and 2 burner hot plate. This allowed us to have breaskfast and/or lunch in the room, as well as cold drinks.

The pool and grounds are very well maintained. There is a laundrymat on the corner that washes clothes at 0.50 cents a pound. Expect to be woken up by dogs and roosters if your windows are open. The AC unit is effective but incredibly loud. There are several corner stores within walking distance.

We met several guests that come here for 2 or 3 months every year. Long term rentals get a cheaper nightly rate.

Overall this family run hotel was a joy to stay at. The staff were always friendly and happy to help with anything. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of the hallway have windows along the side of the building for extra ventilation
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews