We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
31
34
15
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
34
15
3
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

WE have been staying at the Arco Iris for at least 25 years, Yes things have changed, NO MORE DO WE HEAR THE WAVES! Music has taken over. Ear Plugs are a necessity. The Hotel though quaint is still charming and so many of us return, the service is wonderful. The help are our friends and work so hard to please each guest and see to your needs. If you are looking for upscale frills do not go to Puerto Escondido.. There are fancy rentals aways from the action
Food is very good in PE, Cafe Paris is up scale , so are many of the others and of course we old timers always head to the Flor de Maria for Joanne 's home style cooking when we need a taste of home.
We love the friends we have made in PE the warmth of the locals. it is still our home away for 3 weeks each January.
The best place to just let down, no fancy clothes, great beaches, while I would prefer not so many places on the beach. They are there, change just happens. Sunsets are fabulous, best in the world, The restaurant at the Arco Iris has the best view for the green flash.Plus great drinks. Travel to PE each January to the first of Feb.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank SenoraNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was one of the first built in Puerto, so it is not a modern hotel and fits right in the relaxed mood of Puerto. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It has a great swimming pool and the restaurant offers a lovely view of the ocean, plus room service.
There are rooms with a balcony overlooking the view of the waves. There is no elevator, so don't try it if you have weak knees.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I expect that in the 80s and 90s this was a happening place, but alas things and owners have changed....perhaps too many times. The views are wonderful, the staff remain attentive and the rooms are clean, but the pool is missing tiles, the paint in the rooms is tired and the classic Mexican furniture is scuffed. You can see all this going in, but what you need to know can't be seen ..... the BOOM BOOM BOOM of the base of the bars across the road and down the strip and the oppressive heat that the ceiling fans cannot move is something that one must adjust to (cools down around midnight). In three nights we did manage to, but really would have preferred not to have had to.

Our room looked directly out towards the beach and was located in the main building in the lower section of this 43 room hotel. From what I could see and hear, the higher the location on the grounds a rooms is, the better its exposure to the ocean breezes and the less it is impacted by the base vibes and engine noises coming off the strip. The view from the top was also as good as or better than that closer to the beach and for some reason, the sound of the surf up there was much clearer. Some of these rooms also appear to be air conditioned and a few looked like they had long term guests. So if you are able and don't mind the stairs, I suggest moving on up. Lastly, the pool and gardens are basically clean and kept. Both could do with more attention, but good enough for most of use not expecting more than is paid for at this price range so close to the beach.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms and get AC
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce_Raynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We stayed comfortably at this formerly charming hotel for 15 years. Loved it! And then a new regime came in and changed everything . . . even the paint. (White is a "young color"?) The hotel is now stark white and looks nothing like these photos. Have not seen the rooms in the last year - they may be white now too. We understand most of the staff are still there so that's a good thing at least. Food is mediocre, except breakfasts which are outstanding and the open-air restaurant overlooks the surfing beach. For some, Zicatela is the place to be. If you want quiet, this is not for you. Zicatela Beach is full of palapas - some illegal - and clubs serving free booze with crazy rap 'music' thumping on into the wee hours. Make sure they confirm your rate before you arrive. In writing. So, gentle readers, ignore my review of 2012. Not at all the same "home away from home!"

Room Tip: Rooms high on the hill are above the chaos of Zicatela, with wonderful views.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SonomaValleyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We were supposed to stay at the Arco Iris for a whole week and we left after the first night, in which we couldn't sleep because of the loud music of a rock concert held on a place steps away from the hotel.

It certainly is well located, but everything is close in Puerto Escondido, so you don't need to be in the middle of that chaos, if you're looking for a peaceful vacation.

Rooms are just ok, decoration is deplorable, service at the restaurant is very very slow.

Conclusion: there are better places for the same rate.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Estela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews