We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Break Point Hotel(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 50
US$ 46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotel Surf Olas Altas(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 75
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alebrijes Surf House(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 31
Booking.com
View Deal
Bungalows Zicatela(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acuario Bungalows y Cabanas(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 50
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blater Hotel(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonobo Surf House(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akadia La Punta(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Santa Cruz(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barlovento(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
35
2
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
2
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreturning guestsbeautiful landscapingthe ownerpuertobeachparadise
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy life!! We loved it so much! Rooms are comfortable and clean. The place is built very well and beautifully. There is many areas to hang out, depending if you want to be social or just quiet. Al and Chris are so chilled and relaxed, if you don’t know how to relax before , you will learn while you’re there!! Even the people staying were all cool!!! We love it, and recommend it highly! And hope to return soon again!! Thanx Chris and Al, hugs!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kristisikk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at Sunset Point and we give it top marks. The rooms are comfortable, well-priced and wide-ranging to cater for most tastes. Thankfully, Sunset Point does not follow the formulaic approach of so many hotels/motels/resorts. Sunset Point Resort has been created by Chris Rex, formerly a mechanical engineer and one of the owners. The rooms are furnished in what he calls a "minimalist" style, which is true enough, so don't expect Hilton- or Best Western-type furnishings. Instead, think of a personal vision for a resort in keeping with local designs and materials, and one that is more than adequate for accommodating Western guests. Sunset Point has a good 18-metre pool and a very social communal area. Chris is personable and will help you with arrangements for surfing, tours, transport—it is highly likely you will enjoy your stay. We booked for one month and ended up staying for three months!

Room Tip: The penthouses (14 & 15) have the best views and are the nicest;18, is quiet, because it is at the end. The bungalow is great for families.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a nice relaxing get away. We found it at Sunset Point with the beautiful pool and pool side loungers and shaded hammocks! We read books, swam walked into town for romantic dinners or drinks. We stayed a month and loved it! Chris the owner was amazing he was very welcoming and did everything he could to make out holiday a great one. We enjoyed the ability for outdoor cooking and eating on our private patio and had large jugs of purified water supplied to us at no additional cost. We also had a group dinner with Chris and some of the other guests in the main Kitchen and common area which was amazing.
The room is minimalistic with your basic needs so don't come if your a princess expecting to be pampered. We loved the beautiful gardens and every room is only a few steps away from the pool. We also got to bring our little dog Miko with us which was a real bonus!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Colette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Owner at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you so much we respect everybodies comments and are busy working harder to create a beautiful place where our guests feel at ease in an envirenment that is relaxing, comfortable and clean. We hope to leave our guests with enough facilities (internet etc). that they feel as though they have enjoyed the Sunset Point experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I stayed in one of the garden apartments for six weeks,and the time I spent was peaceful,and totally relaxing. Air conditioning,pool,communal dinners and outings,clean well kept suite,beautiful landscaping,good friendly staff and management.
I will definitely return.
Les

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank les f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Owner at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi Les,

It was great having you here. Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you again.

Chris and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Incredibly friendly service in a beautiful tropical setting. Basic clean facilities at tremendous value. Very hard to beat if you're on a budget. Will certainly be going back when I can afford the time.

Room Tip: Go for an air conditioned room with a balcony if you can.
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank iancumming2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Owner at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thanks Ian - we hope you make it back here soon.

Cheers,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews