We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Point Resort
Nearby Hotels
Suites La Hacienda(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Mozart y Macondo(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
US$ 41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 37
US$ 36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotelito Swiss Oasis(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casamar Suites Hotel(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
US$ 53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Losodeli(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Zicatela(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escondido(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 328
US$ 320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Carrizalillo(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 246
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vivo Resorts(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
34
2
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
2
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreturning guestsbeautiful landscapinghuge poolthree monthsthe ownerrexsurfingpuertobeachparadisekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Incredibly friendly service in a beautiful tropical setting. Basic clean facilities at tremendous value. Very hard to beat if you're on a budget. Will certainly be going back when I can afford the time.

Room Tip: Go for an air conditioned room with a balcony if you can.
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank iancumming2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Owner at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thanks Ian - we hope you make it back here soon.

Cheers,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Sunset Point is in a great location to visit the town of Puerto Escondido and the beach. A ten minute walk to the beach or a ten minute walk to the local collective transit to take you into the local Marcado.

The communal kitchen is a great place to meet and mingle with new or returning guests. There have been many potluck dinners held there, not to mention pizza nights from the wood burning pizza oven.

Room Tip: The rooms are very comfortable with outdoor kitchens. Large bathroom with hot water. If you prefer private and quiet, you can cook in your own kitchen. If you prefer socializing the communal kitchen is a great place to be.
Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Owner at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thanks Marie, looking forward to more potluck dinners when you come back in December.

Cheers,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed for 6 weeks, had a great time All the guests got along great, will come back again if in Puerto
Close to beach (8 mins) but far enough away to avoid the sometimes loud music at night Free bottled water and wifi was nice

Room Tip: The penthouse units with great view and A.C.
Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jerry580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Hi Jerry,

Thanks for the review, we're glad you had great time. We'd love to see you back here one day!

Chris and the Sunset Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Our trip couldn't have been better - spacious rooms, huge pool, our own kitchenette and probably the best view in Puerto. We spent 4 months here during the surf season and it was epic - just a short walk down the hill to some great restaurants, a health food store and the beach. We rented a motorbike so we could surf and have the freedom to really explore the town. Puerto has one of the best markets we've ever seen - amazing fresh produce and so good to have our own kitchen - massive money saver! The owner Rex is a legend and looked after us so well - honestly couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElleandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

It was great having you stay - we look forward to seeing you again! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

After booking in to a hotel in town for my first few nights where I got ripped off and had absolutely no vibe, it was a blessing to find Sunset Point. I wanted a place where I could relax solo when I wanted and hang out with new friends when I wanted which was the perfect balance Sunset Point provided. Surfed every morning at Zicatela until the winds turned (short walk to the main road then cheap collectivo ride to the Zicatela or a 10 min walk to La Punta for mellower waves), then back to cook my breakfast in the great kitchen followed by a nap in my hammock then hanging out with the hotel owner and his loyal returning guests for the rest of the day before heading down to the beach for a sunset swim and a few beers. La Punta is so much nicer and more chilled than the main town. Will be returning and would highly recommend for people looking for a place which lets them have their trip on their own terms. Also loved the musicians who stayed for new years and provided us with many memorable evenings of musical entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank capetowntraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Glad you found us - it was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to you coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews