We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Point Resort
Nearby Hotels
Suites La Hacienda(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 37
US$ 36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Paraiso Escondido(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 52
US$ 45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotelito Swiss Oasis(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Losodeli(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casamar Suites Hotel(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Zicatela(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escondido(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 328
US$ 320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Carrizalillo(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 246
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vivo Resorts(Puerto Escondido)
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
34
2
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
2
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreturning guestsbeautiful landscapinghuge poolthree monthsthe ownerrexsurfingpuertobeachparadisekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Our trip couldn't have been better - spacious rooms, huge pool, our own kitchenette and probably the best view in Puerto. We spent 4 months here during the surf season and it was epic - just a short walk down the hill to some great restaurants, a health food store and the beach. We rented a motorbike so we could surf and have the freedom to really explore the town. Puerto has one of the best markets we've ever seen - amazing fresh produce and so good to have our own kitchen - massive money saver! The owner Rex is a legend and looked after us so well - honestly couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElleandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

It was great having you stay - we look forward to seeing you again! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

After booking in to a hotel in town for my first few nights where I got ripped off and had absolutely no vibe, it was a blessing to find Sunset Point. I wanted a place where I could relax solo when I wanted and hang out with new friends when I wanted which was the perfect balance Sunset Point provided. Surfed every morning at Zicatela until the winds turned (short walk to the main road then cheap collectivo ride to the Zicatela or a 10 min walk to La Punta for mellower waves), then back to cook my breakfast in the great kitchen followed by a nap in my hammock then hanging out with the hotel owner and his loyal returning guests for the rest of the day before heading down to the beach for a sunset swim and a few beers. La Punta is so much nicer and more chilled than the main town. Will be returning and would highly recommend for people looking for a place which lets them have their trip on their own terms. Also loved the musicians who stayed for new years and provided us with many memorable evenings of musical entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank capetowntraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Glad you found us - it was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to you coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

The rooms/grounds

During our months stay at Sunset Point we stayed in two rooms. For the first few weeks Al and the guys had kindly given us the bungalow. It was huge! We had a large living space and open kitchen, with a massive bathroom. Having a kitchen is great, we cooked nearly every day and we had all the appliances/utensils you could want and more! We then moved into one of the surf apartments which was a block of 4 rooms next to the pool. We had a hob, sink and tables and chairs outside the room which meant that we could continue cooking for ourselves.We loved staying in the apartment, they are really social and all built around the pool. It’s a sweet set up. The rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean and tidy, we couldn’t of asked for more!

The swimming pool is the best in Puerto Escondido, its huge. There are hammocks and sun beds dotted around the pool so plenty of space to chill out if you wanted too. We spent many days just hanging out at Sunset Point, it is beautiful and totally relaxing - no wonder we ended up staying a month!

The common area also has everything you could need. There are board games, books, a massive TV and a darts board. It’s a cool place to hang out and socialise with other guests.

The gardener Nacho does an amazing job. The gardens are kept in immaculate condition and there are loads of flowers and palm trees all throughout the grounds - its beautiful. There are also cleaners who come every day to clean the rooms and the common area so everything is very neat and tidy.

Sunset Point certainly lives up to the name. The views from the roof in the evening are incredible, defiantly the best sunsets I have ever seen. Awesome.

The people

What made Sunset Point particularly special for us was the people who we met there. Many of the people who were staying at Sunset during our time were also staying for three months or more. This meant that we got a chance to get to know everyone. It is a real family environment, we shared beers and food and had many evenings up drinking and chatting. On the day of the Superbowl final we all cooked a dish and had a big get together in the common area which was loads of fun.

Sadly we didn’t get a chance to meet Chris the owner, so we hope to meet him when we go back next time - and we will go back for sure! However, Chris had friends/residents on hand to look after us. We were greeted by Kevin and Al who showed us to our room and then invited us out for lunch in La Punta. They were really friendly and helpful, they showed us around so we had our bearings and gave us advice on all of the best places to eat and drink. We felt at home straight away.

Al was looking after our booking and when we asked to extend our stay he made it really easy. We kept changing our minds about when we wanted to go, mainly because we didn't want to leave! Al was very accommodating and organised which meant that we felt comfortable staying on an extra two weeks!

Roger and Kiera, another couple we met at Sunset Point were great! We had a couple of nights out drinking with them which was awesome, what fabulous people. They were full of knowledge of the local area which was really helpful, I hope we get to see them again next year. Brian and Marie were amazing too and helped us on many occasions in the kitchen and sorting out the BBQ, they were very kind to us.

The place/location

Sunset Point is set at the La Punta end of Puerto Escondido. It is about a 10 minute walk from the beach, where there is a handful of restaurants and shops. La Punta is quieter than the other beaches which suited us as it meant we had loads of space on the beach. There is another beach round the point from La Punta which is totally deserted. We spent a day on the beach and we were completely on our own, miles after miles of white sands and crashing waves.

Puerto Escondido has everything you could need. There is a good market which has fresh fruit and veg and you can buy all sorts of meats and fish. This meant that we could do all of our own cooking which was great as we are both into our food and like to cook. There is also a huge supermarket which had recently expanded when we were there. This really did have everything we needed and was easy to get to on one of the collectivos which run from the end of the road, 5 mins or so from Sunset Point. Puerto also has an abundance of great restaurants and bars, there is a cool little fish taco bar in La Punta and an awesome pizza restaurant in town called Benditos we liked.

Me and Harry are both travelling for a while, I had come from Belize and Guatemala and Harry from the States. We were hoping to find somewhere to settle for a month and Sunset Point exceeded our expectations of what we were looking for. I have been away from home for almost 7 months now and Sunset Point is undoubtably the highlight to my travels. It is a very special place, the setting is awesome, the pool is awesome, the rooms are awesome, the sunsets are awesome and above all the people were awesome. Take me back now!!!!!!

Thank you so much to Sunset Point!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks Harry - hope you make it back for your birthday! We're looking forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked 3 month before arrival and also prepaid a part of the rent. After a long journey from Europe we finaly arrived at sunset point, but were told, that the rooms are rented out and we have to search another place ! Not even a drink was offered - the owner just wanted us to get away ! Very unfriendly, very unpofessional, very rude.
I can't believe the possitive comments above and I would never recommend this place !
Absolutely disappointing.
There are much nicer places around Puerto with friendly and honestely people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
11  Thank Sanuk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

I sincerely apologise for your double booking, it was the first time we experienced this and in order to make sure it never happens again we have updated and overhauled our booking system. Since updating our system we have never encountered this problem again.
We would have loved to offer you a drink however we do not have a restaurant or bar so this was not possible.

Kind Regards,

Sunset Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I started my three month journey through Central America at Sunset with the intention of staying two weeks, but had to force myself to leave after 5.

Chris is the optimum host. He is relaxed, laid back and approachable. Nothing is a problem and the layout is such that you can be as social or private as you like. You have your own space as well as a more than substantial common area with darts!

I loved this place, and any trip I make in the future will have this as a starting point.

As a solo traveler it was perfect, and I feel that I made some lifelong friends.

Every day I think about the restaurants down at La Punta, the food from the markets and the darts that we played.

I loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurotash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetPointAdmin, Manager at Sunset Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you, we couldn't have described Sunset Point better ourselves.

We hope to see you again!

Sunset Point Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews