We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, very comfortable cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mortreth

Lovely enclosed front garden which is a sun trap in the morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely enclosed front garden which is a sun trap in the morning
Gated garden is handy for little ones Balcony with view of the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Lovely enclosed front garden which is a sun trap in the morning
Gated garden is handy for little ones
Balcony with view of the beach
Light and airy living area with comfortable sofas
Dining area with table that extends to sit 8 comfortably
Modern kitchen refurbished in 2016 with all new appliances
Crisp, clean and modern bathroom
Large corner bath with a powerful electric shower over
The large and relaxed master bedroom has full ensuite facilities including a separate shower room.
Second bedroom, tastefully furnished and decorated
Porthtowan beach at low tide, looking towards Chapel Porth
Porttowan beach at low tide, looking towards Portreath
Porthtowan beach at high tide
Porthtowan beach at high tide from the top of the cliffs
The famous Eden Project is only 50 minutes by car
The National Maritime Museum in Falmouth is 35 mins by car
Interior of the National Maritime Museum - allow half a day for your visit!
The Lost Gardens of Heligan are just 45 minutes by car
The Lost Gardens of Heligan are well worth a visit
St Michaels Mount is only 30 minutes by car and a great day out. Walk over at low tide.
Lands End is just 30 miles/50 minutes away
Close to Newquay Zoo - a 30 minute drive away
Tin mine ruins above Chapel Forth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthtowan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in mortreth for a week. We were a walking group, doing sections of the nearby South West Coast path. The cottage was a perfect location for that. We could walk to the path, as well as driving to other sections that we wanted to do.

Before we got to the cottage, Mark, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. The booking process was easy, and any question I asked he responded to quickly, and was really helpful with additional information.

The cottage looks small from the outside, but is quite spacious. Two of the bedrooms are on the ground floor, with a larger en suite upstairs. The twin room might be more suitable for kids, as our two adults found it a little small for them, with limited storage in that room.
I would say it is an ideal base for walkers, a family or surfers. There is a useful outside laundry room, which was great for storing muddy boots, drying raincoats etc. There are two lovely outside areas. Unfortunately our weather wasn't warm enough for sitting outside. We did see some beautiful sunsets, however. Porthowan is a lovely, small cove. A good beach bar is within easy walking distance, as is the beach. We actually ate in quite a few nights and the kitchen was well equipped for that.
All in all, I would highly recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful sunsets.
Liked least: My two friends in the twin room thought the room was more suitable for kids.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a week in Mortreth with husband and (for a couple of days) friends who live in Cornwall and spent some time with us. Loved everything about it - the cottage, the location, facilities, accessibility - even the weather was perfect 6 days out of 7! Mark has been very helpful before and after our stay. Husband has recently been in hospital and we both needed a good rest - Mortreth provided it. Cottage was well equipped, with lots of books, DVDs etc., etc. It was also very close to the beach and had a lovely view from the balcony of the sea and some spectacular sunsets! Parking was easy (with a choice of spaces behind and in front of the cottage). Bathrooms were lovely and there were two loos! Mobile signal was poor, but there was a landline for emergency and incoming calls, which provided peace of mind, as well as very good free WiFi. We particularly liked the late check-in and checkout times (many people travelling to Cornwall wouldn't arrive till late in the day anyway and 2.30 was so much more "civilised" than scurrying around to be out by 10!). Loved the little garden and sunshine at the front in the morning and back later in the day (when we could watch the sun go down from the balcony). Also particularly enjoyed visiting St Agnes! Wheelchair users might struggle, but older people and those with limited mobility (i.e. my husband) are well catered for. Likewise, children would enjoy (and are well catered for) - the balcony is well enclosed. Plenty of room, even when there were 4 of us. Only wish it wasn't so far away but are hoping to return next year - "ticked all the boxes" for us! Thank you Mark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, decor, etc., early checkout
Liked least: Chip shop closed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable,spacious cottage with lovely views, a few minutes from beach”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were 6 adults from a family visiting for a long weekend and the cottage was comfortable and spacious and very well equipped for all our needs. There was plenty of entertainment available with books and dvd's for guests staying longer than we were.
The 2 larger bedrooms are good sized and it was helpful to have 2 bathrooms. We enjoyed being able to sit out on the balcony and to be just a short distance from the beach and the cafes.
Mark was very helpful and prompt in responding to queries. My husband is disabled and wheelchair-bound and he was particularly helpful in planning our visit and determining whether a hoist would fit into a bedroom. I was very impressed with the personal service he offered. Directions were clear and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious open plan living area.
Liked least: Small number of steps down to the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cluckycur...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Great place in the perfect location”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from a fab week at Mortreth Cottage!
We are a group of 5 adults and the cottage was spacious enough that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other all the time. Plenty of seating space everywhere with a lovely Sea-view decking area, this was the first place we all headed to when we woke up! Gorgeous view of the bay and great sunset view too.
The cottage is so well equipped with everything you need - books to read, games, dvds, kitchen appliances, body boards, kids beach bits (as a group of adults we obviously didn't borrow these and go crab catching in the rock pools .......honest ;) ) and a great touch, beach towels for every person! What a great idea to provide beach towels , very useful to not be taking home damp towels.

Mark (the owner) always answers emails quickly and is super friendly, very informative and so helpful. I couldn't fault his communications at all , always quick to reply.
We wanted to change our dates around after we had booked, he was very accommodating and nothing seemed like too much trouble.
The whole booking process was very easy

This was our second visit to Porthtowan and we would thoroughly recommend this lovely bay.
If you are going for the first time and staying at Mortreth definitely recommend reading the lever arch folder of info that Mark has put together (on the bookshelf in the dining area), has everything you need in it.

There is a local shop , handy for arrival day! A chip shop and 2 bars! We spent some time in the blue bar which we love, the ambience and food is great here but getting an outside table can be hard as the views of the bay are ace!
We didn't try the other pub but heard the food is good there too.
Amazing Coastal walks are on your door step which can be nice and short as there are some lovely villages along the route to stop off at or if you keep going you can spend all day walking with breathtaking views (keep your eyes open for seals, we have seen one in the bay and a few along the coast, sadly no dolphin sightings for us yet but apparently they are seen around the area)

All in all i couldn't recommend a better place to visit, we all loved Porthtowan and had a fantastic week in Mortreth cottage.
Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing