We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Expedia.com$57
Priceline
Travelocity$57
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
207
192
57
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
192
57
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool backwater view welcome drink back waters memorable stay spacious rooms great hospitality lake sunrise kerala checkin boating beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2019

It was a family trip and all we wanted was to experience the true essence of Alleppey. This place makes it for all. The 'shikara' boats take you to an island and all over the backwaters at a very nominal cost.
The food is excellent and cheap comparatively. The resort offers complimentary breakfast buffet too.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Happypill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for taking the time out to providing us with your valuable feedback, we are pleased to learn that your experience with us was delightful.

We strive always to deliver our guests the highest levels of hospitality and it is very satisfying to know that this is being achieved. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Deshadan Alleppey is a small and clean resort by the banks of Vembanad lake. We had a laid back and relaxing stay at the hotel - the pool and most of the rooms have a nice lake view. The staff has a great attitude and the restaurant food is average. If you have a ride, PDDP People's Restaurant, 10 minutes away from the hotel, is also worth checking out.

Room tip: Some of the rooms/cottages have a nice lake view.
Date of stay: February 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aryasankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for taking the time out to providing us with your valuable feedback, we are pleased to learn that your experience with us was delightful.

We strive always to deliver our guests the highest levels of hospitality and it is very satisfying to know that this is being achieved. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

I came here for only one night arriving in advance for a conference in Fort Kochi. When I arrived, everyone was really nice with me showing me everything, proposing to organize my short stay. Indeed, they did it well and I had the chance to visit the backwater area with a private boat and I also tried a massage for the first time.
I must say that it was a chance for me to be here, with these professional people.

I really enjoyed the view, the swimming pool and the hotel and I strongly would recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 646fredr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for taking the time out to providing us with your valuable feedback, we are pleased to learn that your experience with us was delightful.

We strive always to deliver our guests the highest levels of hospitality and it is very satisfying to know that this is being achieved. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

We had visited Deshadan backwater resort in September.We were welcomed by Mr.Jesus. We were served a welcome drink..He guided us towards the room..We had booked three nights stay of villa with plunge pool.The villa was neat and tidy.The plunge pool was clean and it was attached with Jacuzzi which was cherry on the top.Beside the pool there was a small table and chair so that we can enjoy our morning tea.
The beauty about the property is the view..The staff right from the reception to housekeeping everyone was very helpful and polite.
We tried Kerala cuisine which was delicious. Breakfast should be improved though.
Special mention- Mr.Jesus was very kind and attentive,he took care of every small thing which we needed, he booked an auto so that we can buy stuff from the market, He also booked shikara ride and Kerala ayurvedic massage.
He is a gem of a person.
Thanks a lot Deshadan for the lovely and peaceful stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank GoPlaces771986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your very positive review of your recent stay with us at Deshadan Backwater Resort, Alleppey . I am happy to read about your experience with our hotel facilities and services and that you found especially our location suitable for your purpose of visit to Alleppey

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Deshadan Resorts in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

This was a quick find and looking at reviews online - we landed upon Desadan, which provided a hassle-free booking experience on Agoda, and when we tried adding another room - their booking office personnel provided ample support.

On the ground, the resort is located right on the banks of Vembanad Lake - overlooking Pathiramanal & Kumarakom, you could get the light of Thennermukkom Bund as well from the resort. The staff was courteous enough to give me an upgrade to a lake villa with plunge pool.

The Superior Rooms with plunge pools are quite well equipped and decently laid, but the pavilion rooms are way inside and right against the restaurant and a dirty water log they have inside the resort. The Lakeview rooms are a bit of a gamble as not all rooms - give you a proper lake view. Make sure that you are on the first floor of the lake view rooms to view the lake well.

The staff has been very supportive, but not trained to work in a resort. They are trying their best with the limited expertize they have in handling customers.

The rooms are well laden, but not maintained well. The plunge pool I had in my room was the first time for me - but the water is not the cleanest. The rooms are not well maintained especially on the civil side as we could see damaged paint job, wooden panels as well as some fungi and plants growing on the roof.

The common swimming pool is located right well for a lot of photos, but not the best pool you would spend more time on - given for the poor water quality and smaller size.

The biggest set back is the Restaurant, which serves mediocre food but is exorbitantly priced. The dinner was served for approx 550 per head which is not worth 250 I must say. The restaurant is built on a small pond which is created by an artificial waterlog has water almost black in colour - with loads of plastic bottles lying around.

The lakeside seating is right on but - the seating has been given by some old leftover steel benches probably a used steel bench sourced.

To summarize, Desadan could be the best if it could improve a lot of things, and they may not have them incur investments, but mere improvement of service should do. Visit once, just to try - as they might end up being the cheapest.

Room tip: Lake View Rooms on the first floor are the best. Avoid Pavilion rooms.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at Deshadan Backwater Resort

With much pleasure we read that you indeed appreciated the location of the property. However, we are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our resort due to the above mentioned problems . Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall. Your profile is updated for a future visit to ensure that you will have a very relaxing stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Deshadan Resorts in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews