We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Hotels.com
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Agoda.com
$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/22
Priceline$70
Travelocity$64
Trip.com$53
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
207
192
57
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
192
57
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool backwater view welcome drink back waters memorable stay spacious rooms great hospitality lake sunrise kerala checkin boating beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2019

We had visited Deshadan backwater resort in September.We were welcomed by Mr.Jesus. We were served a welcome drink..He guided us towards the room..We had booked three nights stay of villa with plunge pool.The villa was neat and tidy.The plunge pool was clean and it was attached with Jacuzzi which was cherry on the top.Beside the pool there was a small table and chair so that we can enjoy our morning tea.
The beauty about the property is the view..The staff right from the reception to housekeeping everyone was very helpful and polite.
We tried Kerala cuisine which was delicious. Breakfast should be improved though.
Special mention- Mr.Jesus was very kind and attentive,he took care of every small thing which we needed, he booked an auto so that we can buy stuff from the market, He also booked shikara ride and Kerala ayurvedic massage.
He is a gem of a person.
Thanks a lot Deshadan for the lovely and peaceful stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank GoPlaces771986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your very positive review of your recent stay with us at Deshadan Backwater Resort, Alleppey . I am happy to read about your experience with our hotel facilities and services and that you found especially our location suitable for your purpose of visit to Alleppey

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Deshadan Resorts in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

This was a quick find and looking at reviews online - we landed upon Desadan, which provided a hassle-free booking experience on Agoda, and when we tried adding another room - their booking office personnel provided ample support.

On the ground, the resort is located right on the banks of Vembanad Lake - overlooking Pathiramanal & Kumarakom, you could get the light of Thennermukkom Bund as well from the resort. The staff was courteous enough to give me an upgrade to a lake villa with plunge pool.

The Superior Rooms with plunge pools are quite well equipped and decently laid, but the pavilion rooms are way inside and right against the restaurant and a dirty water log they have inside the resort. The Lakeview rooms are a bit of a gamble as not all rooms - give you a proper lake view. Make sure that you are on the first floor of the lake view rooms to view the lake well.

The staff has been very supportive, but not trained to work in a resort. They are trying their best with the limited expertize they have in handling customers.

The rooms are well laden, but not maintained well. The plunge pool I had in my room was the first time for me - but the water is not the cleanest. The rooms are not well maintained especially on the civil side as we could see damaged paint job, wooden panels as well as some fungi and plants growing on the roof.

The common swimming pool is located right well for a lot of photos, but not the best pool you would spend more time on - given for the poor water quality and smaller size.

The biggest set back is the Restaurant, which serves mediocre food but is exorbitantly priced. The dinner was served for approx 550 per head which is not worth 250 I must say. The restaurant is built on a small pond which is created by an artificial waterlog has water almost black in colour - with loads of plastic bottles lying around.

The lakeside seating is right on but - the seating has been given by some old leftover steel benches probably a used steel bench sourced.

To summarize, Desadan could be the best if it could improve a lot of things, and they may not have them incur investments, but mere improvement of service should do. Visit once, just to try - as they might end up being the cheapest.

Room tip: Lake View Rooms on the first floor are the best. Avoid Pavilion rooms.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at Deshadan Backwater Resort

With much pleasure we read that you indeed appreciated the location of the property. However, we are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our resort due to the above mentioned problems . Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall. Your profile is updated for a future visit to ensure that you will have a very relaxing stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Deshadan Resorts in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2019

It was a peaceful and serene experience. Situated at the backwaters the view of this resort is breath taking. You can see many houseboats pass in the backwaters and fisherman doing their job while you sip on your perfect tea sitting outside your cottage. The food of this place is delicious and they offer good variety as well. Also to mention their spa is equally well maintained and equipped with talented masseuse. The experience of getting a good ayurvedic body massage was fresh and relaxing.
Overall it's a great place for couples or families who want to enjoy the backwaters.

Room tip: The rooms around pool area are all good with a great view.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for taking the time out to providing us with your valuable feedback, we are pleased to learn that your experience with us was delightful.

We strive always to deliver our guests the highest levels of hospitality and it is very satisfying to know that this is being achieved. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

Deshadan is a place where you can unwind in the pool with an amazing view of the Alleppey backwaters. Good ambience and hospitality coupled with quality food and ambience. You can explore nearby on bicycle in the morn or take a paid boat ride nearby directly from Deshadan. The staff was quite attentive to our needs esp the restaurant staff which ensured our requests were fulfilled to the T despite being lean season. Overall recommended though it may take some effort to locate the place as its bit away.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Huzefa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Sir

Greetings from Deshadan Resorts

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience during your trip; for us there is nothing more rewarding than a positive feedback from a happy guest. Once again we thank you for your review and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

We went to Alleppey and stayed in Deshadan in the midst of heavy monsoon rains. It was risk we took since there was warnings about floods everywhere in Kerala. And it turned out to be one of the best decisions we made.

The location of this resort is so serene, we felt as if we were in the middle of a dense forest. The hospitality of the resort was so heartwarming. The staff were lovely and helpful. The entire region was blacked out due to heavy rains but we never experienced any power cut in the resort. Thanks to the resort's well maintained backup systems.

Though we didn't go out much due to the rains, the facilities in the resort kept us engaged throughout the day. Thanks to the Swimming pool, Spa, Recreation centre (TT, Foosball, Carom-board). The swimming pool was clean and well maintained. We spent most of the day at the pool and we didn't feel any discomfort.

Though there was sometime when the WiFi was not working due to the fibernet cable disconnection from the ISP due the rains, during the times it was working, it was superfast and covered the entire the region in the resort. So, you are connected whichever spot you are in the resort.

The resort architecture and the monsoon rains gave me the same feel as I got during my visit to Bali.

Room tip: Call the resort for choosing your room. They give better deals and best room selection.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SiddharthV119
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sundeep n, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at Deshadan Backwater Resort

With much pleasure we read that you indeed appreciated the location of the property. However, we are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our resort due to the above mentioned problems . Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall. Your profile is updated for a future visit to ensure that you will have a very relaxing stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Deshadan Resorts in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews