We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Theater”
Review of Da Caino

Da Caino
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Montemerano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 May 2018

At the Michelin Two Star level a restaurant is expected to do its own thing, be cutting edge, a bit dramatic, and of course charge about double that of a One Star. They clearly don't achieve this recognition without doing a lot of things right. But sometimes the net result for you as a couple of customers can be underwhelming.

In fairness to the restaurant, we did not choose one of their tasting menus. In selecting appetizers, mains and desserts we chose what might be of interest to us. While the appetizers were very good (and should be at 32 E/per) our main courses seemed more experiments than culinary magic. My wife chose lamb and I chose pigeon, a dish I am very fond of in French restaurants, but have yet to see a success in Italy. The lamb seemed more a lesson in anatomy than in a taste sensation. What I saw of the pigeon on my plate suggests it died of malnutrition. Little faux nut balls filled with foie fras seemed prissy and distracting.

We chose two desserts that were good, not great. Several barrages of unpredictable amuse de bouches were hit or miss. Some very good, some clinkers.

I understand they have a majestic wine list. With some medications, we limited ourselves to a couple of glasses of fine Brunello di Montalcino.

The wait staff was courteous, well trained and arriving and departing with the precision you expect in these establishments. They looked more like young law clerks than waiters in their dark suits and red ties.

We came for the show. We have been to many exceptional premium restaurants. I'm sure there were some dishes on their menu that would have upped our enthusiasm. Since we didn't find them, this is no rave review.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Exceptional choice of olive oil, which unfortunately proved to be the most memorable taste of the evening. Great wine list, though the menu wine pairing let them down. Overall, fails to match the claimed and promised standard.
From our experience, would go for 'a la carte' instead of the tasting menu. Pasta course especially turned out to be overpowering with the cheese flavour (to note here: we love cheese).
Should you be looking for a dinner option in that area, and don't mind spending around 500 EUR for two, - try it out, just do not build too high expectations.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SandraT375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Da Caino is a fantastic double Michelin starred restaurant well worth the visit if you stay around Saturnia or Montemerano. It is pure Tuscan cuisine, only local products and an absolutely fantastic wine list. Grazie to the wonderful chef Valeria and her team!

You can also stop there for a glass of wine or a delicious burger at their newly opened bar. Enjoy!

(pssss on a side note:) Montemerano is one of the most charming village of Tuscany... I would recommend stopping there if you tour Tuscany or before visiting Caino.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank olivaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

The food is quite simple more like traditional style, but i really did like it. I really loved the green pea ice cream. The dessert served with a little cup of tea was also great. The restaurant is really beautiful and the sommelier took us to the cellar, which is located a few blocks away from the restaurant and its huge! The wine is one of the biggest ive ever seen, we chose 1997 Brunello from Andrea Costanti. Would not hesitate to go back.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarekD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The beautiful local ingredients together with masterful techniques made our dinner very special.
Many thanks to the courteous staff, the owners son and the very talented Valeria.
Una serata da ricordare.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bembazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Caino also viewed

 
Montemerano, Manciano
Montemerano, Manciano
 

Been to Da Caino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing