We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
56
25
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
25
4
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017

A hidden gem. Tucked away in the rural Devon countryside, but not too far from Exeter and easy to find. An old Devon Longhouse converted into a restaurant and hotel. Unashamedly old fashioned, but no issues there. Big comfy seats and a roaring log fire welcomed us on arrival and is where we enjoyed our pre dinner drinks and canapés before being shown into the restaurant. The food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented, the chef uses good ingredients and is clearly skilful. There were 4 of us and we were the only customers during the evening, great for us, a shame for the chef and the charming young waitress and the knowledgeable owner. Food of this quality, at a sensible price, accompanied by an interesting wine list, also competitively priced is certainly worth a visit. It should also worry those busy restaurants in Exeter whose marketing may be better, but whose food is inferior. Thank you the Barton Cross Hotel for a lovely evening. You should shout louder!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank StuartCollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This hotel is seemingly in the middle of nowhere and yet only four or five miles from Exeter City Centre. It is trully an extended Devon Longhouse and truly stunning. The Owner Brian attends reception and the bar, a charming gentleman, full of local knowledge after his 22 years here.
No hi tech. Door keys, light switches and rooms that are huge by todays standards, The bathroom was spotless and bigger than a bedroom in a hotel in Caterbury. The bed was so comfortable, really appreciated as I had a heavy cold and sleep was a great medicine.
The whole place is from another era in many ways, though a good size flat screen tv in the room is great for getting the news.
This was misty November, but the room had a bistro table and chairs outside the french doors and would be lovely on a sunny summer morning.
Breakfast was equally well prepared fresh to order and Brian saw us off the premises with good wishes for our continuing journey.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTRaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

A beautiful small thatched hotel on a country lane ,The surprisingly large double room was very comfortable with nice chairs and a separate changing room, We were made very welcome and the menu in the restaurant was very good. We would certainly recommend it and will stay again in the future

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank statutory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Chosen as a weekend break for us away from work and kids, this was a great location. Some may find the decor a little old fashioned but for what we wanted it was perfect as a base for the area with an excellent reputation for food.

it was all brilliantly clean and tidy which is pretty important and very welcoming on arrival. The free wifi was adequate for our needs (looking up the local area) and the mobile signal surprisingly good for being in the middle of nowhere.

The reputation of the restaurant is well deserved - all the food was cooked to taste and delivered in a non-hurried manner. Breakfast was just amazing - a choice of 4 or 5 courses in reality, from juice, cereal/yoghurts, eggs, fry-up and fish.. as well as toast/criossants. Or all of them.. and none of the portions are small.

For people looking fora modern, fast and efficient hotel, it probably isnt for you.. for people looking for a quiet and easy getaway, jump in.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This is absolutely not a boutique hotel. Nor is conveniently located for the M5. in addition, the wifi is perfectly adequate only if you stand next to the router and if you are in a rush the slow pace of the dinner service will drive you mad.

Despite all that we loved this hotel. It is located in a lovely hamlet well away from the busy roads of Exeter and the rest of Devon. There are lovely walks all around the hotel. The food really is exceptional. Friendly welcoming staff. It all represents great value for money. That is what we wanted and that is what we got.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews