We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
334
50
16
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
334
50
16
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My partner used to buy hotel beds for a major tour operator, so has had plenty of experience of staying away. This was her best nights sleep in 25 years and for me, the best nights sleep in a hotel ever.
The resort is busy June to early September we were told, so we were outside of the main season and the hotel was quiet, which perhaps helped with sleeping. The sheets are quality cotton, the pillows supportive, the air conditioning works and the blinds are first class.
We had room 7 with a balcony, which gives a view of the sea. The sun is on it most of the day, but the blinds prevent this being an issue in the room.
Everything is spotlessly clean, Wifi is free and works well, the hotel owners and staff are friendly and helpful, but if you have next to no Italian like us, then be prepared to use sign language, google translation, or a good phrase book.
Not everything is perfect, the shower had to be run for several minutes until the hot water came through, when it was fine. If our sign language worked, it appears to be on a circular system and perhaps because there were fewer guests, or our room was furthest from the boiler (?), then that could have been the issue.
Breakfast was average, apart from the Salento pie, which is a local delicacy and is well worth trying. It is a sweet pastry with a mild cheese/mascapone type filling.
There is no restaurant facility, but the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre.
They can provide drinks. Prosecco was very reasonably priced and better than bottles we tried on the seafront bars and less than half the cost.
Parking is in the street outside and we had no problems in finding a space.
We would definitely return here, as this is a good base to explore the coastline from Leuca to Gallipoli (which is lovely).
Please note that the Lido that the hotel has leaflets for, closes around the 3rd week of September, as we found when we turned up there.
Worth taking insect repellent as in September at least, the local mosquitos were active!
I've given this review 5 stars, although I did consider 4 in view of the delay getting into the shower, but when you leave a hotel feeling totally relaxed and refreshed, what's a few extra minutes in bed whilst the water heats up?

Room tip: If you are over 6 foot your feet will touch the metal bed frame at the end of the bed in room 7.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MartinRogkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rosy S, Proprietario at Hotel Salento Mirfran, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017
Google Translation

grazie mille Martin,volte per queste splendide parole, è stato un immenso piacere per tutti noi dello staff accogliervi, sempre gentili e cortesi come siete stati voi per tutta la vacanza. Lavoriamo sempre con impegno e passione, dedicando agli ospiti tutte le attenzioni che pensiamo necessarie per far vivere loro una splendida vacanza. Avete apprezzato tutti i nostri servizi, e non possiamo che rallegrarcene per questo e sperare di accogliervi presto ancora una volta. A presto,
Lo staff Mirfran Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel was truly a great find. It is beautiful, very modern and reasonably priced. The people who run it are some of the nicest and most helpful that I have encountered in my travels. Parking is easy, safe and free on the street in front of the hotel. It is also one of the cleanest that I've stayed in. The sandy beaches and water in this zone are exceptional. Shops and restaurants are in easy walking distance (we found several restaurants that were quite good). You will find this to be more of an Italian vacation experience, rather than the typical tourist vacation experience. Although not at all necessary, if you wish to exercise your Italian language skills, as I did, Torre San Giovanni would be a great place to do it. I would not hesitate to return here and hope to do so in the future.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 June 2013

very good value for money! a very friendly welcome and fantastic rooms and an even better breakfast... we liked it a lot. it was by far the best hotel of our salento trip! and the family who runs it are fantastic people.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remost s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 May 2013

First of all, this hotel is just lovely. It is kept immaculately clean, and considering that hotels I didn't like half as much cost almost three times more - a terrific bargain. This, by the way, is a place where actual Italians go to vacation and refresh, and so your experience will have nothing of that unpleasant tourist aftertaste which ruins everything wherever you try to run. It is such an insider secret that I would never have found out about it at all if it weren't for the kindness of the rep at my hotel and parking provider, stay123, who spends his own rare vacations there with his Italian wife. All of Apulia is pretty much unspoiled and ancient-feeling, and a true "escape" destination. Hotel Salento is a two minute walk to the beautiful beach, and the rooms are surprisingly large. The people could not have been nicer, I actually would rather return here than to go someplace new next year.

Room tip: Its absolutely new; you cant possibly go wrong, even with a blindfold on.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel is brand new, beautiful, extremely clean and one block away from the sea. It is aslo walking distance to the city center. Owner Guiseppe is most helpful. I have stayed in several hotels but this has been one of the best so far. The bedrooms are spacious and so are the bathrooms. The AC works perfectly and it is very safe . I strongly recommmend it and would definintely book again if I had to return to Torre San Giovanni.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews