We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little heaven”
Kittiwake, Upper deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake, Upper deck
Kingsize bedroom en-suite View from garden of deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Kittiwake, Upper deck
Kingsize bedroom en-suite
View from garden of deck
Aerial view of Hope Cove
Upstairs living room
Additional seating/beds
Our crab and lobster fishing boat
Sue demonstrating crabpot making
Willow crab pots made by Sue
Apartment suite bathroom
downstairs bathroom
Family bedroom
Downstairs kitchen
Kitchen
Walking on Bolt Tail
View from Bolt Tail nearby
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hope Cove, Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy D
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little heaven”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Kittiwake for 5 days. The accommodation is second to none. Great value. Ideal for families too - lots of extras for children, they would love it. Spotlessly clean. Sue and David are very friendly and accommodating. Kittiwake has everything you could possibly want and need and more besides. Simon is looking forward to his next visit in September and Im sure I will be following again sometime soon too.
Thank you again for making our stay 'heaven' and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High level of comfort
Liked least: we loved everything - nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda w
pewsey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at Kittiwake for two nights whilst doing Sue's withy pot course and wished I could have stayed for longer. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, good quality fixtures and furnishing and very relaxing and homely.
Kittiwake is in a fantastic location just a short stroll from picturesque thatched cottages and a lovely beach,
Sue and Dave the owners are so kind and welcoming and full of lots of interesting local knowledge and history.
The accommodation at Kittiwake is very flexible and would be ideal for a large family group, i home to return for a longer stay with my family.
If you get the chance try one of Dave's delicious freshly caught crabs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome from the owners and the stunning coastline
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you , we very much look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baldred
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great hosts”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Only stayed 1 night as I was taking Sue's pot making course, brought wife to navigate the country lanes.
Wish we had stayed longer as the house and owners are very friendly, easy going and provide an education and introduction to the colourful heritage of this area.
The flexibility offered by the layout of the house is brilliant, the location is worth the effort of driving the South Devon lanes safely, glad I did not tow our caravan down for the night though.
Will return to explore the area as had not been around this region for a couple of decades.
Plenty to offer using Kittiwake as a base, do your research, ask questions, enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, people, nautical connections, food
Liked least: Cost of beer in the Hope and Anchor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Thank you. I am considering having basket weaving courses available at other times of year to the holiday maker. Prior notice required in order to have willow suitably prepared.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan811
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hope Cove - Jan 16”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our little stay in Devon for my wife's 40th birthday!

The Kittiwake seaside retreat was perfect for our small family, was well presented and very clean. There was also a plethrora of games and books to keep our 4 year old boy busy in the evenings after a busy day.

Hope Cove is a quaint little place but with plenty to do; from walks to wildlife spotting or even messing about in the surf or casing the rock pools looking for beach treasure at Thurlestone or South Milton Sands.

We hope to visit again soon!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
I am glad you were able to appreciate the variety of activities in Hope Cove even in the winter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
putdes
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Break”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My wife and I were here for a week from the 20th to the 27th November and it is lovely. We
toured the area during the day and spent the evenings in .This is a remote area so the local roads are very narrow so to drive in the dark could be difficult. The weather was good
and with a lot of places to go to it was a very good week. If you stay here then do get a Crab
from the owner as he is the only person now fishing in the local waters for Crab and Lobster.We would come again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
We fish for crab and lobster with 800 pots along the coast from Salcombe to Bigbury Bay, also catch some netfish at certain times of year. Sue makes traditional willow pots and teaches classes at home..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing