We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Magic”
Review of Acre

Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 45 - US$ 65
Description: Breakfast 8am-12 pm, Lunch 12-3pm Mon-Friday, Dinner Daily 5-10pm, Brunch 10am-3pm Saturday & Sunday. Happy Hour 5-7pm Daily. Acre is a 25 acre piece of farmland situated 7 minutes from the quaint, scenic, "old town" of San Jose del Cabo. The first phase of the development is a restaurant and bar set within a natural palm grove. Five acres of organic crops provide fresh produce and ingredients for the restaurant and bar. The grounds are lush, with pathways and other points of interest such as mango and citrus orchards. Parking for 80 vehicles is provided at the southern entrance to the property. A separate event space for behind the restaurant accommodates and caters to larger groups of up to 250.
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast 8am-12 pm, Lunch 12-3pm Mon-Friday, Dinner Daily 5-10pm, Brunch 10am-3pm Saturday & Sunday. Happy Hour 5-7pm Daily. Acre is a 25 acre piece of farmland situated 7 minutes from the quaint, scenic, "old town" of San Jose del Cabo. The first phase of the development is a restaurant and bar set within a natural palm grove. Five acres of organic crops provide fresh produce and ingredients for the restaurant and bar. The grounds are lush, with pathways and other points of interest such as mango and citrus orchards. Parking for 80 vehicles is provided at the southern entrance to the property. A separate event space for behind the restaurant accommodates and caters to larger groups of up to 250.
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

My experience at acre was like nowhere else I've been before. The perfect blend of nostalgia and novelty, a place where you feel like you've been before but with a unique twist. With countless activities that activate your inner child (table tennis and giant Jenga) it feels a bit like a sophisticated adult sleep away camp (but with amazing cuisine and impressive mezcal selection). The staff are warm and accommodating and it's easy to strike up conversations around the fire pit, making new friends from around the world. Highly recommended! It's difficult to explain, you have to go there to truly understand. Acre isn't a place, it's a feeling.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Jessica,

Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor! Thank you for your beautiful words. I'm so happy your experience was unique and fabulous, just like we intended it to be!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
With our best regards,
Romana & Your friends at Acre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018

My partner and I went to Acre to get out of the tourist-y Cabo scene and it did not disappoint. Rather than order off the menu, we opted for the prixe fixe tasting menu. If you do this, there is no actual menu of items for you to choose from, it's chef's choose and the ask you your food allergies and away we went! The food was absolutely divine with unexpected flavors. Service was phenomenal -- one of the best I've ever had -- and the scene was unlike anything I've ever experience. It was like we were eating in a tree house! I highly recommend Acre for dining while you are in Cabo San Lucas or San Jose. If you rent a car and drive yourself, opt for a larger size SUV - we were in a Chevy Beat and the back roads were tough to drive with our tiny little car. GO TODAY!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Dear Nicole,

thank you so much for your visit and your wonderful review! I'm so happy to hear about your wonderful experience with us, and that you enjoyed our Chef's tasting menu, which is among my favorites as well - there's always a new surprising seasonal dish that just blows my mind with the combination of flavors!

It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your return next time you are in town.
Happy holidays to you and your loved ones,
Romana & Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

It was recommended to us by friends. We went for a lunch. Food was delicious, service was excellent. After our lunch we had a tour of the grounds by a lovely young lady, Brittany. She was very knowledgeable and explained the whole sustainable concept that Acre is working towards. Definitely a must visit on any trip to the south Baja.
Check out their website.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank julieneufeld58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Dear Juliene,

thank you so much for your lunch visit and sharing your experience with us! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and visit, and we look forward to welcoming you next time you are in town.

Warm regards, and happy holidays!
Romana & Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

The restaurant building is nice but the surroundings are totally out of place. The owners probably tried to recreate a kind of jungle when all the area in Los Cabos is semi desert so al the plantain trees and other non native trees and flora are totally tasteless and out of place. Going to the dining experience we were a party of 9 from which 6 arrived earlier and opted for the menu tasting 1 of us was vegetarian and also ordered the vegetarian tasting menu. Our initial cocktails were also bland and not very savory. The dinner experience began very badly first because the price paid for the tasting menu was the same for everybody but the portion served for the vegetarian party was far larger than the portion served for the 5 of us that ordered the normal tasting menu in one case the portion for the 5 was exactly the same than the one served for the vegetarian client. The quality of all the tasting menu dishes were bland and tasteless. Later the other friends arrived and joined us and since we were already dining we offered them to share some of our bland dishes and thy were planning to order from the menu. Suddenly the waiter told us that we can’t share our meals or he will be charging additionally, so this was ridiculous because we already were paying for our food and the friends that were joining us were also ordering from the menu. So a discussion began with the waiter and later the manager came to apologize and at the end send us the desserts for everybody for free (by the way the desserts were the best dishes of the night), at the end we paid near $1,000.00 UScy. For an overal poor dining experience. We thank the manager for trying to fix things but they have to work hard to improve things because Cabo is exploding with new places and they can’t oversee this and counting to have a full restaurant with all those flaws.

Date of visit: October 2018
4  Thank Elmexicanito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Dear Elmexicanito,

thank you very much for visiting Acre and sharing your thoughts on the experience you had with us. We're sad to hear you didn't enjoy your dining experience as we intended it to be. The tasting menu is one of our guests' favorite dining options, and we spoke with the team to see how we can improve in the future.

We are always training, learning, and working to be better, and I hope that next time, when you are in town, you visit us again.
With our best regards,
Romana & Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

A friend suggested the trek out there from Cabo San Lucas and while we were driving there I really thought it seemed a long way out to go but upon arriving we u deratood why the schlep!! It's a gorgeous piece of property very close to renowned Flora Farms - which we have also been told is a must - but anyway we sat in the bar and enjoyed a spectacular menu of cocktails all handmade and very creatively presented ! Then we went in a tour of the dozen or so treetop accomodations - a night or two getaway- in small but amazing little cabin style accommodations which were simply but beautifully appointed !! After the tour we we escorted to dinner in the stunning restaurant that boasts a varied and very appetizing menu ! Staff were well informed and excited to share their choices ! Food was excellent and. Itching was left on Any plate ! As they say - the proof was in the pudding !!
A must visit if going to Cabo , San Jose or anywhere close by !!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank superamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Dear superamelia,

thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your wonderful Acre experience here on Trip Advisor. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner and drinks, as well as our treehouses! Perhaps next time we can have you at Acre for a vacation and pamper you with everything we have to offer!

Wishing you a happy holiday season,
Warm regards from Los Cabos,
Romana & Acre tea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acre also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
Animas Bajas, San Jose del Cabo
 

Been to Acre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing