We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seared Is Back To Being True Delight”
Review of Seared

Seared
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Formerly Market, Seared is a Jean-Georges outpost that in our previously visits has been good but not great. This time around, both visits were sensational, good news indeed for Palmilla guests and those coming to check out what a great steakhouse can truly offer.
We started with prawn size shrimp cocktail and their signature black truffle pizza. OMG! Wedge salad is over the top. Main course we shared the 20 oz. bone-in ribeye and it was one of the best. The other visit we had charcoal grilled chicken and red snapper, both really good too.
Signature dessert is their corn souffle, but if you want something truly sinful, get their chocolate chip cookies. Warm, moist and addictive.
Expensive wine list and preposterous wine by the glass prices. Yes this place is very pricey but at least now it is also very special.

Thank LGspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOPalmilla, General Manager at Seared, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear LGspartan,

Thank you so much for returning to visit us at Seared by Jean Georges Vongerichten. We are proud to bring Chef Jean Georges’ renowned culinary creations to our guests and thrilled you had a chance to dine with us during your vacation in Los Cabos. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, from our fresh seafood dishes and selection of fine steaks, to our succulent charcoal grilled chicken and fantastic desserts. We appreciate your wonderful review and will be sure to pass your compliments to our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future, and look forward to welcoming you back for another extraordinary dining experience at Seared!

Peter Bowling
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Wow! Where to begin. First of all, driving into the One and Only Pamilla and it's beautiful grounds, sets the tone for an amazing dining experience. When the taxi dropped us off, we were greeted by someone who welcomed us, by name. The restaurant is beautiful. Contemporary, with dark tones and glass. Seared is a Jean George Vongerichten restaurant and we were expecting great things! Our waiter was amazing, very personable and enthusiastic. There is a wall display of meats; which include steaks from Kansas, waygu beef with certification, Colorado lamb chops. He explained to us what makes their meats so great. We started with a complimentary raspberry "ceviche" and fritter-delicious. 3 types of bread. We started with the truffle pizza-not to be missed and actually had real black truffle, which was nice considering the cost was around $35! and the bacon (pork belly) wrapped huge shrimp. The bacon did not overpower the shrimp but added just enough smoky flavor. I had the short rib which was braised for 4 hours and then quickly flash fried, served with polenta fries. Quite a different preparation but extremely delicious. Hubby had the red snapper and he said it was the best he had! The creamed spinach was nothing special. Dessert was carmelized apple pie with ice cream- yum! Received complimentary mango macaroons, chocolate treat and a jelly like candy. The manager frequented our table quite often to make sure everything was ok. Expect to pay huge prices but what you get is an amazing, delicious dining experience!!! Well worth it!

Thank BloatedcowandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOPalmilla, General Manager at Seared, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear BloatedCowandMo,

Thank you for visiting us at Seared, in collaboration with Michelin-starred Chef Jean Georges Vongerichten. We are excited to hear you enjoyed not only our fine, gourmet appetizers, entrees and desserts—but also our world class service and gorgeous décor. We appreciate your detailed comments about each of the selections you enjoyed from our menu, from our Raspberry Ceviche and fritter starters, to our delicious Black Truffle pizza, succulent short ribs and fresh red snapper entrees, and carmelized apple pie with ice cream dessert. Your feedback means the world to us and we are delighted to know you were pleased with your dining experience with us. We eagerly look forward to serving you again with another extraordinary meal at Seared, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

It started with a request for two glasses of the house cab----$100 dollars later, we were shocked and irritated! We've eaten all over the world at many fine restaurants, but never have we been charged $50 for a glass of house wine. The dinner was average and not memorable at all. We had one salad, two entrees, a side of mashed potatoes and an average bottle of wine for a total of $400!! In comparison, we ate at Cafe des Artistes in the JW Marriott with soup, salad, a great bottle of wine, two entrees and dessert for $250 with gratuity. And I can't emphasize enough how memorable and gourmet each item was! It was a overwhelmingly delicious dinner.

Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOPalmilla, General Manager at Seared, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear sue t,

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at Seared. As a world-class restaurant, we are committed to serving our guests with only the most premium quality ingredients and select products that one would expect from a restaurant of our caliber, and our prices reflect the level of experience that we offer. We hope you might visit us again in the future as we’d love another chance to serve you with the unrivaled dining experience and quality we’re known for as a top-rated restaurant. Thank you for your comments and we hope to serve you again on your next visit to Los Cabos.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Unbelievable Sushi and Ceviche. The Ahi was my favorite but all were amazing. It was the best we have ever had. Service was outstanding.

Thank LizaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOPalmilla, General Manager at Seared, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear LizaS S,

We appreciate your review and the kind comments you made regarding your visit to our restaurant in Los Cabos. Did you perhaps visit Suviche? Regardless of where you meant to post your review, we are delighted that you had a chance to visit us at our stunning location on the Sea of Cortez, and glad your dining experience reflected our commitment to providing world class cuisine with outstanding, unparalleled service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion, and look forward to seeing you in Los Cabos again soon.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

If I could give six stars I would to this very elegant dining establishment. The setting is in the middle of an upscale community with terrific lighting and landscaping. The food was beyond description.... great taste, good portions, wide variety for a steak restaurant. The staff was excellent.....everyone greeted us from the front entry all the way back to our table and our server was beyond helpful and friendly. The only drawback is the pricing....I guess you get what you pay for!!! A great place fir s celebration!

Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOPalmilla, General Manager at Seared, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Wayne H,

We are humbled by your wonderful compliments for our extraordinary culinary creations, fantastic service and beautiful décor at Seared in Los Cabos. Thanks so much for dining with us during your stay in the Baja Peninisula, and for taking the time to share a review on our behalf. We look forward to welcoming you back for another superior dining experience on your next visit to Los Cabos, and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Peter Bowling
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seared also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Seared? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing