We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
41
11
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
11
2
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews condo complex within walking distance basketball hoop sliding glass door san jose three bedroom five minute walk large grocery store cab ride unit tennis pools ocean waves
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

At the recommendation of friends and searching via VRBO, we booked (by email to the owner) 5 nights at the Las Maninitas [VRBO #423467].

PERFECT !! If we were to use one word to describe Las Maninitas then perfect would cover it.

A ground floor unit with a pool at our back door which our 8 year old daughter loved and still allowed for us to relax at the outdoor setting whilst still adequately supervising. Otherwise we would spend all our time at one of the larger beach-front pools in the complex.

The condo complex is meticulously maintained with a great gym, tennis court, BBQ areas, is quiet and with 24 hour security provides a good level of safety. Supermarket, bus stop and restaurants all within short walking distance.

Only word of warning would be timeshare / Vida Vacations. Tell everyone you are a condo owner (wish we knew that tip when we arrived !). Ensure travel from airport is pre-arranged, then ignore all others, even alleged airport employees !!

We tried to do that but got ‘assisted’ from a chap who after assuring me he was actually an employee of the airport and not a timeshare scout, soon disclosed his true colours and tried to hook us into a free breakfast etc etc with a 90 minute presentation to follow. I’m told from talking to other guests here that have been through the process that 90 minutes can turn into ~5 hours, anyway my opinion only, but do your own research.

Similarly, don’t be surprised to be offered activities etc from what we first thought were helpful supermarket staff. All good though, politely decline and they will leave you alone.

That aside, is a brilliant location with some stunning scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Curt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Las Mananitas is a fabulous location. These condos have a high rate of ownder occupancy and it shows in the property. The complex is quiet, clean, groomed and close to everything.

San Jose del Cabo itself is a lovely town with a beautiful old town and many ammenities. Las Mananitas is easly accessbile from the highway if traveling by car. Buses stop just outside the complex for those wanting to experience local transportation. The Mega Mart is just a five minute walk and offers just about anything one would need. We found the meat, fish, bakery and produce to be excellent. There is shopping and dining close by; Old Town is just 10 minutes away by car.

The complex is immaculate and at the end of the hotel zone. It is quiet, comfortable and beautiful. We were there in January and yes the pools were cool. However, after a neighboring owner mentioned it to management the pools warmed up and they were very comfortable.

The units are very spacious and the verandas are marvelous. Our unit was on the ground floor with a small yard for the children to play. We were close to the pools yet nicely removed. We never felt our privacy was affected by being at this level and were happy that we were not lugging our stuff down the elevator every day.

San Jose del Cabo is still recovering from Hurricane Odille. Many of the hotels along the beach are closed due to construction. The Hyatt just behind Las Mananitas is being totally redone as well as some of the businesses in the Mega Mart complex. However, only some of the units closest to the beach at Las Mananitas were affected; most are just fine and occupied. Restaurants and shops are open; Old Town is a joy. The estuary was badly damaged but the wild life has returned is there waiting for you to visit.

This was a wonderful spot we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
2  Thank 01George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

Everything you could ask for! Quiet, clean and very secure. Pools are nicely heated and there are plenty of chairs. Will definitely return! It is a short walk to the Mega and lots of other little stores and restaurants. Also if you have a car there is tons a short drive away.

Stayed: December 2014
1  Thank jenniferward2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Las Mananitas is excellent. The complex is immaculate and the pools are clean and beautiful. Others have complained about the water being too cold, but most of those reviews appear to be during the winter when the weather isn't quite as hot. During our visit in early May 2014, I must say the pool temperature was perfect. The three pool options with attached hot tubs were great. The front pool closest to the ocean was the most crowded (10-15ppl max), but offered really nice ocean views. The 2nd pool (middle option) was our favorite pool. Although this pool was between buildings, it had the clearest ocean view due to it's offset location. We were at that pool almost every day and there was only one or two other small groups there at the same time. We turned our chairs, faced the ocean and then swam in the less "crowded" pool.

The pools offer ice machines for drinks. We just made a water bottle full of a cocktail and brought plastic cups to the pool and then reloaded on ice with our refills. There is also a refrigerator if you are a beer drinker. Adjacent to the pools are grill areas. They offer two gas grills at each with tables for eating. They were cleaned every day and worked excellent. Lastly, there is a putting green, gym, tennis court and basketball hoop to get some exercise in before relaxation.

As for the location, it's perfect. There is constant security to ease your mind. It's a little farther out of town than some other options, but the 10 peso Urbana bus takes you right through the central part of town and it's walk-able if the weather permits. The Mega is walking distance from the complex and offers plenty of food and drink. There are also a few other commercial options like Starbucks, McDonalds, Subway and Dairy Queen in the same complex as the Mega. All the water at the complex is purified and safe to drink and clean vegetables, but I still like to use bottled water when possible. Also, the Mega allows you to pay in American dollars and receive change in pesos. They offer a great exchange rate as they are competing with other stores in the area.

As for beach swimming, this isn't the best as the water is a little rough. There are plenty of beach options nearby that are cheap and easy to get to whenever you want. The bus stop is right across the street from the Mega and it's extremely easy. I suggest either Pamilla or Chileano Bay. Pamilla was a $1/person bus ride and only about 5 minutes. Chileano Bay was $2/person and about 15 minutes. Buses come constantly and all look different, so if you just say where you are going and hop on, it's simple. You can also take the bus to Cabo San Lucas for the day and it's $3/person opposed to $40 cab ride. Once you use the bus once you will see how easy it is to get to a swim-able beach.

I can't say enough about how much we loved this place, area and vacation. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dannymur2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The location is ideal. You can walk to the Mega for groceries and hop a bus for $1 to go into town. We are saving a bundle on cabs.
My only disappointment is that the pools could be warmer. As a Canadian I am not afraid of cool water but I prefer warm. Keeping the pools at 80 degrees F is not warm . Other condos keep their pools at 84-86 which is so pleasant.
Pool amenities are spectacular with comfortable lounges, barbecues and extremely clean washrooms.
The big selling point for me is the location

Room Tip: Being on the 4th floor of the last phase allows a fantastic view of the ocean and the occasional sighting so whales
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews