We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood overload”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: To all our clients we want to inform you that we reopened the doors. Make reservations of at least one day in advance and for groups of 4 or more people. It will be a pleasure to receive it. Thank you! El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years. This
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

It's a local establishment service was excellent food was superb! The ceviche was perfect but you get a Big Bang for your buck so be careful your eyes will be bigger than your stomach. Being a gringo I sheepishly ordered a dozen fresh oysters and they were excellent. I tried to watch other dishes hitting other table and they all looked amazing. I ordered seafood carnival and it was huge a big ceramic pig appeared filled with butterfly shrimp, coconut shrimp, bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp, a fried fish, stuffed clams all on a huge bed of rice. We were the only Caucasians in the restaurant but we felt like the locals. Kids menu is the usual but if I knew Spanish I'm sure something on the huge seafood menu could work. Took a cab from the royal Solaris 10$ Well worth the $$$. 3 kids my wife and l all made gluttons of ourselves on food and drink for 100$ including a healthy tip! We will be back

Thank sterlingb925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear customer,
We love your five stars review but we are afraid is not us. Maybe you are cofused with another restaurant.
Will be nice for them to have your great review on the right site.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic!!! Ambiance a 10 food a 20 service 20. Best dinner while in Cabo San Jose. A must !!!

Thank moseiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We look forward to your next visit! It is our maximum satisfaction to please you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

El Matador stayed open for our anniversary just for us. They had planned to be closed and instead stayed open and treat us to a dinner and night cap that we will always remember. Big thank you for making this a great night.

Thank opus662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello,
We know that it is a great celebration, how not to want to be part of it?
Thank you for choosing us for such a special moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This small family restaurant is hard to find, but worth the adventure.
El Matador provided us with made to order specialties and beautiful service.
The beet salad was crisp fresh with an awesomely light blue cheese dressing.
The others had octopus and a scallop dish served like escargot.
The owner came out later in the evening while we were enjoying some heavenly coffee and a mexican chocolate with a melted dark chocolate inside to show us Matador moves and answer questions about the history of bull fighting.
Do not let the bull fighting turn you off if that is an issue, because Pableo talks about the training and strategies needed to be a competent Matador.
His eloquence was proof of his talents.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrAudreyReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We are happy to meet your expectations.
As you well say, we like to share our bullfighting culture only when people ask about it, without invading the opinions of each one. We apply in our lives the survival strategies that bullfighting teaches to get ahead in the most complicated moments, cultivating courage, strength and positivity always looking to move forward.
This only accompanies our greatest dedication, which is classic gastronomy.
Thank you for allowing us to offer you the El Matador experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Chef Pablo is fantastic. There are not enough words of praise to due him justice. Kind, sweet, talented, pleasant to have in your home, and a superbly gifted chef. As said by many others, every meal was incredible. In the future, we won’t want to visit Cabo unless he is available to cook for our family. The rest of the staff were also top-notch. Jorge as bartender extraordinaire (a true mixologist), Saib as the kindest, most conscientious Butler ever, and Marco and Brian in the kitchen with Pablo were all excellent. We were spoiled beyond belief. Thank you all!

Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Propietario at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

You are fantastic! Thanks for sharing your experience.
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing