We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs UP!!”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: To all our clients we want to inform you that we reopened the doors. Make reservations of at least one day in advance and for groups of 4 or more people. It will be a pleasure to receive it. Thank you! El Matador is the finest restaurant in San Jose, owned by a former Matador, Pablo Velez. It boasts Mediterranean Mexican dining. It is in a neighborhood next to the Nun's Hospital. Their Scallopine Marsala is to die for as well as the other items on the menu. Please add this restaurant to your list. I can't imagine why it hasn't been on there as we have been eating there for at least 3 or 4 years. This
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We took our teenage children to dinner at El Matador. It is a little difficult to find and in a rather residential area. We were seated in a beautiful quiet little inner courtyard. There was only one other table enjoying dinner so it was a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Not sure how well little children would do here.

The service was great, and the owner was pleasant and friendly. He gave us a demonstration about his experiences bull-fighting which we found interesting and enjoyable.

The food was delicious! The appetizers and entrees were yummy. We all ordered different items, and were able to sample each others. Thumbs up to ALL of them.

Based on our experience, I would not hesitate to highly recommend this restaurant. I would love to go back:)

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ShaniS227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Thank you for your visit and review, highly appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2017

Check this out when in Los Cabos. Great food served in a very neat outdoor courtyard. Service was top notch and owner made a point to come over and introduce himself and insure that we were happy with everything. Really enjoyed this restaurant!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank AndrewBausk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your visit and review, I hope see you son, gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

A bit off the beaten path, we actually ate there in 2012. I said to my wife on the ride over from the hotel (which was recommended because everything else was booked) "either this is the best restaurant or god knows how this will end". Thankfully it was a great restaurant and will be revisiting in a few months. The owner/chef came to the table and had a glass of wine with us and a brief conversation to welcome us. The food was amazing, the wine was good. Highly recommend you give it a try, I think you will be pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem!!!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

I appreciate your visit and review, I am glad you could have good experience, thank you for your recommendation, muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We found this restaurant by word of mouth. It came highly recommended so we were eager to try it. It absolutely lived up to the recommendation.
The Caesar salad was fixed table side and was excellent. I shared the New York Strip Steak which is sold by the ounce. By sharing we were able to have a thicker cut, each cooked to the temp we liked. Delicious!
Two people had the rack of lamb and both thought it was excellent.
A highlight of the evening was the dessert coffee, either Mexican with tequila or Spanish with brandy. It's flamed table side which is a show in itself.
The service was wonderful they were very attentive and friendly. We were seated in a courtyard near a pool, heaters readily available if it got chilly. We found this restaurant by word of mouth. It came highly recommended so we were eager to try it. It absolutely lived up to the recommendation.
The Caesar salad was fixed table side and was excellent. I shared the New York Strip Steak which is sold by the ounce. By sharing we were able to have a thicker cut, each cooked to the temp we liked. Delicious!
Two people had the rack of lamb and both thought it was excellent.
A highlight of the evening was the dessert coffee, either Mexican with tequila or Spanish with brandy. It's flamed table side which is a show in itself.
The service was wonderful they were very attentive and friendly. We were seated in a courtyard near a pool, heaters readily available if it got

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 139ginnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Front Office Manager at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

we are glad to know that you found us by word of mouth and you got please, muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The octupus appy was very good. there were 4 in our party. Two had their fish and the other 2 ate their filet. Wonderful meal with good service. They hade a good wine list too.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank ScoobyHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloelmatador, Owner at El Matador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for visit and review, muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Matador also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing