We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home”
Review of La Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marina Inn
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Such an enjoyable stay and you won't find better prepared food anywhere in the town of San Jose. That's something we verified during our trip. The prices may be 4 times higher in town, but the food is exponentially better here. Clean, hospitable, extremely affordable. The pool is very, very nice. The marina is undergoing major change, however, and I wonder how much longer La Playita/La Marina Resort will be able to stay.

We've been twice now and I want to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RockyRaccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed in penthouse c. My husband has stayed in all of them. This was my first time. It was great!! Huge space! Living room area along with a full kitchen.
The food was tremendous. We got up early, walked across the road to the marina, fished, then brought our catch back and had the chef at the restaurant whip up some of his specialties. Great 2 for 1 beers and margaritas for happy hour.
Perfect place if you want to be AT the fishing...beautiful beach...very nice people!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Great palce to stay and get away to fish. The food was not good but great! Not fancy if that is what you are looking for but clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmitch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This place is a bit off the beaten track. We actually found it by playing the game of getting lost! It's right next to the San Jose del Cabo marina which sounds easy to find but it's not!. We didn't stay there but we did have easily the most delicious (and perhaps the cheapest) lunch of our week long trip. Simply prepared fresh catch that was utterly satisfying and delicious. Go...drink margaritas...perfect!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Great room and atmosphere. The management is great and so are the locals. This is directly across from the new marina and is the best place to stay if you are going to fish with any of the local panga fleets.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Danon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#34 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.6 km away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.3 km away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
5.5 km away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#25 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Inn

Property: La Marina Inn
Address: Calle Los Pescadores S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#24 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 5,818
Hotel Class:3 star — La Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
La Playita Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Marina Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing