We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walled Retreat in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Walled Retreat in the City”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our stay here was great. The room was charming with a small kitchenette and living room and the grounds were outstanding with a gorgeous gem of a small pool. There are two buildings and we were not in the main building. There is even a chapel and space for a wedding or party at the back of the property, but the feel of the hotel is very intimate. The location was walking distance to the art district and the old town -- very picturesque!

Room Tip: The main building is a little more picturesque and a room by the pool would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldgirlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPSERVICE, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
All of our staff say's "Thank You" for your considerate words. Everyone is working to provide a comfortable, peacefull and enjoyable stay. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy the local area. We are currently going through a redo of some of the streets to reclaim the historical feel and establish more walking "non car zones" Please ask about any return guest promotions and thank you again for the time to review. All the staff sends a big hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    118
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
62
165
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at El Encanto Inn one night at the end of a 2 week trip from our timeshare in Cabo San Lucas.
The week before check-in we were having lunch in San Jose and decided to find the hotel. The manager was very helpful, even showing what room we would be in. As soon as I walked thru the arch to the garden and pool area I knew I made a great choice!! The Inn is absolutely amazing, beautifully tended gardens, heated pool, beautiful rooms and very clean. There is even a little chapel on the property.
It was a treat being able to walk down town for dinner and breakfast. Your right in town but when you're at the hotel it is very quiet and secluded, no street noise at all. We were the only ones at the pool all afternoon so it felt like we had the whole Inn to ourselves.
Management is friendly and helpful, they suggested we have breakfast at Jazmine's, great choice.
If you decide to stay here, you won't be disappointed!!
My only regret is that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPSERVICE, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank for your time to review. We get a lot of guests that stay with us in front of thier time share stay or on thier way out of town. As you mentioned, spending a little time in historical San Jose can add to the experience of visiiting beautiful southern Baja and specificly being able to share the fun of living in a small, lovely town like San Jose del Cabo. Thanks Again from all the Staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stay in this hotel on my way to and from Todos Santos when I arrive too late to travel further. The staff is gracious and the rooms quiet, comfortable and attractive. This last time I splurged on a garden apartment and loved having a sitting room and kitchen. The hotel is in the Art District and an easy walk to anything in town. The pool area is lovely.

Room Tip: If you are in the pool area it might be possible to be disturbed by a party or a wedding that is hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thanks for your very positive comments, certainly our staff is gracious and our rooms are quiet, comfortable and attractive, what characterizes the Garden Suites is the kitchen area and a comfortable area to relax and the king size bed, this room is excellent for long stays and families!, and the pool area is one of the favorite’s areas of our guests, where they can spend the day reading a book or enjoining their ipads or laptops with our free wireless internet access!.

Finally but not less important our location, which is perfect for all our guest who loves to walk around and discover what does the town and its people have to offer, there are a lot of things to do just steps away!.

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at the Encanto Inn over the Christmas holiday period. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The pool area was lovely and heated a bonus at Christmas time. Usually the pool was very quiet and it felt like your own private area, all the areas around the hotel were nice and tranquil. I had a garden room suite and it had plenty of room in there with a kitchen area, sitting area, bathroom and walk in dressing area big enough to accommodate all the snorkelling and fish gear that we had bought with us without feeling cramped. The hotel is in the historic central area of town which meant fabulous restaurants within minutes walks. I have never been anywhere with so many great restaurants, we ate at a different one every night for 2 weeks and still didn't cross off our entire list of places to eat. There are some nice art galleries in town and the usual shops but it is all fairly subdued. Thursday evenings with the art walk round town was nice and this is about as lively as it gets. The main san jose beach was about a 15 minute walk from town and there is a nice walk down there by the side of the estuary - great to go for a run on a cirular loop. There are lots of nice beaches up the coastal road and I would definitely not recommend staying in an all inclusive resort as there are too many great beaches and restaurants to visit rather than confine your time to one area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelmsf0rdTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments to our hotel, certainly the maintenance of our rooms and public areas is very important to us, this way we ensure that we offer an authentic Mexican experience!.

The pool area, which is heated during cooler weather, is one of the favorite’s areas of our guests, there you can swim or spend the day reading a book or enjoining your ipad or laptop with our free wireless internet access!.

What characterizes the Garden Suites is the kitchen area, the comfortable area to relax and the king size bed, this room is excellent for long stays and families!, in the other hand our location is perfect for all our guests who loves to walk around and discover what does the town and its people have to offer, there are a lot of things to do just steps away!.

I will be more than glad in welcoming you personally, please let me know when you come back to San Jose del Cabo. Be certain that you will be welcome to el Encanto Inn, “your home away from home”,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at El Encanto just one night at the end of January prior to going to our timeshare in Cabo. The location is within easy walking distance to many restaurants and bars, and many art galleries and shops. The property is very charming and a nice change from a large resort. The pool looked very inviting, although time did not allow us to use it. The breakfast that came with our room was off-property at a nearby restaurant, but was a short walk and was very good. Our room had a comfortable, although somewhat firm bed; bathroom was large. Rate was perhaps a bit high, but we were there during peak travel time. All in all we enjoyed our short stay and will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hldMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thanks for your positive comments, I really appreciate your valuable feedback!. Certainly our location, in the heart of the historic downtown and art district, is perfect for all our guests who loves to walk around and discover what does the town and its people have to offer, there are a lot of things to do just steps away, including beaches!.

Our property is an authentic Mexican style hacienda hotel, with beautiful gardens and a lovely chapel which is a dream wedding location, also the pool area, which is heated during cooler weather, is one of the favorite’s areas of our guests, there you can swim or spend the day alone or with your friends, family or children, reading a book or enjoining your ipad or laptop with our free wireless internet access!.

Our light but complete breakfast, is the best way to start the day!, actually many of our guests loves this breakfast!, because we ensure that we offer a quality breakfast.

I will be more than glad in welcoming you personally, please let me know when you come back to our beautiful hotel, and be certain that you will be welcome to el Encanto Inn, “your home away from home”, once again thank you very much for your compliments,

Best regards,

John Paul Avellaneda
Manager
Encanto Inn, Hotel, Spa & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 km away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.7 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.6 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,265 - ₹ 11,044
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing