We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
415
553
262
86
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
553
262
86
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscactus gardensan joseswim up barsmall resortall inclusive packagelos cabosan older hoteltaco barbar closeslots of fresh fruitpartial ocean viewtacosstar resortmariachi bandmexican dishesgarden viewbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,003 - 1,008 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2006

We stayed for a week from Dec 28th to jan 4th. The all inclusive is not worth it. The food is bad and the drinks are made from very cheap liquor. The service is wonderful and the staff very friendly. It is in a good location, bus stops to San Lucus and San Jose are very close. There is a great mega market within walking distance. Go there and get snacks, drinks etc. If you are on a strict budget this is the hotel for you. The pool and beach area is wonderful. To get around the electcity problem. It does not work without your key in the slot inside the door. Just get a piece of paper and put there you will come in to a cool room. If not you have to wait for the air to kick on.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LightPacker29822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2005

Overall a great relaxing stay in a non-luxury environment.

We stayed for the full week before Christmas: checked-in Monday 12/19 and checked-out Monday 12/26.
We had two rooms: King for the adults, 2 doubles for our teenagers.

Ask for the safe lock-and-key when you check in (free). A little bit annoying to only get one door card key and need to use it to get electricity in the room (though you can fool the reader for electrical with any rigid rectangular shape ;-).

We had the all-inclusive package and decided to rent a car from the airport for the week. Just about everyone at the hotel speaks sufficient English to interact or can grab someone who does. Key guy at front desk was Urbano.

Rooms were fine for a 2 star hotel. Beds were firm but nothing we lost sleep over.

The drink portion of the all-inclusive was fine. Food could use improvements, especially dinner.

Service was friendly though not necessarily the best organized or the speediest but then again it's a vacation so time has a different meaning...

Pool is heated and quite enjoyable. Jacuzzi is fine too. Private beach area is loosely fenced and includes proper shading.

Volleyball, artificial putting area (think minigolf quality NOT pro), and tennis court are right there.

Beach is a little steep just in front of the hotel but realy swimmable. You can also walk 50 yards either way for a gentler slope. Lots of rays in the water, especially later afternoon though.

The best beach we found (and we tried over a half dozen) for swimming and snorkeling is La Palmilla, about 10 minutes drive to the south.

We drove all the way to Cabo Pulmo based on what we read, but it was NOT worth the trip. Windy cape, rough waters, nothing special underwater that I could see snorkeling.

Downtown San Jose is 5 minute drive. Los Cabos is ~30 minutes drive. Supermarket is about 5 minute walk.

The week before Christmas was very quiet, likely less than half full. Lots more guests (noise, short lines at the bar & snack area) but nothing too bad.

In conclusion:
- if you're looking for a relaxing value, it's great (consider having a couple of dinners in town)
- if you love snorkeling, rent a car or check the shuttle service (a few times a week) and go to La Palmilla
- if you're looking for true tropical luxury, pick a different place

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank transnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2005

I've stayed at all the all-inclusive hotels on the beach in SJD and have never had a bad experience. One regret is that if the food is paid for, you tend not to try any other restaurants. So when the Posada Real offered a room at a great price and all-inclusive drinks, I thought it was worth a shot (<:

1) The hotel itself - nice, spacious lobby, bar in lobby, restaurant off lobby, reasonably attentive and friendly front desk personnel, somewhat indifferent lobby bartenders. House tequila was definitely a house tequila - Tres Reyes, but it was okay in the blended national drink. Beer was Tecate. You could get higher end brands, but it required payment (reasonable).

2) The restaurant was truly a good value. It was far less expensive than most of the restaurants in town, and the food was surprisingly good (try the Tampiquena). Fish tacos were good. And drinks were complementary even in the restaurant.

3) Pool area - not bad. Good sized pool, wading pool, and jacuzzi. Lots of lounge chairs and no trouble getting one. Bartender at the pool bar was a cut above the boys inside. He worked hard and had a personality. Pool restaurant was convenient and efficient.

4) Odds and ends.

The room was a solid Best Western room. Good sized, nice balcony. Beds were a little hard, like all hotels reviewed in San Jose.

Hot water pressure in shower came in cycles, making a shower an adventure. Purified water on tap.

They would only issue one room key, which was then used to power the optional electrical appliances in the room, like the lights, TV, and air conditioning. If you have two people doing two different things, having one room key is inconvenient (THIS WAS THE WORST PART OF THE EXPERIENCE, and it wasn't all that bad).

The clientele - seemed like mostly Europeans, Canadians, couples. Not bad looking people, and friendly.

I was there on a fishing trip, and this was a good fit. It would probably be good for a family vacation as well. I recommend it as a very budget-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2005

We absolutely loved the Posada Real, probably because we weren't paying four star prices and weren't expecting four star luxury. But for the money, there's no place better. We only paid $84 per night on a manager's special. Ocean front rooms, beautiful pool and swim up bar with all beverages included in the price of your room, you can't beat that. Plus they even offered a free taxi to a nearby swimming beach on Fridays and Sundays. Urbano at the front desk was a joy. He was always willing to help, and came to our aid several times when there was a language barrier.
We loved the location too. The beach is gorgeous! And it's only a 10 minute walk to the Mega complex - great grocery shopping, McDonald's, and various other eateries. We preferred their food to the hotel's most of the time. The Mega bakery has a lot of variety at excellent prices. You just pick up a tray and tongs, and select the items from open bins.
A 10 to 15 minute walk in the other direction takes you to the bird sanctuary/estuary. You can take a leisurely stroll along the inlet and get into the town of San Jose Del Cabo in another 15 minutes. It's a nice walk, away from the main road/traffic.
We took advantage of one of the time share deals and got a free day trip to La Paz, plus a free taxi to the airport when we departed. La Paz wasn't all that wonderful, but the trip to and from was a lot of fun. Our driver, Dionicio with Rancho Tours, was a great host!
Couple helpful hints... We recommend paying the extra money for use of the refrigerator. You can purchase wonderful baked items at the Mega store, and have them for breakfast in your room. There was a coffee maker in the room, and we brought our own coffee and Melitta filters so we could have the kind of coffee we enjoy. Breakfast at the restauarnt was a bit pricey, and not all that good unless you like really spicy foods, which I don't...
Also, there are no screens on the glass sliding doors. So if you leave the door open at night to listen to the waves and feel the ocean breeze, you will have little gnats flying around your head. Falling asleep to the ocean breezes was well worth the slight annoyance.
Not many of the staff speak English, which can be a bit of a problem, although we were lucky Urbano was usually around to help. It's a good idea to brush up on your Spanish anyway. You'll be glad you did!
All in all, it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. And not because the hotel was perfect, but because we didn't expect it to be. We know there will be cucarachas in Mexico, and as long as they are dead, that's okay. We loved the place for all of the good things, and didn't get upset with the little things that weren't perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Lxdibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2005

We stayed at the Posada Real from Oct. 10th to 16th 2005. This IS the “OFF” season for Baja, as it is the Hurricane season. (Also the HOT and at times, Humid and rainy season). We had a fantastic time! Seeing we Won this trip from a drawing, we had no choice in where we stayed. We WILL stay here again, as it is very worth it for us to pay. The Hotel is great! The STAFF is, “THE GREATEST”! These are some of the most helpful and friendly people! “Juanito”, (Juan) is “El Capitian” over the food staff. He Made us feel like Family! “Osito” (little bear), Ezekekial, Urbano, and Celia & the house keeping staff, were all VERY friendly. We have found if you treat the Locals, and employees, as friends, they became “GOOD FRIENDS”! The “upper management” were more strict, and “Less friendly” but their staff more than makes up for them! A friendly staff like this can make your stay so much more enjoyable, even if it is NOT the Westin Resort!

The Grounds were very well kept. Rooms were like your average nice U.S. hotel. 3 story building all with balconies, most all rooms have ocean views. Beds were comfortable, A/C, TV, worked fine. Pool was great. No Ocean swimming at the beach due to “currents and undertows”, but few ventured in anyway with no problems. Hotel is within walking distance of San Jose, (long walk in, $5.00 cab back).

Prices for food and gifts have gone way up since our last stay in the Cabo area 6 years ago. Prices there are about the same as here in the U.S., sometimes even more.
The Hotel restaurant food is VERY GOOD! (You MUST try the Cesar and Waldorf salads). Buffet Breakfast was good but pricey at 120 pesos, (just under $12.00 U.S.).
Best restaurant in San Jose for authentic Mexican food was marisco’s, (spelled like a gringo, just ask the taxi driver to go to Marisco’s, He will know. It is ½ block west of the main drag, down town San Jose).

Watch the free drinks! Too much Heat, humidity, & Tequila = a VERY drunk person!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Drummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews