We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed 10 January 2006

We were disappointed in the Posada Real. The food was of average quality but they constantly ran out of plates and utensils. There was very few food options and as a result we ate out several times even though we were on an all inclusive. The drinks were also so/so and the pool was not maintained properly.

The grounds are nice and the rooms are adequate, but few staff understand English and the inability to get more than 1 key per room is maddening. There is no entertainment in the hotel, so don't expect to stick around at night.

Also, no security at night.

Generally, a poor experience.

Stayed: December 2005
7  Thank allanwexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 956 of 1,318 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, Ga
17
Reviewed 7 January 2006

We stayed for a week from Dec 28th to jan 4th. The all inclusive is not worth it. The food is bad and the drinks are made from very cheap liquor. The service is wonderful and the staff very friendly. It is in a good location, bus stops to San Lucus and San Jose are very close. There is a great mega market within walking distance. Go there and get snacks, drinks etc. If you are on a strict budget this is the hotel for you. The pool and beach area is wonderful. To get around the electcity problem. It does not work without your key in the slot inside the door. Just get a piece of paper and put there you will come in to a cool room. If not you have to wait for the air to kick on.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2005

Overall a great relaxing stay in a non-luxury environment.

We stayed for the full week before Christmas: checked-in Monday 12/19 and checked-out Monday 12/26.
We had two rooms: King for the adults, 2 doubles for our teenagers.

Ask for the safe lock-and-key when you check in (free). A little bit annoying to only get one door card key and need to use it to get electricity in the room (though you can fool the reader for electrical with any rigid rectangular shape ;-).

We had the all-inclusive package and decided to rent a car from the airport for the week. Just about everyone at the hotel speaks sufficient English to interact or can grab someone who does. Key guy at front desk was Urbano.

Rooms were fine for a 2 star hotel. Beds were firm but nothing we lost sleep over.

The drink portion of the all-inclusive was fine. Food could use improvements, especially dinner.

Service was friendly though not necessarily the best organized or the speediest but then again it's a vacation so time has a different meaning...

Pool is heated and quite enjoyable. Jacuzzi is fine too. Private beach area is loosely fenced and includes proper shading.

Volleyball, artificial putting area (think minigolf quality NOT pro), and tennis court are right there.

Beach is a little steep just in front of the hotel but realy swimmable. You can also walk 50 yards either way for a gentler slope. Lots of rays in the water, especially later afternoon though.

The best beach we found (and we tried over a half dozen) for swimming and snorkeling is La Palmilla, about 10 minutes drive to the south.

We drove all the way to Cabo Pulmo based on what we read, but it was NOT worth the trip. Windy cape, rough waters, nothing special underwater that I could see snorkeling.

Downtown San Jose is 5 minute drive. Los Cabos is ~30 minutes drive. Supermarket is about 5 minute walk.

The week before Christmas was very quiet, likely less than half full. Lots more guests (noise, short lines at the bar & snack area) but nothing too bad.

In conclusion:
- if you're looking for a relaxing value, it's great (consider having a couple of dinners in town)
- if you love snorkeling, rent a car or check the shuttle service (a few times a week) and go to La Palmilla
- if you're looking for true tropical luxury, pick a different place

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank transnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2005

I've stayed at all the all-inclusive hotels on the beach in SJD and have never had a bad experience. One regret is that if the food is paid for, you tend not to try any other restaurants. So when the Posada Real offered a room at a great price and all-inclusive drinks, I thought it was worth a shot (<:

1) The hotel itself - nice, spacious lobby, bar in lobby, restaurant off lobby, reasonably attentive and friendly front desk personnel, somewhat indifferent lobby bartenders. House tequila was definitely a house tequila - Tres Reyes, but it was okay in the blended national drink. Beer was Tecate. You could get higher end brands, but it required payment (reasonable).

2) The restaurant was truly a good value. It was far less expensive than most of the restaurants in town, and the food was surprisingly good (try the Tampiquena). Fish tacos were good. And drinks were complementary even in the restaurant.

3) Pool area - not bad. Good sized pool, wading pool, and jacuzzi. Lots of lounge chairs and no trouble getting one. Bartender at the pool bar was a cut above the boys inside. He worked hard and had a personality. Pool restaurant was convenient and efficient.

4) Odds and ends.

The room was a solid Best Western room. Good sized, nice balcony. Beds were a little hard, like all hotels reviewed in San Jose.

Hot water pressure in shower came in cycles, making a shower an adventure. Purified water on tap.

They would only issue one room key, which was then used to power the optional electrical appliances in the room, like the lights, TV, and air conditioning. If you have two people doing two different things, having one room key is inconvenient (THIS WAS THE WORST PART OF THE EXPERIENCE, and it wasn't all that bad).

The clientele - seemed like mostly Europeans, Canadians, couples. Not bad looking people, and friendly.

I was there on a fishing trip, and this was a good fit. It would probably be good for a family vacation as well. I recommend it as a very budget-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2005

We absolutely loved the Posada Real, probably because we weren't paying four star prices and weren't expecting four star luxury. But for the money, there's no place better. We only paid $84 per night on a manager's special. Ocean front rooms, beautiful pool and swim up bar with all beverages included in the price of your room, you can't beat that. Plus they even offered a free taxi to a nearby swimming beach on Fridays and Sundays. Urbano at the front desk was a joy. He was always willing to help, and came to our aid several times when there was a language barrier.
We loved the location too. The beach is gorgeous! And it's only a 10 minute walk to the Mega complex - great grocery shopping, McDonald's, and various other eateries. We preferred their food to the hotel's most of the time. The Mega bakery has a lot of variety at excellent prices. You just pick up a tray and tongs, and select the items from open bins.
A 10 to 15 minute walk in the other direction takes you to the bird sanctuary/estuary. You can take a leisurely stroll along the inlet and get into the town of San Jose Del Cabo in another 15 minutes. It's a nice walk, away from the main road/traffic.
We took advantage of one of the time share deals and got a free day trip to La Paz, plus a free taxi to the airport when we departed. La Paz wasn't all that wonderful, but the trip to and from was a lot of fun. Our driver, Dionicio with Rancho Tours, was a great host!
Couple helpful hints... We recommend paying the extra money for use of the refrigerator. You can purchase wonderful baked items at the Mega store, and have them for breakfast in your room. There was a coffee maker in the room, and we brought our own coffee and Melitta filters so we could have the kind of coffee we enjoy. Breakfast at the restauarnt was a bit pricey, and not all that good unless you like really spicy foods, which I don't...
Also, there are no screens on the glass sliding doors. So if you leave the door open at night to listen to the waves and feel the ocean breeze, you will have little gnats flying around your head. Falling asleep to the ocean breezes was well worth the slight annoyance.
Not many of the staff speak English, which can be a bit of a problem, although we were lucky Urbano was usually around to help. It's a good idea to brush up on your Spanish anyway. You'll be glad you did!
All in all, it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. And not because the hotel was perfect, but because we didn't expect it to be. We know there will be cucarachas in Mexico, and as long as they are dead, that's okay. We loved the place for all of the good things, and didn't get upset with the little things that weren't perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Lxdibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
457 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
99 reviews
2.1 km away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
377 reviews
0.6 km away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,892 reviews
0.6 km away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: ₹ 5,574 - ₹ 14,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing