We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“High quality for low price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High quality for low price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

While this hotel is one of the oldest beachside hotels in Cabo, you get a lot for what you pay. Good service and clean rooms. Nice location on the beach in hotel area walkable to historic San Jose del Cabo and restaurants. Option of all inclusive rates, if you want to just sit on beach and go nowhere. Entertainment in lobby restuarant most nights. Lots of Mexcan families so you feel like you are not in typical Gringo resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casacabanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    455
    216
    76
    59
See reviews for
287
479
57
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I spent 2 weeks here. Breakfasts and lunches (at buffet) were good, dinners were terrible. Almost all the staff members were great, a few who need an attitude adjustment. The beds were hard as rock, entertainment was boring, and the "hot tub" was dirty and cold. Drinks were great though, all day service(bar closes at 11pm.........) . I enjoyed my trip but next time posada will not be an option.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh ON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Spent a week in March and had a great time. The beach is fabulous and you can walk forever in both directions. Rooms were dated but very clean on a daily basis......bathrooms could definitely use updating. The service was the best in my many years of visiting Mexico. From the desk down to servers maids etc....outstanding. Was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food at all meals. We fished on 2 days and the Captain at the Posada made us 2 wonderful dinners complete with cerviche apps(mahi-mahi, grouper and snapper). Drinks were good and enjoyed the best tasting wine of any resort we visited in the past years. I believe they were using a Carlo Rossi...mediocre at home but EXCELLENT for Mexican wine.The grounds were kept spotless and the array oc cactus in the yard was quite cool.Greaty value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed six nights with a friend at Posada Real in the beginning of March. The rooms were clean and fairly basic and they had a TV with cable, although most shows were either in Spanish, dubbed into Spanish, and only a few were in English with Spanish subtitles. That wasn't a problem for me because I speak Spanish, but would be an issue for non-Spanish speakers.

Posada Real is an "all inclusive" resort, although they have various meal plans. We were signed up for the breakfast and drinks meal plan, and I never ate lunch or dinner at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was fairly good, although usually nothing too fancy. There were always fresh fruit juices (the flavors varied from day to day but could be orange, papaya, watermelon, strawberry, pineapple, or honeydew). They also had an omelette bar every day and a rotating selection of breakfast foods such as eggs, potatoes, and sausages. There was french toast every day, as well as fresh fruit and fresh Mexican pastries. The coffee was decent (again, nothing special, but drinkable). I ate there for six days and didn't get tired of the food, which I suppose is a good sign. There were quite a few hotel employees around during breakfast, refilling coffee, taking dirty plates, refilling food, etc. Overall, I was quite pleased with breakfast.

The hotel had a well-maintained cactus garden in the center courtyard area, and a smallish pool next to a cabana bar. I guess it was supposed to be a "swim up" bar but I never saw anyone actually order drinks while in the pool. The pool was in pretty good condition, although the tiles could have used a cleaning. The water temperature was pleasant, and the pool was never crowded. There was a hot tub close to the pool, but it was more like a warm tub - the water was barely warmer than the pool water.

There were enough lounge chairs to go around, although the ones under the palapas were always nabbed first so it was hard to get one in the shade. A guy from the bar would come around one in a while and take drink orders from the people at the beach.The hotel had marked off an area for its guests, and the roving beach vendors had to stay outside that area. The vendors never bothered us while we were there.

The included drinks were average, I would say. They weren't super strong, but they were included so I couldn't complain. Their house beer was Indio brand, which I gather is sort of like the Mexican Budweiser - weak, but not offensive.

We were at the hotel before the spring break crowd descended on Cabo, but I was still surprised by how old most of the hotel clientele was. I'm 31, my friend is 39, and I felt like we were nearly the youngest people there. Most of the guests were at least my parents', if not my grandparents' age. The music they played in the lobby after dinner fit with this age group - it sounded like bad elevator music. There really wasn't much going on after dark at the hotel.

The hotel staff was helpful and generally friendly, but very few of them seemed very happy. Most seemed to hate their job. I felt kind of bad for them, and at times the hotel ambiance seemed kind of depressing because of it.

Overall, the hotel was a decent value for the money, but I probably wouldn't return. It just wasn't my thing.

Room Tip: We were in a room that was not facing the courtyard and got zero wifi signal in the room. I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariposita_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at this little hotel. our kids were with us for 1 week and we were on our own for the second week. We had read all the reviews on this website and knew what to expect. We don't go to Mexico to sit in our room, so we knew it wouldn't be spectacular,but we also expected the service to be excellent..and it was . Alot of these people have worked at this Hotel for a long time, and you could tell that they were proud of their Hotel and their jobs. From the Maintenence Crew to the Maids to the servers to the Front Desk Staff. I'm sure that you could not find better service at a 5+ resort. Thank You to all of the Staff for Making our holiday so so fantastic! And our rep for Westjet Vacations- The juan and only...Juan ! Thank You! We loved San Jose. Being able to walk to everything, Zippers on the beach,the Estuary,Shooters in Town, The Church, The Art night on Thursday. All the people we met from Canada and the States. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: any room has a great view of the cactus garden and/or ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kim154921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
28.3 km away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#58 of 114 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
28.5 km away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#16 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 km away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#17 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,400 - ₹ 11,574
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing