We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
419
557
261
86
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
557
261
86
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cactus garden san jose swim up bar small resort all inclusive package los cabos an older hotel taco bar bar closes lots of fresh fruit partial ocean view tacos star resort mariachi band mexican dishes garden view buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Posada Real in February for seven days and were more than pleased with our all inclusive choice. The staff really go out of your way to make your trip enjoyable. The service is truly outstanding, just as fabulous as any 5 star hotel. It's true that the facilities are a little dated, but they are kept immaculately clean. The food was terrific, lots of choices at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really enjoyed the authentic mexican food, especially the nachos and burritos at the beach bar! Overall the atmosphere is quiet and laid-back. Everything shuts down by 11 pm, which suited us just fine because we came to relax and unwind. You can walk for miles on the long stretch of beach, it's absolutely gorgeous. Even though the surf was high we had fun playing in the waves. We went horseback riding ($50 US for 2 people for an hour) and enjoyed bargaining with the beach vendors for deals on silver jewelry. We will be back to San Jose del Cabo and would definitely stay at Posada again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarronMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Posada is very quaint. It shows its age here and there and some wear and tear on the facility is evident in places but it is apparent the staff works very hard to keep the place clean and up to par. In many ways it's a nice departure from the "big box" neighboring hotels - very laid back and pretty quiet after midnight - and I think Posada's more diminutive size pays dividends in terms of being able to provide a higher level of personal service. We hit a little bump as soon as we arrived. There was a very bad odor in the room we were first given (not sure of the origin but definitely not what you want to experience after a long day's travel) but to the credit of the staff and probably some good fortune that there were other rooms available, they had us relocated within minutes. The next room had a couple malfunctioning light fixtures and again, the staff was on the case within minutes. This really was the story throughout our stay. What would have been a pretty ordinary place was made exceptional by the staff who at every turn went to great lengths to see that we were taken care of. People like Bonito (whose name you'll see mentioned in other reviews - because he is THE MAN) and many other who day after day met us with a smile and a kind word and tirelessly worked to keep us hydrated and happy are really what made the Posada a great place to stay. We didn't do the all-in food plan and ate just a couple meals at the hotel. Obviously just one opinion here but we found the hotel food to be very so-so and we were glad that we didn't go all-in. However, drinks were decent and plentiful and the poolside snacks were yummy and reasonably priced. The Posada's location suited us perfectly. Miles of beach right in front of the hotel. A very easy walk (or a $5 cab ride) downtown gave us a great selection of food and drink options. Habenero's (surf and turf!) Don Sanchez (the Cuban band - woah) ,Tropicana, the best salsa on the planet at Jazmin's, excellent breakfast at Casa Natalia were just a few highlights. In general, San Jose del Cabo is much more laid back than Cabo San Lucas and a great fit for us this trip. Our hat is off to the truly accommodating and kind people who work so hard to make the Posada Real a great place to spend a few days. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrGuitarMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in Posada Real for 10 days in February 2012. This was our first time to Los Cabos and I couldn't be happier with our choice in hotels. We had a rental car and explored the whole peninsula south of La Paz and I can truly say that for our needs, Posada Real was the best choice. Here's why:

* Location:
This is a beachfront hotel along the main hotel beach in San Jose del Cabo. You step from the hotel onto the sand or within minutes you can walk to downtown (shopping/restaurants) or to the beautiful San Jose Estuary. It is about a 20 minute drive to downtown Cabo San Lucas and about 1 1/2 hours to Todos Santos. If you plan on doing a lot of sightseeing, rent a car. Taxi fares add up quickly.

* Hotel Size:
The hotel has only 90 or so rooms. All rooms have balconies. Most have an ocean view. We booked a regular room and were treated to a second floor ocean and pool view (room 210). Perfection!

* Food:
I was very skeptical of the food at an all inclusive and to be honest I was fully prepared to eat most meals outside the hotel. The cost of the room was so reasonable that I was not expecting much. To our delight, the food here was very good... even better than a 5 star all inclusive in Cancun. All meals are served buffet style. The food is authentic Mexican food and the dishes change every day. They have everything from meat tacos, grilled fish, chicken, etc. We ate several meals outside the hotel and were disappointed at the quality compared to the hotel food.

* Price:
You cannot get a better value than Posada Real. We spent roughly $100 USD per day for two people on the all-inclusive plan through Bookit.com. Because we paid so little, we didn't mind splurging on the occasional meal out and on a rental car for our entire stay. Keep in mind that this is a budget hotel and it is Mexico. Manage your expectations and you will have a fabulous stay.

* Ambience:
We loved the cozy feel of the hotel. The guests were comprised mainly of Mexicans and Canadians with a few Americans thrown in for good measure. The waiters are all very friendly and I can truly say that the staff and service are excellent. Thank you Posada!!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. Most face the pool/ocean. Simply ask for an ocean view and you cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kwren76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I always stay at Posaada Real a day before or a day after or both surrounding my timeshare week at a different resort. It's a great place and has a lot to offer. I don't do the meal plan, but I do enjoy free alcoholic beverages and a really good complete buffet breakfast, included. There is a tennis court, ping pong, putting area and a masseuse available. This is a very friendly place, on the Sea of Cortez with a great beach near the town of San Jose del Cabo, which I really love. the only thing I was not satisfied with are the beds and pillows....room for improvement. I would probably be very happy staying there for a longer time and I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Go for a garden and ocean view. The Cactus garden is naturally appealing.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okadnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Two thing to know before you go. 1) This is San Jose Del Cabo. It is by no means Cabo. If you are looking to hook up, stay out until 3 am, hit the rock bars, this is the complete wrong place for you. Rebook now for a Cabo resort. San Jose is a sleepy town that rolls up the sidewalks at 8 PM. The resort has very limited singles or chance to hook up. Mostly older folks, and people with kids. If you read a review from someone that complains the bar closes at 11PM, they did not read rule number 1. Rule number 2, is you are going to a 2 star resort. If you expect fine beds, big room, and steak and lobster, go to Cabo. This is 2 star place. 40% Canadian, 40% Mexican, 20% American make up of guests.

Trans cabo is the best way to get from airport to hotel. Very reliable. Look on web for them.

San Jose – Mega store (Walmart) is 6 minute walk away. Food, clothing, drugs (legal kind), booze, all there. Taxi anywhere in San Jose is $5 USD for any number of people. Bus is 8 peso each.

Resort – grounds are beautiful with 50 or so cactus species. Take a walk around and really appreciate the grounds. Staff is super friendly. 5 star staff. Ask for a safe key. Be prepared that it takes 1-2 days to get one. Get on the list. Be prepared for this. Free internet throughout resort. Put phone on airport mode and just get internet and e-mail through free wifi. It is free. No text or phone if in airplane mode. Laptops work best in lobby but sometimes in rooms. My phone got e-mails all week. Water – bring double walled water cups. The resort gives 2 water bottles as they want to reduce plastic use. There are 5 gallon water coolers everywhere to refill your water thermos or cups. We did not need bottled water at all. Free beer is Tecate light or dark is a Modelo Negro. Both are very good. Bring a large beer cup with lid. They have cups, but this is easier. Mixed drinks. 2 star alcohol here. I would strongly suggest you go to the MEGA and get a bottle of good rum for your drinks. All mixes are virgin and then they shoot rot gut rum into it. For $15 you can drink great rum and great mixes drinks. Same for Tequila. You can by real good stuff at Mega for cheap and then mix your own. I told you so. SO many people spend $3000 on a family vacation and are too cheap to buy a $15 bottle of good rum. Then they complain about the drinks. Go figure. Food, it is 2 star. For breakfast, I just got fresh mango and papaya and avocado each morning. Also they have 7 types of fresh juice. I had Hybiscus each morning. Just fantastic. If you want bacon and eggs, go to Denny’s. Lunch can be had at the beach. We had caviche each day and hamburgers. Get the fruit and skip the fries. Dinner has about 9 -10 types of items on buffet. Tyr a very small portion of each. Once you figure out what is good (it changes each night), then you back and get what you like. It is a 2 star place so be prepared for hit and miss.

Pool is good, hot tube is cleaned every 3 days. There is a kids side that is 2 feet deep and separated from the main pool. Bar is swim up or walk up. Towels at pool. You can rent a bed on the beach for $4 a day. Kind of cool actually. Beach huts are free but fill up fast.

Fridge is $4 a day, but we had no need for one. Unless you have medicine or kids formula, no reason for fridge.

Staff is very good, exchange at desk is 1$ for 12. Bank is $1 for 13.5. No fees at desk, just walk up and exchange. Tips were 20 peso at breakfast and 50 at lunch and dinner.

Boogie boards at Mega for $15. Water is fine to swim in. Bring life jackets for kids just to be safe. Stay insde the break line. Waves can get awful big at times.

Email if you have questions ----------------

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank a11tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews