We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had found this place sooner!!”
Review of Sardina Cantina

Sardina Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Close to the ocean, stroll from your seaside accommodation and enter a brick-lined patio with the ambiance of an English garden right off Federal Hwy. #1 Emphasis on Seafood but also serving salads, steaks, chicken, pasta, Mexican food & Continental Fare. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, we strive to create a friendly atmosphere with our attentive and caring waitstaff while serving up some of the best meals you'll have on your vacation!
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend Sardina Cantina for both breakfast and dinner!! Very thoughtful staff and had the pleasure of meeting the owner when we returned for dinner that evening. Breakfast was delicious, both the American style make your own omelette and the Mexican breakfast burrito. Portions are quite large so we were able to make a second meal of it the next day. They offered us a discount coupon to return. Dinner was fabulous....great sangria, fresh and tasty coconut shrimp, delicious flan and key lime pie! Sardina cantina is a must visit on your Cabo itinerary!!

Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva-Marie A, Owner at Sardina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Can't thank you enough for this glowing review, so glad you enjoyed your visits with us, we hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2018

The first time we all went to Sardina Cantina was 4 years ago and we enjoyed it so much and looked forward to it so much that it was our first meal when we arrived in San Jose de Cabo. It hasn't changed - which is so nice to see! Even some of the staff remembered us from our last stay. The Mexican food is our personal favourite though they have just about everything, especially seafood. The portions are large so we all had lunch the next day too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva-Marie A, Owner at Sardina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Loved your headline, gracias! And we pride ourselves on keeping up the quality of both food and service and so glad you concur. Most of our staff has been with us for years and years and it makes for a much more family oriented style establishment than most and it helps with returning guests. Thanks again for taking the time to place such a glowing review, it is highly valued by management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Sardina's is one of many places around Los Cabo that feels more like a place in the states. I'm not saying this is either good or bad. The menu has things like sandwiches, burgers, fish and chips as well as Mexican fare. The service is excellent. My blackened tuna was cooked perfectly and tasted very good. The sauce was not to my liking but was easily removed. My wife had the Ahi tuna appetizer and it was very good as well. They gave us a coupon that offered one lunch item at 1/2 when you order another lunch item.We returned the next night. After a bit a discussion, they honored the coupon for a half off lunch item even though they had stopped serving lunch. My wife pointed out that neither the coupon nor the menu had hours for lunch and they gave us the discount. The meals, fish and chips and a turkey sandwich, were once again good. The dessert offerings, flan and key lime pie, we both very tasty. They get a 4 because the food is about a three and the service about a 5. It's right on the highway, but if you eat indoors, the traffic noise disappears.

Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva-Marie A, Owner at Sardina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Glad you loved the service, makes me wanna cry that the food was only given a 3 but maybe next time you'll find it more to your liking, we can only hope. thank you for taking the time to post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

On our last full day at Coal Baja, we were at the pool and decided to get food to go and bring it back to the pool. We ordered beef tacos and a chicken burrito. Service was excellent as was the food. Cost was low. Full bar and plenty of seating if you want to eat at the property.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank audiome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva-Marie A, Owner at Sardina Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

So nice to hear, thank you for your genial review. hope you come back and try us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Only stopped for breakfas - we walked from Krystal Grand to the conv. store to pickup stuff for me. We decided to walk a little further, passed it, found nothing else of interest or most places still closed. On our way back we decided to stop for coffee (well me, addicted) and husband had breakfast, so ordered English muffins. He said his breakfast was excellent. I ate his fruit cup, very tasty. Tasted like fresh butter!! Yum. Coffee was very good. Service attentive. They brought husband's omellete and not tortillas, had to grab the waiter again, but soon they brought him fresh hot ones. He was very happy. Omelette was served what seemed like a whole potato's worth of hash browns. Huge portions.

We sat outside, a little loud, but ok for breakfast. Can't smoke outside either, if that matters to you. Wouldn't want to sit outside if we were having a nice dinner.

Cute little store to one side, mostly juice, eggs, fruit, etc. But of couple of cute souvenirs. In fact, picked up what is probably my favorite from this trip there and cheap too. Couldn't decided between two, should have just got them BOTH.

I would love to return for lunch or dinner some time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waterrat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sardina Cantina also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Sardina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing